We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no better way to welcome 50!”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the moment we entered the resort we were struck not only by the beauty but also the extreme peacefulness. The staff is remarkable ...they don't miss a beat...caring for our every need. My husband and I travel extensively and this trip did not disappoint....though I personally would have loved more sun. Living in the ny metro area we are accustomed to great food..honestly the pizza can't be beat. my husband remarked the first night eating outdoors that the lobster walked off the ocean onto our plate...simply amazing. The monkey river tour though a bit wet was a blast. My first time snorkeling ...crazy fun with Bertrand though admittedly his idea of safe barracuda sitings as the school went by scared the hell out of me....but I stayed with him as he pointed out the beautiful underwater water-life..and we were safe. The bar staff...again amazing . And let's not forget Martin their fearless leader...the staff even remarked that he is an amazing boss and we'd agree an amazing host. We'd highly recommend this resort if you are willing to disconnect and enjoy solitude, great service and great food,

Room Tip: Beach front is awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I went to Belize for 11 nights. We stayed at Blancaneaux for the first 4 nights, Belcampo in Punta Gorda for 3 nights, and spent the last 4 nights of our vacation at Turtle Inn.
The property at Turtle Inn is very pretty. It feels small and intimate and surprisingly, even though we felt some of the rooms were located somewhat close together, it was very quiet. This isn't a party resort, so people tend to go to bed early. We were fortunate to have a beach front room. It can get hot, so the breeze is lovely, although all of the rooms look lovely. There are 2 pools and the ocean, should you need to cool off! Our room was absolutely beautiful and we loved having the outdoor shower.
Carlos, the concierge, always had a beautiful smile on his face and was always happy to help. We spent a lot of time on the beach. Randy, a beach captain, did an exceptional job looking after us. You could tell that Randy genuinely loves his job, and looking after people. He regularly checked in with us to see if there was anything we needed.
One of the things that impressed us about Turtle is that they ran a shuttle into the town of Placencia in the evenings. It was wonderful to have an opportunity to go off property and have other dining options. We had dinner at Rumfish y Vino twice. The conch fritters and the credo were exceptional and the ambience was lovely. We also rode bicycles into town and went to Tutti Frutti three times (it was that good!).
On our last day, we kayaked across the bay and had lunch at Barefoot which was also a nice change (and it was great to get the exercise, as we dined very well while at Turtle!).
We really enjoyed the Turtle Inn property and would highly recommend it to anyone who was choosing to go to Placencia.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great because there is more breeze and a better view of the ocean, however, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianandNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Unfortunately no dolphins nor manatees on an expensive sunset cruise ... However on a lovely clean, well- maintained boat and generous cocktails.
We found the Indonesian themed rooms spacious and very comfortable. Service and food were both good on our 5 day stay ... Unfortunately it rained and rained ... We were told the most rain in January in 30 years.
There were quite a few noisy children behaving like little princes and princesses.
The sea had lots of jellyfish so i dared not go into it ... However i was told that those snorkellyng could see many colourful fish and that the jellyfish were not a dangerous variety.

Room Tip: Get precision on what a seaview room is ... We had such a room which meant that we just about could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Turtle Inn is an ideal place for relaxing and enjoying the ocean view from the beach. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the cottages are spacious and comfortably furnished with bathrooms half opened to private gardens. The staff introduces themselves and are very attentive and friendly. The beach is small and not particularly ideal for swimming or snorkeling, but great for just relaxing. If you are wanting more activity they have paddle boards and sea kayaks and can arrange diving and snorkeling trips for you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Forget the beach. The bottom is slippery rocks. No wonder I was the only one in the ocean! The swim platform anchored off shore is cosmetic. The ladder is too short to climb and covered in barnacles. Everything is over priced. Cottages are nice but you will hear your neighbors...loudly. The pool is also impossible to swim. Too small. I had visions of snorkeling off the beach. No way! It is way over staffed. Every leaf gets picked up and the sand is constantly raked. But there is a very poor variety of plantings and few fresh flowers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TImngmnt1, General Manager at Turtle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so very , very much for your review. We really appreciate the comments so we can continue to build upon our services , standard and appearance.
Two explanations I wanted to give to you are the following;
The gardeners actually do not use bleach- they only use the containers ( recycled ) to carry around an eco friendly anti algae solution we use to clean the bird baths. I can understand and appreciate your concern while looking at the ' gallon of bleach' but this is actually not what is inside.
We stopped using bleach a long time ago- even at the laundry- but we still use the containers and repurposed them- but your comment has made me eliminate them all together to prevent anybody else from questioning the contents. The feces you mention was very likely iguana droppings coming from the trees above which are completely organic and are often discarded when noticed. The staff would certainly remove dog feces properly- but I will address this with them regardless-

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us- we hope to see you back very soon-

Warm Regards,

Martin Krediet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is Coppola's beach equivalent to Blancaneaux Lodge in the interior, and the cabins are quite similar - large with high thatched roofs. His aim is simplicity, not luxury. The setting is a narrow peninsula with a lagoon on one side of the single road and the Caribbean on the other. The inn is between the road and the Caribbean with quite extensive grounds. The less expensive rooms are naturally away from the water - be warned that two of them (including #12) back up against the road. We found the traffic noise disturbing and were lucky that a quieter one was available. We are sorry that king beds are not offered - the rooms are certainly big enough. The main restaurant serves all meals, including the complimentary continental breakfast. There is another restaurant on the beach which only serves a prix fixe dinner. All the food we had was excellent. The fish is local and absolutely fresh. We also enjoyed pizza and pasta. The prices for food and lodging are more than Blancaneaux. The trip from Blancaneaux is 3.5 hours by car. Otherwise you can fly from Belize City in less than an hour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, 5 days.

The Good Stuff:
- Beautiful location, well manicured property, mature trees
- Beach front cottage, sounds of the gentle tides in / out all day and night
- While there is no AC, the room was well ventilated and had several ceiling fans - we were never too warm
- Efficient booking process
- Balinese style design, all natural materials, wood frame and shutters, thatch roof, stones - nice to see construction without the use of plastics
- Amazing outdoor shower, enclosed by high walls and plants
- Front desk staff were the best, beach captains, housekeeping, bar/wait staff also very attentive and friendly (not so much the dive shop, more on that later)
- Fresh eggs and herbs grown on the property
- Nice shop

There is ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT:
- KING SIZED BEDS are a necessity (all of the guests were americans!). This would have made our seaside cottage nearly perfect.
- Dive shop has a BAD ATTITUDE - we were scheduled to snorkel in a group (6 divers/6 snorkelers). The day was rainy and all of the snorkelers didn't even bother to show up. We showed up to check out which boat we would take. Turned out it was a smaller not covered boat. We decided to cancel because the weather was cool and threatened rain (ended up raining nearly all day). After we left the dive shop, we heard a snide comment and a burst off laughter from the dive shop guys. Maybe they could at least wait until we were out off earshot?! HOW RUDE! Front desk was so apologetic that I almost feel badly writing this comment, but I don't know that they spoke to the rude dive staff.
- Beach staff are uncoordinated - at certain times during the day, seems they may all be on break and at other times, there are six of them asking if your out want a drink or need anything.
- Food is average at best, despite the fresh ingredients. Restaurant and bar service is average, just depends on who is working.
- Property is generally well maintained, but not 5star - a t-shirt that had washed up on the beach and was there for our entire 5 days there, but yet, there were staff raking the sand all around!
- Nice to have use of the water sports equipment. There was only one stand up paddle board, which was monopolized by a family where the person on the SUP would come in and hand it off to the brother, father, mom, etc - nearly all day long. A beach captain offered to hold it for me the next time it was brought back in, never happened. The next day, after the family departed and I learned that the kids had broken the paddle board and the hotel was waiting for a new one to arrive. Maybe the Turtle Inn could get a second stand up paddle board?
- There were a lot of kids at the resort, some were quite loud (what can you do - if you don't want to hear crying kids, this might not be so relaxing a location).
- "Shell phones" are a quaint idea (basic radio to the front desk), but not practical as they did not work well enough. We tried to order room service and the connection was so bad that the restaurant had to send a waiter to the cottage in order to take the order. Not very efficient, but that said, the waiter was very nice & easy on the eyes!
- We used the bikes one day, they were a bit rusty, no brakes, no gears - very basic.
- HERE IS A SUGGESTION TO PROSPECTIVE GUESTS - Arrive by helicopter if you can, the staff seem to treat you much better than if you show up in a dusty rental car!

Room Tip: Seaside cottage is directly on the beach and literally steps from the tide. Can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfcoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club, a Muy'Ono Resort
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Placencia
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £274 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing