We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coconut Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coconut Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Coconut Cottage
Westby sidewalk looking to the beach
Westby Sidewalk from the beach side.
Hammock zone
Front Porch - south
Front Porch - north.
Out the front door.
From the south side looking NE
View from the porch
Chillin'
The beach at sunset
October 2015
Kitchen with new counter and double sink. December 2015
Kitchen with new counter
New refridge  January 2016
Kitchen dresser
New stove
Table and chairs
Beds fromm kitchen
Beds from back door
New curtains! 2017
Beds from front door
Repainted since this pic.
Coconut Cottage sign just inside the gate from Westby sidewalk.
Cohosts Baby B and Auntie Fifi
Baby B
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lora B
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at this adorable cottage, and had such a great time and are looking forward to a return trip.
The cottage is comfortable, very clean, and has the most amazing view! Beach chairs, hammocks and a large porch offer lots of places to kick back and relax. You won't want to leave!
Kay, the owner, is great. She was so sweet and helpful. She lives on the property, which I liked. It was nice knowing that someone that knows the area was close by, plus everyone in the village knows her.
The cottage has a beautiful view of the ocean and has a sidewalk that will take you right into the village. I loved walking along the sidewalk when I wasn't enjoying the hammock.
If you are heading to Placencia, this is the place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The ocean view and the hammocks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for the glowing review.
It was a pleasure meeting you and I look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fischoeny
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beachside Vacation”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Coconut Cottage was exactly what I was looking for in a beach vacation in Belize. It is right on the beach and shares a lot with the owner. It is adjacent to a small hotel and one of the main walkways to the beach, but is still very private. The proximity to supermarkets is great, as my husband and I cooked several meals at home, but it is also very close to good restaurants and the town bakery. Placencia is very small, but Coconut Cottage, despite being so close to conveniences, was far enough away from the hubbub of beach bars. The cottage catches the breeze and is well ventilated, but also has two fans that make still evenings very comfortable.In the morning there is a wonderful sunrise visible from the front porch or yard. It's a great view with a cup of coffee in hand.
We enjoyed our stay at Coconut Cottage so much that we postponed our stay in the Cayo to enjoy one more night at the beach. It was a good idea as we were able to get in a great day of kayaking on water as smooth as glass with the boats that the owner let us borrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting on the beach.
Liked least: No bikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
Hi - Thanks for the great review.
It was a pleasure meeting you two and I hope to see you again.
Happy 2015
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldvisi...
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
“Cute cottage, great location!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary with a trip to the Coconut cottage in Placencia, Belize from November 8-14. This was the perfect week to go as it was very quiet (we had the beach to ourselves most days) and we had beautiful 80 degree weather.

Kay's Coconut cottage is in a wonderful location, right on the beach of Placencia, about 50 yards from the sea. The only drawback that i found was it was right next to an alley that could get a little loud at times as people use it to get to the beach, but this was tolerable. The cottage was comfortable and clean, not ritzy by any means so if you want glam go elsewhere, but it served its purpose as a comfortable place to lay our heads at night as we were off exploring the Belizean country the rest of the time. The heat was not a problem even though there was no a/c. All the walls are windows with sliding shutters and the breeze from the sea along with the 2 fans kept us cool at night, I even had to ask Carolyn for a blanket one night! Overall great value for your money!

Tips: take the white egg cartons under the sink to the supermarket to fill with loose eggs or the supermarket will charge you for a new egg carton. Also make sure you have earplugs, the Belizeans like to celebrate a birthday party with dj loud music music until 4am, and then start cleanup of same party with equally loud music at 7am (our first night experience!). Also beer is cheaper by the case. The cheapest case we found of 24 Belikin was at a little grocery store to the left (as you walk from the cottage up the alley way, to the road and turn left) who was selling it for 66 Belizean dollars with an 11 dollar refund when you returned the crate and bottles.

Placencia has wonderful restaurants with fantastic fresh seafood and the most friendly restaurant owners/workers we have ever met! Our favorite was Mojos... you must try their Shrimp Cerviche, it's to die for!

Overall a wonderful vacation, thanks Kay and Carolyn, keep up the good work.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to send a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and hope to meet you another time.
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear_in_T...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This place was tremendous. Perfect location in the heart of the village and literally right on the great beach. Plenty of room, a comfortable bed (well 2 actually, but we only used one) and a full kitchen, which we made great use of. And Kay, the owner, who lives right next door, went above and beyond in being helpful. I can't say enough about how great she was. I can't think of a better place to stay in Placencia--and Placencia was an amazing place. Stay here if you can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous location
Liked least: Position of mirror in the bathroom (really nit-picking!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thanks so much for the great review.
It was great to meet you and I look forward to seeing you again one day.
Thanks again, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is the greatest
Liked least: can't think of anything :)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2014
Thanks for the great review.
I look forward to meeting you next time.
Thanks again, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen239
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Located on the beach just minutes walking distance from anything you could want! The cottage is simple yet comfortable. We cooked breakfast and many dinners at the cottage and simply enjoyed the sound of the waves while relaxing in the beach chairs. It would be a bit hot inside when there was no breeze but the fan helped keep us cool at night. We felt totally at home while there and would come back again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review. Hope to see you back in Placencia again.
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndy0822
West Okoboji, IA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful.”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage had the perfect setting on the beach. It was very roomy and had everything we could possibly need. Will definetly stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thanks for the review. Hope to see you in future.
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing