We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coconut Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coconut Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Coconut Cottage
Westby sidewalk looking to the beach
Westby Sidewalk from the beach side.
Hammock zone
Front Porch - south
Front Porch - north.
Out the front door.
From the south side looking NE
View from the porch
Chillin'
The beach at sunset
October 2015
Kitchen with new counter and double sink. December 2015
Kitchen with new counter
New refridge  January 2016
Kitchen dresser
New stove
Table and chairs
Beds fromm kitchen
Beds from back door
New curtains! 2017
Beds from front door
Repainted since this pic.
Coconut Cottage sign just inside the gate from Westby sidewalk.
Cohosts Baby B and Auntie Fifi
Baby B
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken547
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Kay's place was great. The view of the ocean just steps from the cabin was beautiful and convenient to go for swim or kayak any time. Kay was great to deal with as she lives next door and gave us lots of information on where to eat, places to see etc. She even did a load of laundry for us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Hi Ken and Karen - It was a pleasure meeting you.
I look forward to seeing you again someday.
Maggie sends greetings!
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBUGCalif...
CALIFORNIA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kay, wonderful seeing you & meeting Annette. Unfortunately I didn't stay at either place.”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

You will not be disappointed staying at Coconut Cottage.
Beach front, close to just about everything, Ricks Cafe is just up the pathway.
Pet friendly, Kay has (full figured cats) you can'go wrong.
I've known Kay for years, stayed there a few times.......I think we took her a microwave, those were the day's.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thanks for the review Lela.
Don't remember that microwave, but my memory isn't what it was. lol
See you again, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVE this place and stay here every time we come to Belize. Kay is amazing and always has a couple of Belkins in the fridge for you when you get there. Bea is always there to greet you with his loving meows and will run up to you every time you walk up to the cottage. I would give it a million stars if we could. Love Miss Kay!!! Thanks again for the always fantastic stay :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thanks Cheran! Always wonderful to see you and Jesse.
See you again soon, I hope.
Kay
BabyB says meow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn28...
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay beach location cottage”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Right in the heart of Placencia but away from the beach bars. Fully equipped cottage right on the beach. Private, quiet clean and dynamite location.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Hi Kitty - Thanks for the nice review!
Hope to see you folks again.
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our Belize trip”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted to end our visit to Belize with some time just relaxing on the beach so chose Coconut Cottage as the place to do that. It's perfect, right on the beach with nice porch shaded front yard, and a constant breeze off the beach. As other reviewers have stated the cottage is well appointed and the beds quite comfortable. With the breeze we never regretted the lack of AC.
Kay was a wonderful hostess with plenty of information about what to do and where to eat. The location is ideal, within easy waking distance to the center of the village and stores.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kay and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Hi Lee - Thank you!
You were great guests and I look forward to hosting you again.
Thanks again, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madamlorn...
wazata, mn
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“still the best place in paradise!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

we spent another wonderful vacation at coconut cottage, I do believe each year it just gets better, the cottage is just perfect , just enough primitive and just enough fancy to rate it a 5 star on my list! you have all the comforts of home, and your own front yard and beach, and the most wonderful kitties! miss Kay the owner is always there with her smile, she is about the perfect hostess she is always there when you need her, but you can have your complete privacy if that is what you are looking for too. It is so well kept up and so clean, you could eat off the floors if you like! we love coconut cottage and already have our next trip planned. it is the best place in Placencia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything! the cottage, the beach, miss kay and the kitties
Liked least: there is nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thanks for the glowing review Lorna!
It was once again a pleasure to host you two.
See you again soon.
Thanks, Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurtnkim
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This place is perfect for anyone looking to get off the hamster wheel for awhile and at the same time fill your days with sun, sand, and water!!

Super clean!! The cottage itself is very neat and clean and the kitchen is well stocked with what you may need to cook all your meals if you so choose, The beds are comfy as well. While it does not have A/C , there is a very good standing fan that works extremely well. I am a 50 plus woman with heat issues, so if I could manage anyone can! I was actually grateful to not have the A/C because it made you be more in tune with your surroundings and forced you to be outside enjoying everything Placencia has to offer. Oh, and the Wifi connection was better then at home (evening during some storms!)

Best host!! Kay, was next door during our stay and made it even better by her being there. It was so nice to chat across the porches in the morning and find out more about her and the Village. Oh, and we loved having the cats come visit (and sometimes stay) since it made us miss our own a wee bit less :) Kay was also very quick to take care of anything we needed or answer any crazy questions we had. She will be a friend for life!

Go kayaking!! I have never gone before and we made great use of the kayaks Kay had there. It's easy and it was wonderful! We would go to the back side of the caye to right of the beach and either tie off on the mangroves and snorkel around there or tie off to our suits and snorkel all the way back. You can snorkel directly from the beach in front of the cottage as well. We saw an eagle ray, manatee, dolphin, tons of starfish and other fish and healthy coral ( which is, sadly, harder to find these days). On that note, do try to find biodegradable sunscreen to bring since it does not kill the coral. We also found long sleeved rash guards and hats with neck flaps were great as well so we only needed sunscreen on our cheeks.

Best spot on the beach!! The cottage is pretty much in the center of the cove/bay and has the cleanest/clearest spot to get into the water. It's also a very easy entry (no big drop offs). The minimal amount of seaweed that comes here and there is raked by a lovely local named Marvin and even if it wasn't, it was never that bad.

Eat out often!! We stayed for one month and we only cooked dinner twice!! Why? Because all the restaurants/stands were so good and affordable! For breakfast, make sure you get some meat pies from the street vendors that walk up and down the sidewalk, as well as Johnny Cakes and waffles. Friends, John the Bakerman, the Shak and Cozy Corner were great for breakfast. We ate at various small street stands for lunch/dinner. Our faves were Mr. Q , Carmen & Marias, and a small stall diagonal to Westby Lane. Rick's Cafe, Mojos, Dawns, Detach, Barefoot Bar, and Cozy Corner were our favorite dinner spots. Best Bar was the Pickeld Parrot due to the stellar service and friendliness of the owners Eugene and Lynn. Plus, they had $5 US dinner specials every night as well as themed nights at the bar. You will need bug spray to go there though.

Bottom line - you not regret staying here and your only dilemma will be trying to figure out how you can stay longer and how soon you can get back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you, thank you Kim, for the glowing review! You guys were dream guests - you made the best of every day and enjoyed what Placencia has to offer. I look forward to seeing you and Kurt again, soon I hope! Kay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing