We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sports beach bar.”
Review of Tipsy Tuna

Tipsy Tuna
Ranked #2 of 4 Nightlife in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tipsy Tuna Seaside Bar offers great food & drinks. Great family atmosphere, live entertainment, games and more.The Tipsy Tuna Sports Bar is a great late night spot that offers pay per view sporting events on multiple televisions, dancing, karaoke & billiards.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sports beach bar.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Watched Red Sox clinch the World Series at the Tipsy Tuna. We were staying at the Turtle Inn (no tvs which was fine with us), but, being from Boston, we wanted to watch the World Series, so we went to the Tipsy Tuna. Good, laid back, sports bar on the beach. Nice staff and good local bar food. And the Red Sox won!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost as tipsy as the tuna”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This place was great. The location gave you an excellent view of the open waters. The food was amazing. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, especially Patrick. You'll have to try his jellyfish, poison ivy and red snapper drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome group dinner”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We chose Tipsy Tuna to host our wedding rehearsal dinner on May 5 and they did a fantastic job! Gillian lead her team with a level of organization, professionalism, and attention to detail that made this bride extremely happy - what a memorable evening.

The kitchen did a great job serving 50 of us our pre-ordered menu items and it went very smoothly. The food was delicious, and they even had hand-made smiling fish name tags inserted with toothpicks to eliminate any confusion. They closed the restaurant to the public, kept the drinks flowing all night, and gave us a wonderful experience that we will never forget!

The sweetest moment for me was receiving a hand written card signed by all staff that congratulated us on our wedding, presented in a gift basket with some Belizean keepsakes. It was such a nice touch, the staff treated us extremely well and made a huge effort to keep us happy. Swift clean up, good music, friendly bartenders, this was an awesome night!! Huge thank you to Tipsy Tuna, our friends returned many times throughout the week for more helpings of your Big A** Burritos and rum punches!! Arguably the best location in Placencia, we loved enjoying the ocean breeze and beautiful view - we will be back!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank christie-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mango Creek, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tipsy Tuna is sure to please!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Whether you are looking for the perfect beaching-lounging spot, a tasty meal with fabulous drinks, great music, or a fun time, Tipsy Tuna is the place to be!

The view and atmosphere at Tipsy Tuna is unmatched in Belize. During the day, it’s the ideal place for relaxing on the beach. Sit in one of the lounge chairs and sip one of the daily drink specials. It’s a wonderful, chill place to have lunch and enjoy the sea breeze.

The food and drinks are delicious and the prices are easy on the pocket. The menu offers tons of options. I recommend the beef tacos or the nachos. Yum!

The nightlife at Tipsy Tuna is a blast! Depending on the night of the week Tipsy Tuna has Zumba, live bands, Garifuna drumming, karaoke and awesome DJs. Tasty dinner specials are also offered in the evenings.

The ambiance at Tipsy Tuna is always fun and welcoming. Whether you are a local or just visiting Placencia, Tipsy Tuna is the place to be!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvinZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Not for Everone”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Tipsy Tuna with its loud Sirius XM radio blaring may not be for everyone. During the afternoon when we went service was slow so it's a good thing it's located right on the beach and there's lots to watch. The chip and cheese dip was a disappointment. It looked and tasted like melted Velvetta which we hadn't seen anywhere else. Everyone else seemed to be using real cheese . The atmosphere definitely picks up in the evening. Given the choice be sure to check out the Barefoot Bar though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipsy Tuna also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Tipsy Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing