We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books and baking”
Review of Miss Goodies - CLOSED

Miss Goodies
Description: Small Bakery In Placencia..just Opend Up At The End Of 2011
Restaurant details
Description: Small Bakery In Placencia..just Opend Up At The End Of 2011
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Books and baking”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I mainly stopped here to exchange books while in Placencia ($3Bz each, or trade 2-for-1) but you can't not try the goodies. I thought the banana cake with a cup of coffee was a great deal at $5Bz , and you could sit out on the deck and people watch as you enjoyed your cake & coffee. Helene is also a very interesting person to chat with if she's not too busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandiver7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We drifted in to Goodies about 3pm and found out that you need to get there early in the day to get the cinnamon rolls. We really did not need anything to eat but split a piece of banana cake. Baking in Belize is a challenge so the cake was ok but not great. Helen is a very nice lady and very willing to talk about Belize. We found out from her that she pnly bakes 36 rolls each day and then she is done. I ordered an iced coffee and got a fruit juice instead. It was fine and i didnt even mention it. She was probably distracted with another customer. We need to go back some morning and try cinnamon rolls before we leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We go for coffee every day after our morning walk. We love talking with Helen. She is a wealth of information. Her baking is great. I, in particular, love her peanut butter cookies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cavendish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
listowel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Helena is hardworking and a pleasure to talk to while waiting for your cinnamon roll to cool! Don't miss this experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So good that we went everyday during our stay”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Placencia for five days and Miss Goodies became a daily stop for us as we both absolutely loved it. While the banana cake, carrot cake and cookies are all serviceable, the real highlight are the cinnamon rolls. They are basically Cinnabon style but made in small batches by Helena herself each morning. They are good, good, good!

Having stayed in Placencia almost a week, I quickly realized that this was a "locals" place, sustained during the non peak seasons by a locals only crowd. Even at other restaurants, you'll overhear people talking about going to get some of the cinnamon rolls before she runs out, which she always does! At $5 BZD for a cinnamon roll with coffee ($2.50 USD) it's real value for money. Is the coffee the strongest? No, but it's decent enough for the amount charged.

Do yourself a favor and talk to Helena for a bit as she is one amazing woman. The more we talked to her, the more we were in awe. Placencia wouldn't have been the same without Miss Goodies!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Goodies also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing