We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed down the street at Chabil Mar but went to Turtle Inn twice for our "fancy" dinners - ie dinners where I wanted to wear one of the cute sundresses I packed.

I have worked in the high-end resort industry so I was also eager to see the decor. Love the space here - rustic, subtle but refined and stylish all the same. The food was outstanding. I had red snapper and we took advantage of pizza night on Sundays (buy 1 get the second for free).

The second visit my husband and I shared two pasta dishes - gnocchi and eggplant parm. Very very good - on par with some of the better Italian spots in NYC.

Note - TI has a vegetarian menu but we didn't realize this until our second visit. Be sure to request it if one of you is a veggie. Also note that part of the gratuity - 10% - is included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH4676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    108
    39
    23
    12
See reviews for
134
347
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When reading this you have to understand, Turtle Inn is a spectacularly beautiful hotel right on the beach. The architecture is fabulous. The rooms are very simple and made of wood, which jives with the beach vibe well. The dining area and pool are beautiful as well.

That being said, I don't think the hotel is worth the money for the following reasons:
1) The beach front is pretty beat up. You stay at a beach front resort with the intention of spending time at the beach. The beach in front of Turtle Inn has a ton of sea grass and washed up debris. The water grows lots of sea grass, which makes wading slimy and snorkeling worthless given poor visibility. The beach front itself is also quite small. Walking in either direction you walk into fairly unattractive stretches of sand. Overall, not the best beach front experience.

2) Food gets a B. There are three restaurants. All three are decent and the three different restaurants provide a nice variety in dining experience. One is a "afro-caribbean" style joint, one is a beach grill, and one is a formal dining room. You can eat in each and get a nice variety. The food in all three is good but not a home run. Given the cost I was expecting a bit more. The biggest downside to the dining is that Coppolla wine is exclusive served. Given he is the owner this makes sense, but his wine just isn't that great. It's definitely not good enough to be the exclusive provider to a high end hotel. We stopped buying wine after our second dinner there.

3) Overpriced diving. You can go out with the dive masters at the resort, but you will pay a lot more for the exact same experience as that provided by the dive groups in town. We did the whale sharks twice and a regular two tank dive one day. One both days with the whale sharks we ended up clustered in with a large dive group from town when underwater, so the experience was literally identical to theirs. I had a similar experience on the two tank dive. All three dives were great and I recommend them. Just save yourself some dough and go with a larger group organizer in town. Dive guides are nice guys, so don't let this seem like a slight against them.

Overall, this is a relaxing, beautifully built getaway, but it definitely does not deliver the bang you expect for a top dollar resort that caters to international clientele.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CGO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a blissful 4 day vacation at the Turtle Inn, it was our second visit this year. This trip we brought our adult children with us and they were blown away, the beach was lovely, the service impeccable everyone from the GM Martin to our server Victor were outstanding. We stayed in the beachside 2 bedroom Pavilion and savored breakfast on our porch overlooking the pool, it was heaven. The food is absolutely delicious fresh eggs and vegetables from the organic garden, local fish on the grill and the best pizza's using Mr. Coppola's family recipe. It was the best trip we have ever had, I highly suggest this fabulous resort for a vacation to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean have amazing views and beautiful cooling sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirbySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Turtle Inn for 8 days to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were looking for relaxation, a bit of excitement and luxury. We found ALL at the Turtle Inn. Every detail is carefully considered and perfectly executed. I cannot speak highly enough about the staff, from the General Manager Martin, to house and groundskeepers, everyone their was happy to be there and all had the same goal, to make our stay the best they possibly could. Very well run resort, we are already planning to return! Don't hesitate to committing a trip to Turtle Inn, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stimp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 1 week at the Turtle Inn with our 2 college aged children so that we could unplug and relax. We found Turtle Inn to be just what we were looking for. The 2 bedroom villa on the beach was comfortable, with a wonderful view of the beach, great breezes and the sound of the waves lulling us to sleep each night. We loved the thatched roof, Balinese decor and large screened in porch. With no TV and essentially no internet access from the villa, we unplugged, read and chatted. There was internet access from the main restaurant/ building if need be. The beach is well kept, we kayaked and paddled boarded and enjoyed the pool. The staff was attentive and pleasant.
The 2 tours we did through the hotel were interesting and well done. With the Monkey River excursion, the sounds of the howler monkeys in the rain forest were in itself an experience. Terri our guide was well informed and he seemed to know just where to go to give us the best glimpses of the monkeys, birds, and crocodiles. Our full day snorkeling trip was also a hit. The waters were clear, warm and we saw sea turtles, multiple colorful fish, sharks, and a sting ray. Our guide Doran was quite good. The lunch on the very small island surrounded by white beach and the Carribean was great.

I would recommend this resort if you are looikng for something a little less cookie cutter in Carribean resorts, and rustic in all the best ways, There is no air conditioning but between the fans and the breezes and of course the water in the day we were quite comfortable. It is not a hot spot - by 10 pm the main lounge is pretty much vacant. It is quiet and private in a lovely setting. The staff is attentive, there are several dining options and we would especially recommend trying the Rice Table at Mares, Aunt Lubie's one night, and for a fantastic seafood grilled dinner on the beach at the Gaugain. It is also hard to beat having your breakfast delivered to you in the morning while sitting out on your porch watching the wind blow through the palms and the waves hitting the beach.
Finally. the town of Placencia is a very small fishing village. We tried the Rumfish y Vino one night and had great meals of snapper: both the red curry and the plantain encrusted were on the spot. Highly recommend that and the Tutti Fruttii next door- the gelato was as good as we have had anywhere. The Tipsy Tuna was a fun, brightly colored bar/ grill on the beach in town where we enjoyed a cocktail. If you decide to go, do bring bug spray - they are everywhere, but did not deter our fun in any way.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HScharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When you're travelling and depending on your hotel, restaurant, etc. to provide a positive experience, one thing that can't be understated is the value of trust and honesty. You think it would be a given for proprietors and establishments to to be trustworthy and honest, but unfortunately it's not always the case. However, Turtle Inn exceeds in this category. It's not just the management, but the staff as well.

I didn't stay at Turtle Inn, but my encounter with them was so positive I am compelled to right a positive review. My wife and I were robbed at a guesthouse in Placencia, with all of our valuables taken. Money, passports, credit cards, etc. We were left cleaned out and in a real bind as without a passport, we could not return home. After cobbling together the funds to take a bus to Belmopan where we could work with the embassy to get emergency passports, I received an email from Martin Krediet, General Manager, letting me know that one of his staff had found my passport and credit cards on the beach. I planned to hop on the next bus down to Placencia to recover my passport, but instead he put it on a courier plane up to me at no charge the very next morning. His only concern was for our safety and well-being and he hoped to provide at least one positive among an otherwise negative experience.

Some things proprietors can't control - weather, heat, humidity, biting insects outdoors, etc. (it's the tropics after all). However, being around good, honest, trustworthy people can make a challenging situation a little more pleasant. Turtle Inn excelled in making use, non-guests, feel comfortable and taken care of while away from home during a bad situation.

Thank you to Martin and the Turtle Inn crew for helping others in a time of need. Trust and honesty go a long way. I look forward to staying with you next time I am in Placencia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOMLCMOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TImngmnt1, Manager at Turtle Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Many thanks for this wonderful review- we are happy to be able to asset in getting your belongings back to you ! Warm Regards, Martin Krediet- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We travel quite a bit, and were very pleased with this property. The location is very private, the staff wonderful and attentive to needs and detail, and the accommodations comfortable with a flair for romance. I was surprised that I had no trouble sleeping without AC, but the breeze and sounds of the ocean were perfect. Every morning, we had a beautiful beach to walk on, and couldn't help but smile about the surroundings,

Food was great every time we ate, whether at the resort, on the dive boat or in the village. We loved our dives - Zane, Bertrand and the rest of the crew were great, and the sites were beautiful.

We definitely intend to return, and could see ourselves doing this on a regular basis.

Room Tip: The seafront cottages are wonderful, with delightful sounds and breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouKyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Property: Turtle Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing