We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up the road from town”

Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar
Ranked #39 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“up the road from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Habanero - especially liked the Mexican buffet night.
Lots of fresh and well-prepared food, and the chef, Hector, was delightful.
We thought the entrance with the "tacky plastic illuminated cactus" was hilarious.
A nice change if you don't want to go all the way to town (Placentia).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Finally found Pork Pibil, and it was very good. Nice size portions and very flavorful. We also had the Chicken Mole dish which was also very good. We had the ice tea also was refreshing to sit and overlook the lagoon and docks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I write this so you don't have to experience this place. After eating at every well rated place in the village we decided to head north based on a recommendation from someone at our resort. Yes the tacky plasticky illuminated cacti should have been a sign but we went in anyway. Big mistake. It's located at their marina so seeing the boats was nice but the food is bad Americanized Mexican. The beef and pork taco specials were both just big gloppy messes. The spicy lobster was a waste of a lobster and the tequila shrimp were overlooked and served with greasy vegetables. As I left the restroom I saw our plates being cleared and the man who took the plates helped himself to our uneaten chips and queso. Glad someone enjoyed it. Fortunately tutti fruiti was still open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmopan
1 review
“the best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I must say, this is the best restaurant ever in Belize. I´m Mexican and they deserve a 10 in the food. They prepare delicious food, I love the creations with chile, avocado, etc. Congrats to chef Hector, very nice person and chef !!! Visit Placencia and visit Habanero Mexican Cafe and Bar

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esther1000mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting Decor and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were so delighted to see the giant plastic cacti and palm trees as we drove up to this restaurant. The restaurant was set under a huge talapia with beautiful Belizian wood floors and a fireplace at the end. It is right near a lagoon with sailboats and catamarans; the captain of our "cat" recommended Habanero's.

We ordered some of their beach drinks, which were good and appetizers. We thought the guac was good, it just needed a bit of salt. I ordered the chicken quesadillas and the rest of my party had various shrimp dishes. The food was amazingly good as was the fanciest fried ice cream I've ever seen. Wish we had tried the paella as they were serving it that night. The chef came to our table to ask us how everything was and the service was good though a little slow. It was also slow at our resort; people tend to forget that things go at a slower pace in some countries; esp in warm ones. We wished that Habaneros was here in Colorado. It was a great time for all of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing