We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome eco-island adventure!”
other traveller has booked this property
Ariel View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ariel View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Ariel View
Sailboats anchored off
Your cabana
Inside the cabana
Sitting area
The restaurant and bar
The bar
The sun rising from the dock
The catch of the day
Happy boaters coming in for dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nlightndt...
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome eco-island adventure!”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Our stay at Hideaway Caye was just what we needed to disconnect from technology and reconnect with nature. Kim, Dustin and Ama were all great hosts who saw to our every need. The food was Greta, we loved the conch and snook fish. We kayaked and snorkeled every day, and explored the other islands. Dustin even showed us his favorite snorkel place! We highly recommend Hideaway Caye to anyone wanting to avoid the overcrowded normal tourist resorts. We would definitely stay again when we go back to Belize!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for the review Tracy. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“AmazingAwesomeFantastic”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

You have to stay at this location. Dustin, Kim and Ama are such a fantastic family and hosts. We had the pleasure of having dinner and fun with them and wish we could have stayed longer than one dinner. The food is out of this world and I had the best lobster I have ever had in my life. My wife and I were going to get married on the doc but our sailing plans took us another direction. I cannot say enough about this family and how they made us feel like family while we were there.

Dustin and Kim, I hope you are having fun in PA us here from Fishtales want to thank you from the bottom of out hearts. We will be back for sure. Tell my little artists Sean says hello.

Sincerely,
Sean and Nova Golden

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again someday. Enjoy your married life together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A broken halyard took us unexpectedly to a hidden paradise”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A broken main halyard took us unexpectedly into the protected anchorage of “Hideaway Cove” surrounded by the “Pelican Cayes” in Belize. We lost a day of sailing, but what a surprise to find an open mooring and a sign on Hideaway Caye indicating a "Open" sign for a restaurant and bar! I missed it at first. The cabana roof cannot be easily seen from the water. We discovered a delicious surprise! Kim and Dustin Ingersoll have created a dream home and business in a series of tree-house structures connected by a boardwalk all hidden inside a very small, mangrove-covered island over ten miles from the mainland. Dinner is whatever Dustin catches when he goes fishing each morning. Kim cooks the always-fresh seafood. Imagine a fairytale setting for a restaurant which you can only reach if you come in a private boat, and which is hard to reach, hidden behind mangroves on a very small island. This was an amazing stop, with a great bar and surprisingly good food by very friendly owners. Later, listening to the VHF radio we heard how people know about them, as dinner guests regularly called ahead for reservations! Well done, dreamers! This is the real deal!

Liked best: You can't make this up. It is difficult to get to, poorly marked but a wonderful, unexpected surprise.
Liked least: The friendly owners. The food. The bar. The unique setting. These people believe in their cause. Their cause is their lifestyle and dream.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snorkeler...
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Hideaway Caye”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed as guests at Hideaway Caye for 5 days, 4 nights in April this year. It was a perfect amount of time to unwind and relax before heading to our second part of the trip on Ambergris Caye. Kim and Dustin were awesome! Very nice and accommodating, always made you feel welcome on the island. We went snorkeling with Dustin while he spear fished, kayaked around to the neighboring Cayes, spent time on the small beach on the next island. If something needed attention on the island- Dustin was always ready to drop what he was doing and come take care of it, help load the kayaks in and out of the ocean, etc. Highly recommend for a unique travel experience!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania C
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Was it just a dream? What a magical place.”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

From arrival to departure, everything was just perfect, and felt like a dream a lot of the time! Owners Dustin and Kim are awesome, laid back people and their daughter Ama is simply adorable. Dogs Key and Maya kept us entertained as well. The cabana was private, comfortable and beautifully nestled between mangroves. We learned that mangrove islands don't tend to have mosquito problems because there's no stagnant water with the tides coming in and out, so that was a bonus!

Kim is a superb cook and makes delicious meals (some of the best we had in Belize,) often with fresh seafood catches of the day, while Dustin manages the bar and makes a mean rum punch. The bar/restaurant is also open to boaters passing through.

The island is a short paddle to amazing snorkelling and it's easy to just spend the day exploring with the provided kayaks. If you like peaceful, beautiful, somewhat rustic and unique places this is the spot for you. Hidaway Caye has everything you need to relax, explore and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and hosts
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Reviewed 5 September 2011 for a stay in December 2010
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing