We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UnBelizeable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatchet Caye Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatchet Caye Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Val-des-Monts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“UnBelizeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This tiny island between Belize and Honduras was our piece of heaven for 6 days. You really feel disconnected from the rest of the world and the staff make you feel really special. The rooms were amazing, clean and spacious. The food is sooooo delicious - of course, you can't have seafood fresher than that and the presentation is wonderful. The hobie cats, kayaks and scuba gear were all in great working condition.
The boat ride to get back to mainland (45 minutes) was hard because it was raining, but again, the staff makes sure that the luggage doesn't get wet.

Room Tip: We had Cabana #7 and we thought it was the best one. It is the last one on the island and you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
153
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I heard about Hatchet through a Groupon deal. We weren't planning an August vacation, but the place sounded so wonderful, had great reviews and the price was too good to pass up. We're SO happy we tried it! We love everything about Hatchet--the staff are wonderful, helpful and fun, the place is just gorgeous, the rooms (and bathroom) are luxurious and it's just a wonderful place to relax for a week, snorkel, read, kayak, etc. As noted, the island is only 7 acres so it's not the right place for folks who are looking to club in the evenings, or try lots of different restaurants. The food is terrific, and I am astonished at how they manage the logistics of running a full service restaurant on an island powered largely by solar, and especially when they don't know exactly how many people they'll be serving (because day sailors and sailing tours moor off island and come eat at the restaurant).

We mainly wanted to snorkel, and the island is great for that--most folks start from the South dock, but we loved going in opposite the dive shop and snorkeling the front of the island as well. It's slightly different topography, so you're more likely to see slightly different things. The day trip to swim with the turtles and snorkel Silk Caye is well worth it, but we went in twice a day just around the island and we very impressed and happy.

Be aware that the boat ride out to the island is about an hour--it's lovely scenery, but especially if you're in the small boat, it can seem a bit long (but that's the tradeoff for being in such a gorgeous secluded place). I read a review that suggesting bringing plastic clothespins so you can pin your wet suit, etc. to the wires in the deck rail and that was a great idea. If you buy a bottle of liquor duty-free leaving the US, remember to transfer it from your carry-on to your check luggage when you clear customs in Belize City and *before* the smaller plane flight down to Placencia; you can't take that much liquid through security onto the smaller plane and they will confiscate it.

All in all, we LOVE Hatchet, and in fact, are going back for a week in February--can't give higher praise than a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My friends and I stayed at Hatchet Caye Resort for 5 nights in February. The island is so beautiful and the rooms so comfortable that it felt like a dream. I absolutely loved staying here but it is important to know that the island is only 7 acres in size and there is no "night life" so if you want to party, look else where. Also the pool is a small "above ground" pool with a deck built around it. For me, the pool was the only thing I was slightly disappointed in. Other than that it was perfect. Sitting on the dock at night watching the eagle rays and looking up at the glorious night sky was worth every penny we spent on the trip. Then going back to a beautiful room with gorgeous views and soft comfy beds topped it all off. The staff were warm and helpful, the food was excellent, and the snorkeling was magnificent. It felt like we had stumbled onto a hidden and exclusive location. I highly recommend Hatchet Caye to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with all the comforts of a high end hotel and all the beauty of a deserted island.

Room Tip: Get a cabana. The views and the deck are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyeversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just came back from Hatchet, and according to my husband it was his best vacation ever !!!! btw mine too :) Staff was extremely friendly , cabanas very comfortable, food was superb. Coral reef around the island was teaming with marine life. At night sting rays would come to illuminated deck. My husband went for 3 fishing trips and every time he came back with fish. We saw whale shark, swam with wild dolphins, saw huge turtles. If that is not enough I do not know what is :) For years I've been using tripadvisor as a helping tool about resorts. This resort made me to sit down and write a review. Just wanted to make sure that everybody knows about this beautiful place. O and one more thing.... we will determinately go back to this little heaven.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomaszekR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 6 nights on Hatchet Caye and every one of them was incredible. We stayed during the 2nd week of September and the weather was just about perfect every day (It rained during the nights). It was very humid but it didn't bother us much as we were out on or near the water most of the time and the rooms have A/C. I was worried about staying on such a small island for 6 days, but we never once were bored or got island fever. Actually, we could've stayed a few days longer...

The rooms are beautiful with stunning views. Each cabana had it's own deck with patio furniture and a small beach with a set of lounge chairs and a hammock. The room did have a safe which was nice for peace of mind, but I really don't think we needed to use it. The bathroom is spacious and up-to-date. The bed was clean and comfortable. I loved the decor of the room! The only downer was that there was no mini-fridge because we did bring some beverages to the island with us from Placencia. It's definitely not a deal breaker - I know they use a lot of power and Hatchet Caye is very energy/water efficient.

We had the same staff the entire stay so we were able to develop a relationship with each one of them. They all were very personable, friendly and always willing to accommodate. Anytime we had any questions or needed anything, we could approach any member of the staff for assistance. We felt welcome our entire stay.

The food was EXCELLENT! There is a variety of options to choose from and fairly large portions. You will not go hungry between meals. The lionfish tacos and fritters were probably our favorite. I really enjoyed starting out my day with a delicious cup of coffee while looking out over the Caribbean Sea. The beverages readily available and were cold and refreshing. David made sure to gather fresh coconuts for my Coco Loco (yum!) at dinnertime. The table was always set beautifully and the music was fun yet relaxing.

There were other couples on the island, but other than setting out together on a trip or during meal time, we really didn't run into each other often. However, since we all arrived together and stayed during the same time, we got to know each other on a first name basis.

I highly recommend taking advantage of the different adventures Hatchet Caye has to offer. The guides are professional, friendly, and knowledgable. Snorkeling with the Loggerhead turtles and the different rays was an amazing experience. The snorkeling trip around Silk Caye in the marine reserve was beautiful! Everywhere you look, there's something incredible to see. Even the snorkeling around Hatchet Caye was breathtaking. We couldn't get enough of it! We also took our own fishing poles down with us and fished off the docks on a daily basis. We caught lots of smaller fish, but the funnest part was never knowing what you were going to reel in. I didn't think we'd use the fresh water pool, but a dip in it felt amazing after being in the heat and salt water.

The best part of this vacation was having the option to decide whether we wanted to just relax or go out on an adventure. We went at our own pace and did what we wanted to do. We didn't feel any pressure...the options were there for us if we decided we wanted to go do something. Being an all-inclusive trip was another huge plus and well worth it!

Hatchet Caye is the perfect vacation spot if you are looking to unwind and really relax. Highly recommended! We will be returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabana #7. It was the furthest away from everything, but quiet and we didn't have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This place is awesome!
My wife and I went during the rainy season for the first leg of our honeymoon and we had a blast. My wife was somewhat worried about getting island fever for our 5 day/4 night leg, but she finally got in tune with island living. Additionally, the island itself is small, we were able to walk around it in under 8 minutes, but if you love water activities, then you will only be on the island just to eat and sleep. The people there were great, James our boat driver and Rasta were hilarious... but the food was spectacular! However, I would not recommend getting anything other than what is local. The local food was excellent, however, the more american style of food was just ok... I would also recommend trying anything with lion fish in it, that is one of their specialties.
Lastly, if you are big into fishing, there are a lot of bones and permits around the island, but if you want to eat what you catch, I would recommend taking a kayak and hitting up some of the buoys ( free) or do a fishing trip with them.

Oh, if you are going during the raining season, I would recommend you be prepared to travel on some rough waters. The taxi from the mainland to the island was fun for the guys, but not so much for the women. They did not like being airborne after hitting some chop.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a hammock, you will be thankful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had done a lot of research when deciding where to go and stay on our Belizean Honeymoon, and our three nights at Hatchet Caye were the absolute highlight! We lucked out with the Honeymoon cottage which was so lovely, and had a great time snorkeling and fishing. It was the off-season, so it felt really mellow and relaxing. The island is small and feels really intimate, and the setting is gorgeous. Be sure to do some nighttime snorkeling off the south dock to see all of the nightlife - very cool! Plus everyone on the staff bends over backward to make sure everything is great. We loved it!

Room Tip: For the best in privacy, try to reserve the honeymoon cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
22.9 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
22.8 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Caye Resort

Property: Hatchet Caye Resort
Address: 17 Miles Offshore, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hatchet Caye Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private island on the edge of the Silk Marine Reserve, seventeen miles east of Placencia, Hatchet is on the longest reef in North America. Laugh, love, play, explore, relax, rejuvenate, and dine in the island lifestyle you want. with a mile of private shoreline and word class diving and fishing only minutes away. With a pirates past, a hideaway present, and an environmental future, Hatchet offers unspoiled environment for your unforgettable tropical island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hatchet Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Caye Hotel Placencia
Hatchet Caye Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing