We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Luxury in an incredible setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple Luxury in an incredible setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were very excited to venture to Plancencia Belize in the last week of July 2014. Knowing that we were headed down in the middle of the rainy season, we were very surprised when the timing proved to be no problem. Our hosts at Francis Coppala's luxury resort were outstanding from the moment we were met with cold, deeply scented, refreshing hand towels before we were even truly out of our car. From our gracious welcome to our very sad departure, the staff and the resort never failed to disappoint us. There is something truly wonderful about showering in your own private garden after a hard day of lounging around one of the 2 pools, lunching on the beach , swimming in the Caribbean, or my favorite, hanging out in your hammock under the palm tress. Coming home every day to fresh baked chocolate chip cookies stashed on your bungalow's screened in porch was delicious. The staff are truly 5 star. The resort is also truly 5 star. we will return in late spring or early summer to go swim with the whale sharks.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view bungalows. Be prepared to not have AC, but even in the height of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    105
    39
    23
    12
See reviews for
126
334
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Two bedroom villa on the sea was lovely. We chartered a plane in and out which was very easy and quick. The staff is lovely and will bring chairs in front of your villa if you choose to enjoy it all steps from your villa. The pool is adequate with a separate adult pool. Fun little beach bar that had happy hour each evening. The excursion to the reef was super and made for a fun day. The food was good and we set off wishing lanterns with our family which was a fun evening as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Coppola knows his way around luxury and peaceful relaxation combined. This all villas property was the best treasure I saw, which begets your romance, family or individual traveler lifestyle. Nestled right along the pristine Caribbean sandy beach, and situated close to the town's center, this gorgeous property seems to have it all. The staff are impeccable, the cuisines & drinks were excellent, the gift shop is full of unique worldly picks- coupled with necessary wares you may wish to purchase. All in all, I look forward to going back again and again. As well, this sealed my interest in trying all the Coppola properties globally. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Honestly, there are only superior villas on this property! We received a full site tour... so, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Braden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

For my three-week stay in Placencia, based on reviews and local / expat reports, the best dining experience came down to choice between three candidates : Rumfish, Turtle Inn, Secret Garden.

Turtle Inn did let down its own ambitions with pizzas that were heavy on dough and cheese, fish that was not exciting, yet with great vegetables. If you live in the village and dont feel like paying the relatively high taxi rates up and down the peninisula, it is worth noting that Turtle Inn for me twice arranged complimentary transfer with their shuttle in connection with me phoning to book. Of course it is fun to see how Coppola has set things up and the shuttle drivers and staff give the best service experience you are likely to get in Belize (where this is not generally a forte).

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

everything about this resort was incredible. the setting is gorgeous, the staff is over-the-top helpful, the resort and its amenities are incredible, the rooms are great, it is very easy to get to with a direct flight to Belize city and then an in-country hop, and the price for the rooms was a bargain. really this trip, which was our honeymoon, was the best vacation i've had in a decade. we plan on making regular return trips to the Turtle Inn.

Room Tip: for us, making sure to get an oceanside room was a big deal and very worth it here. out our front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Turtle Inn is a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There are two pools, which are small but nice, a beachfront bar, and three restaurants with very good food. Our room was very large and and filled with beautiful Indonesian furniture and wood carvings. Even the bathroom was large and well-appointed, and we had an outdoor shower as well. It was more like staying in a beautiful guesthouse than a hotel. The beach in the Placencia area is just OK, but Turtle Inn has a nice swimming platform a little way off shore, as well as kayaks and paddle-boards. You can walk down the beach all the way into the town of Placencia, which is a nice walk. There is also an organic garden where some of the food is grown, and the gardner was delighted to show us around and let us taste the fruit and vegetables.

As seemed to be the case throughout Belize, the staff was wonderful, uniformly friendly and accommodating. They made a point of learning our names, and everything we asked for was done quickly and with a smile. If you are going to Placencia, I highly recommend Turtle Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The turtle inn staff all have great attitudes and make the stay very very pleasant.
Food is over the top fantastic

The staff at the Turtle Inn is fantastic! They helped us coordinate multiple trips to the island, and we will be back again this month! I will tell all my friends and family this is the best vacation I have ever had! I enjoyed every minute of my trip.


Len Freemyer

Room Tip: love the pool side sea view cottage, and the ocean view cottage, the shell phone is a great touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consuelo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#6 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Property: Turtle Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing