We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unique resort I've ever visited”
Review of Turtle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most unique resort I've ever visited”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Thanks to the Swine Flu we changed our vacation destination to Belize. I felt fortunate to secure a reservation at The Turtle Inn at the very last minute. They were helpful in arranging our connecting flights on Tropic Air.

Once arriving on the property - we felt like we had just landed in an episode of "Fantasy Island". The grounds of the property are truly amazing and every attention to detail has been pre-thought out. Since it was our anniversary they were kind enough to upgrade us to a two bed room villa. It had a garden view instead of an ocean front or view - but we loved it - very secluded and more room than we needed. There were also two bathrooms each including an outside shower. Every morning we would "call" the front desk for our coffee and it arrived very promptly. We enjoyed breakfast on the property daily - complimentary if you would like their fruit and bread basket - or may order off the menu for a change of food at a small price. We found all of the food and gift shop prices to be very fair.

The resort is very relaxing and most of the time you do not even see the other guests. There were some visitors that received horrible bug bites - fortunately we had no trouble and did wear bug spray. Remember there truly is no AC - there are ceiling fans and floor fans - but if you are uncomfortable w/the heat - you might want to consider the time of year you visit. The resort is amazing - no garbage cans in sight. Very private and you actually feel very secluded as if the entire property is there just for you. Housekeeping just magically comes and cleans your room when you leave - you never see them around the resort.

The majority of the service is what you would expect of a resort of this caliber. We did experience sporadic service at the pool bar - the bartender would disappear for large chunks of time - so if you were thirsty or hungry - that was frustrating - some guests simply went behind the bar and poured their own beer. There were "pool captains" pool side - but I never really figured out their job description - they would stand under the thatched roof and talk to each other. So, don't expect drinks served chair side - just walk to the bar and hope the bartender is there. Some of the restaurants are not open every night - so check into that so you can diversify your food. The Grill - seaside/seafood restaurant was good the second time we tried it - the first night they were over-whelmed and did not have enough staff. After waiting close to an hour for our reserved table - we simply moved on to another restaurant. However, the next night it was very good (the menu does not change from day to day). I know it sounds silly - but the pizza is delicious and I'm not a huge fan of pizza. I wish someone had told us that one pizza is plenty for two people. The restaurant across the street (still part of the resort) serves local fare - and we really enjoyed it. However, we were part of the very last seating and they were certainly ready for us to leave so they could close up. Literally locked the door as we were leaving.

This was a wonderful vacation and I would definitely return.

A couple of other things that may/or may not be helpful to you - some I was unsure of prior to arrival - they provide hair dryers in the bath, with bath robes as well. Very nice shampoo, conditioner and soaps and lotions as well as laundry service if you need it. Wi Fi in the main restaurant and bars. Our ATT&T bb email didn't work until the last day for some reason and we have the intl. plan. Phone service worked just fine. There is a mini-bar in the room and the bars close early on the property - we had bought a bottle of nice vodka at duty free in Belize City and some beer in town in Placencia - that came in handy.

Lastly there is a departure tax you must pay at the airport - just a warning - it is a seperate line aside from your airline check in and it was quite long when we were there - so it's smart to arrive early for your flight - cc and USD was accepted.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    108
    39
    23
    12
See reviews for
131
341
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at Turtle Inn for the last five days and discovered they have quite a severe bed bug problem. They are still in denial about how serious it is and are not quite sure how to treat the issue. They were shuffling the groups around in which we insisted this just spread the bugs to the other Villas/Condiminiums. I am sure they are saying that it is Sand Fleas/Something Else but we had two Doctors confirm the bites and with the streaks of blood in our bed we were pretty convinced. They did not make any greivances either.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaredsmith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Turtle Inn for 7 days in April for our honeymoon. We found the staff to be delighful, friendly, efficient- and most of all- NOT overbearing or terribly formal. The type of place where you can be content with a book, the pool, and a few drinks throughout the day- with delicious meals thrown in of course. The food is fantastic- highly recommend the pizzas around lunch time- and the Rosemary Chicken dish for dinner is fantastic. Visit the spa. go snorkeling. BUT- don't expect happy hour line dancing, yard sized margaritas or any type of late night partying. This is not an all-inclusive huge hotel. The general mood at Turtle Inn is relaxation. Would not recommend for any one who constantly needs to be on the move and doing something. Day trips are available, but many end by 2 or 3 and have the rest of the day to relax. Also, be prepared for a lizard in your room (it IS rustic luxury after all). No AC/No TV- but we did not miss them for a second! The rooms are exquisitely clean and decorated beautifully- turndown service twice a day, outdoor shower and garden. We miss the staff- they became friendly faces and it was hard to say goodbye.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmaybs1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at the Turtle Inn waterfront Cabana for a week and had the most delightful time! We think about our stay ALL OF THE TIME - if we had the chance to visit there again, we would in a heartbeat. The staff was wonderful, the food was delicious, our cabana more than exceeded our expectations, the area was beautiful, tour guides were phenomenal - truly could not have dreamed up a better trip. Make sure to take a dip in the saltwater pool overlooking the ocean, breathtaking - and take advantage of those outdoor showers. We have absoultely no complaints - well worth the $$.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHIslandGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Great, tranquil property. Beach is never more than 20-30 seconds away. Tour guides are very good and know the country very well. Very family and kid friendly. Restaurant and bar staff are attentitive. Conceirges have a habit of disappearing. You have to track them down if you need anything. Villas don't have AC. In the hotter months (March, April) that means having to leave the doors and windows open for a late night/early a.m. breeze. That comes at the sacrifice of privacy as the villas are about 20' apart and public pathways are only a few feet from the front doors. Expect to be awoken early (6:00 a.m. or so) by wild birds. Beachfront villa 2 is immediately next to the pool bar. Cigarette smoke tends to waft in, especially during late afternoon happy hour. If staying beachfront request villas 1 or 5 which have a bit more privacy than the others.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and I came to Turtle Inn on our honeymoon and every day since we left we have wanted to return immediately.

I cannot think of one thing that I encountered that detracted from our experience at this top-notch establishment.

The staff were amazing. Very willing to help you enjoy your stay, genuinely friendly and never without a smile. By day 2, the majority of the staff we encountered daily had remembered our first names and what unit we were in. We particularly enjoyed the fact that it seemed as if there was always a staff member around the corner, just out of view, that seemed to sense that you needed something, be it an umbrella, kayak, towel or cocktail. Before you could begin to summon them, they are en route to see how they can be of assistance. Now that is excellent service

Our cottage was beach side with 1 bed. It was literally 16 paces from the front door until my toes were in the Caribbean. The bed was comfortable, the iPod dock on the alarm clock was enjoyed very much. We found ourselves lounging in the patio room reading on the couch and watching the sea quite often, especially after the morning delivery of fresh-brewed coffee arrived at my pre-requested time.

I cannot say enough about the bathroom setup at Turtle Inn. All units have a private, walled tropical garden with an outdoor shower, in addition to the indoor shower. The outdoor shower was amazing for an afternoon rinse after a day of enjoying the Belizean sun.

All of the restaurants on site were quite good. We enjoyed the beach-side seafood grill a lot. Auntie Luba's was the Belizean fare place across the street, on the lagoon, it was great too. We ate at the main restaurant only 1 night and had a great pizza fired in the wood oven. Each night we dined at one of the restaurants the activity director would make a quick stop by your table to see what, if any, activities you would like them to set up for you on the following day. This is also when they ask what time you would like your coffee to be delivered in the morning. At no time did I feel as if I as being pushed into signing up for an activity I didn't want to partake in. In fact, my wife and I didn't sign up to do any activities other than a massage and felt no animosity from the activity director. I found previous reviews to the contrary of this to be unfounded.

One word of advice is to try to get a unit on the water if you have a hard time dealing with the humidity, as the farther away from the sea-breeze you venture it tends to get a little stuffy. None of the units have A/C, but there is a ceiling fan located above the bed, which provided some additional circulation. I usually have a problem sleeping when it's hot and I had no problems at all. If A/C is an absolute necessity to you, then you might consider another resort. I find everything else about Turtle Inn by far overcompensates for the lack of A/C.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacNWDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Turtle Inn is absolutely all that a luxury resort is expected to be! From the wonderful ambiance to the top notch service given by all the staff, we were thoroughly pleased. Each morning we ate the complimentary continental breakfast they provide, which was more than enough for us to get our say started. We also tried each of the three restaurants on site for dinner, which were all great. There was quite a bit of vacancy at the resort while we were there, and as a result we ended up having a private beachside dinner at the Grill one night- just because we were the only ones dinning there. It was great! We stayed in a garden view cottage, which bordered the road and was right by a path that the service workers and landscapers are constantly traveling along. Our only complaint is that our cottage was a little noisy and didn't have as much privacy as we would've liked. I thought about asking for a free upgrade (as people have written about in the past) but I didn't want to have to move all of our stuff to a new cottage. At least we'll know a little more about the layout of the grounds for our next trip and we'll be able to chose a more private cottage. The bartender, Liston, at the beach bar makes some tasty drinks. Make sure to stop by during happy hour, 4-6 pm. They also allow guests to use bicycles and kayaks free of charge, which we took full advantage of and had a great time. We look forward to being able to go back to Turtle Inn and Placencia someday- hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
557 reviews
4.1 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn

Property: Turtle Inn
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#4 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and unspoiled beauty on a pristine white-sand beach.Turtle Inn is a true labor of love. Less than a year after Francis and Eleanor Coppola acquired this beachside refuge in 2001, it was swept out to sea by the forces of Hurricane Iris. Turning disaster into triumph, the Coppolas led a two-year reclamation project, creating a magnificent resort that is consistently ranked among the best in Central and South America.This 25-room seafront hideaway combines natural wonders with luxury style. Accommodations are in individual thatched cottages, decorated with handcrafted Balinese furnishings and naturally cooled by the ever-present sea breezes. Just steps beyond your private deck, the white-sand beach dissolves into the clear Caribbean ocean. In addition, the resort has two infinity swimming pools for enjoying the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hotel Placencia
Turtle Inn Belize/Placencia
Belize Turtle Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing