We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon spot”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

(We actually traveled end of Apr 2012-May 2012) but those dates weren't listed) My husband and I honeymooned in Turtle Inn and its sister property Blancaneaux Lodge. The property is stunning and we loved the attention shown in each space. I loved all of the gorgeous wood and repurposed art and artifacts present in our cabana. The screened-in porch was wonderful to sit out on at night and have a cocktail and talk about our day. I cannot say enough how wonderful we found the staff at the hotel. They learned our names, our likes and dislikes, and often anticipated our needs. This is what I expected from a boutique hotel and was worth every penny we paid for the extravagance. They were wonderful about helping us get downtown when we wanted to explore, set up our excursions when we wanted adventure and made sure we had a good time while we were on the property. This place is a bit pricey - but for a special occasion I'd say it is beyond worth it. I've stayed in some very nice hotels over the years but this was such a wonderful, unique experience and...maybe in a few years...we'd go back for another special occasion. We plan to return to Belize and Placencia specifically and fully intend to stop by for a meal. We enjoyed the food we had there and even when we brought our own fish the chefs were able to create wonderful dishes for us.
I loved this place and it definitely set a mark for what I want more vacations to look like - relaxed, unique and beautiful.

Room Tip: Even w/out the A/C we never felt hot. The turn-down service sets up the room in such a way that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annasmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week. It was fantastic! It's pricey but well worth it. We enjoyed everything about it. Beautiful spot right on the water. Individual thatched-roof huts with private outdoor showers. There is no air-conditioning but we actually liked that. There are fans in every room to keep you cool. The food was great. Diving and snorkeling was fantastic. Service was good. The manager was exceptionally friendly and available. It was one of our favorite vacations. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All the huts are nice. Just depends on whether you want to be oceanfront or further back on the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Ate at the restaurant at Turtle Inn, a group of 6, had heard mixed reviews so went to check it out ourselves. Food and service was very average, disappointed in the food, nothing fantastic and very expensive. The dining room itself is beautiful. Staff appeared very staged and stiff, not a relaxing ambiance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We did not stay at the resort but we ate here two nights in a row. We were a party of 7 with 4 adults and 3 kids aged 5, 8 and 12. We were riding out bikes into town and stopped to take a look at the menu. The property is very beautiful and I would call it relaxed elegance. We did not stay here because my husband cannot live without A/C. The first night was a Thursday and they had a silent movie running on a big screen with couches moved and popcorn. It was very family friendly. We ate the Indonesian pre-fix menu and it was fun to try so many dishes. The kids had pasta and pizza. The second night we had fish and salads. The baby lettuces i think are grown on their property as are the herbs. The grouper and snapper were cooked correctly and not overdone as at most places we ate in Belize. The chef came over to our table both nights to check on us as did the manager. We found the wait staff to be the most professional in Belize but I might add that there is not a wait staff as a career as you will find in other countries so a few dropped pieces of silverware is probably the norm here.
Overall i would highly recommend the restaurant for families and couples looking for a relaxed evening enjoying great food in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JulieJ825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My new husband and I went here for our honeymoon- the resort is beautiful, on a quiet beach and it is perfect for spending some quality time with your companion. Each room is a beach cabana, with a screened in porch, bedrooms with lots of windows, and both an indoor and outdoor shower. The bathroom products supplied are very nice. The mini bar is fully stocked daily, with the prices well posted on the wall.The beach is gorgeous, and quiet, though there is a lot of beach grass in the water which kind of made it feel gross to walk in water. There are three restaurants, and if the spiny lobsters are in season you should eat whenever possible. Each restaurant has its own theme, and a wide variety of meals can be had daily. However, only 2 of the 3 are open at night. The servers and staff at the restaurants are very attentive. There is a beach bar, and there is a happy hour with good deals each day.

Each cabana has its own beach chairs and tables, which should be set out by the beach captain. During our stay however the front desk was very slow to respond, and we ended up setting up the chairs each day ourselves. Also, the first morning housekeeping came they took our beach towels and they were never replaced, no matter how many times I called the front desk. We ended just taking the towels off the chairs near the pools. Our stay was unfortunately cold and rainy so we didnt spend much time on the beach or at the pool. Because it was so rainy there were more mosquitos than I ever encountered. There was bug spray available at the pools, but it wold have been nice to have the bug spray provided as they charged $15 US for bug spray.

There is a spa, and as this was our honeymoon, we were lucky enough to get a couples massage, however two other honeymooning couples we met were unable to do so as there are only two masseusses and they are not always on duty at the same time.

We did a few excursions, such as the snorkeling trip and monkey river tour. We were interested in visiting Mayan ruins and one of the staff was our personal tour guide on our private tour of a local site. There did seem to be some trouble scheduling the intro to scuba lessons, we did not want to but other visitors ended up going into the town with another company for this.

Overall, it was a beautiful place but for the price we paid the customer service was only so so. It is a secluded place so if you want a quiet get away this is the place for you but if you want more action and adventure look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smallbug418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very charming place, best on our entire trip. Hotel was booked full but felt like almost no one was there - beach was still sparse, could sit down at any of the restaurants at any time. Service was friendly and food was good (excellent in comparison to almost any Belize benchmark). Had to put up with a couple hiccups - almost lost reservation, wine once didnt come before meal - but dealt with appropriately. Convenient for a number of activities. Would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brunello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in the Chinese matrimonial (fertility? they may have renamed it, but it was beautiful) which was beachfront and quite private. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and probably my favorite thing about the actual room. It was beautiful to be outdoors among nature, and it was very secluded. The actual room itself was awesome as well, and it was lovely to sit on the front and watch the ocean, or lounge in the hammock. I would not go here looking to be in the ocean constantly, as there is a lot of seaweed, etc. But the breezes and the view are so beautiful, I think an ocean front cabana/private room is a must. The food was great, especially the pizza, and while they do serve only Francis Ford Coppola wines (as it is his property), he makes some really good ones! We split our time between meals in the restaurant, and meals served on our porch, which made it much more private. We waited until we were there to book excursions, and while the massages were nice, I don't like massages in general, and I much preferred the one I got at his other resort. Overall, however, we wished we had done mountain than ocean, or just stayed at Turtle Inn the whole time. It's definitely a romantic destination, although there were families there, but it's geared towards couples, in my opinion. Would definitely recommend. We never had a problem with service, everyone always went out of their way, and our tour guides were fabulous. Would highly recommend, especially as a honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
822 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
679 reviews
1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Placencia
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club
Belize Ocean Club
#7 of 20 in Placencia
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £229 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing