We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding/honeymoon - thank you Turtle Inn!”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Our wedding/honeymoon - thank you Turtle Inn!”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had our wedding ceremony and honeymoon planned at Turtle Inn. The communication between us and Terry Anne from Turtle Inn with regards to the wedding prior to our arrival was great. We wanted a low-key ceremony, with just the two of us and the Turtle Inn staff (Martin, Terry Anne, Jason) made sure it was absolutely amazing. We stayed for 5 nights total, two in the Cabana 17 by the Gaugin Grill and three in the honeymoon cottage 10 on the water. We had our food taken care of and each meal was absolutely amazing - from the breakfast burritos, to fish burgers at lunch to the amazing lobster at dinner. The staff (Gilbert, Mike, Edwin) took great care of us each day in the various restaurants/bars and Jason the concierge made sure we were well taken care of with regards to everything from our wedding to our planned trips.

We did a snorkeling trip and the monkey river tour, both of which are a must. The property provided bikes which you can ride into town (5 min). Placencia is super safe and there are also bars/restaurants there that are reasonably priced and fun.

Most of the people at Turtle Inn during our stay were couples and the atmosphere was very mellow and relaxing, which was exactly what we were looking for. Beware the sand fleas which can be a real pain - I got zero bites, my wife's arms were covered. Be sure you apply bug spray (available for free by Turtle Inn as well as sun block) if you are prone to getting bit.

Even though the rooms have screened windows, they are quite private due to how they are spaced. The property is quiet and clean (even the sea-grass on the beach is swept each day!!) There are kayaks available for you, and floating docks with towels which are nice to chill out on.

This property, people, accomodations truly exceeded all of our expectations. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Turtle Inn (our friend that has suggested the property to us has been back twice as well).

Thanks to all of the staff and Martin the GM.

Room Tip: I would suggest any room further away from the main road, but all of the Cabanas/Villas and the fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    108
    39
    23
    12
See reviews for
133
344
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We began our week in Belize at Blancaneaux and then spent 4 days enjoying the beach and the ocean at Turtle Inn. Many of the same characteristics are present in both resorts: beautiful villas, good restaurants and gracious, warm service. Our villa was 10 steps from the ocean so we had our own stretch of beach most of the time. The resort is very low density so you always feel like you are in a special, private enclave. We loved the spacious villas and the outdoor showers. The setting is beautiful and secluded. A couple of things may bother some people so be prepared for: no air conditioning (we never missed it and loved the sounds of the ocean and the constant breezes); a fairly healthy bug population (you're at the beach and small things fly around) and the grass that floats on the ocean floor along the beach. All of these things are part of the natural experience and didn't mar our experience. Again, the staff naturally cared about the guests and worked hard to ensure a great experience. I would definitely recommend and would go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Villa #7 and would request it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incognitodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Make no mistake, this property has many wonderful attributes. The beachfront huts are charming, and reside literally feet from the beach and surf. The pool, bar, and open-air restaurants are also beautifully done.

I do, however, think there are a few factors that keep this property from being "world class," including: 1) The water is full of kelp and less than optimal for swimming; 2) the beach is only walkable for a short distance; 3) the food in the restaurants is generally very good, but not great. With that said, my wife and I were still delighted that we had a chance to experience the resort...but probably will not return.

If you want a great experience in Belize, I would recommend Blancaneaux -- another Copolla property with an entirely different feel and venue.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pd2think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The perfect compliment to a visit to Blancaneaux, this is a picture perfect beach retreat. The highlight for my wife and I was a day long snorkelling trip visiting desert islands and some of the most incredible marine life you can imagine. As with Blancaneaux this place had top wine too!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool looked a little noisy - opt for one slightly further from the main socialising are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micaeljohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place is warm and welcoming. Terry Anne at the front desk was so kind and helpful. The private outdoor shower and the "shell phone" were a hoot. We could lay in bed or have our early coffee on the screened porch and see the sunrise. Great.

Room Tip: We loved our beachfront w/screened porch. I was worried it was by pool and outdoor bar, but that clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

After spending 5 days at Blancaneaux Lodge we took the 2 hour drive and 1/2 hour boat ride over to Turtle Inn.

As in Blancaneaux the grounds, service, staff, and food were excellent. But as in our other reviews some items to know about Turtle Inn.

There is not a lot to do at Turtle Inn if you don't scuba dive, which I did and it was great. By far this would have be the best "diving" resort you could possible stay out, but for those that don't dive it is a place to relax and find yourself.

The beach is okay but is not a place to lay out at or the water to swim in.

The town down the road is typical of Belize in that it is very depressed and makes you feel guilty that what you are paying for one night at Turtle Inn is what most people probably make the entire year.

We went on the Monkey River Wildlife tour and our guide was wonderful finding the one howler monkey in a very mosquito ridden foilage and also point out the small crocodile. We only saw the heads of the mantatees from a distance or the small pools of water they made as the went back under water. Not if you have back or neck issues this is very bumping going across the bay to the start of the river.

The place to see the wildlife is at the dock as there was a massive crocodile that liked to stay around this area and saw it on several occassions.

Definitely eat at the Gauguin Grill as it was a treat.

The villa we had was definitely a highlight and the bathtub and outdoor shower a big hit as well.

Again another wonderful Coppola resort. And if you liked this you need to check out Lapa Rios in Costa Rica that is even a step above for activities and wildlife.

Room Tip: The villas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I was wondering if I should write a review or not!!! It was such a fantastic experience that I was afraid not to have the family Pavilion free for me!!! Wonderful hotel, Great STAFF Great Food!!
Easy to get there from Miami. Everything was a dream!!!! Sniff I just want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fati R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
569 reviews
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
83 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Property: Turtle Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing