We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort a variety of vacationers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice resort a variety of vacationers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nice resort. After San Ignacio's great adventure, it was hard to just take it easy and appreciate the resort life. Staff was great. Tours were a little pricey but its because your not near anything. 4 miles to town and taxi's all cost $10US each way. So to go out for dinner it cost you $20 on top of tip and food. Beach was full of sea grass and all the garbage that washed up daily. I would say there was only 25 other people staying there. Didnt see any kids, but saw alot of over weight elderly folks sunbathing. Food at resturant was average. Cleaning service for the room came at 3 oclock PM every day. They need a mix of younger clients.

Room Tip: If your looking for a younger crowd good luck. second or third floor is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    234
    84
    37
    11
See reviews for
199
308
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blumenort, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and our 2 young boys stayed there for 3 nights Jan 9 thru 12. We really enjoyed our time there. The resort was quiet and relaxed, no loud partying at night, so very nice for our family to spend time. The room was clean and very nicely decorated with a small kitchenette so we were able to cook a few meals there. There are some very good restaurants down in Placencia if you have the time to drive there. The workers did a great job keeping the place cleaned up. They were very friendly and helpful. The towels made into swans on the beds were very cute. A big thank you to all the staff of Robert's Grove for making our stay pleasant. we will certainly be back next time we are in Belize. Ryan D.

Room Tip: A 1 bedroom Villa has lots of room for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We joined friends for a lovely vacation at Robert's Grove. The staff were responsive and helpful throughout our visit. Our room was comfortable and the meals were quite good. We took several excursions arranged by the Robert's Grove staff and all were very enjoyable and the guides were excellent. We will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Robert's Grove was clean and pretty. Convenient with tons to do. The staff were all so nice and helpful. The beach is magic. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Robert's Grove in December 2011. The room was okay - nothing special, but a nice location right on the beach. We were a bit disappointed with a few things:

1) Airport pickup/room not ready: RG was supposed to pick us up from the airport, but nobody was there. Somebody eventually came after we called, but they had our flight info prior to our arrival and our plane was on time. When we got there, our room was not ready.

2) Food: We were not very impressed with the food - it seemed like snack bar or airport food - not very inventive, nor particularly appealing. We went to dinner twice at the Turtle Inn and really liked it, and once at the Maya Beach Resort - those restaurants were far superior to RG.

3) Hot tubs: The hot tubs were broken the entire time that we were there...just a sign saying that they were out of order...I'm guessing that they have been out of order for quite a long time.

4) Bed: The first night we were in room #3 and the bed had a spring poking through the mattress...not very comfortable. They moved us to a different room for the other nights, but I think in general RG is in need of an overhaul.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at Roberts grove for a week, Jan, 6th thru Jan 13th 2012 and loved the place. The entire staff including the maids, waiters,bartenders, front desk and chef went over and above to make it a great vacation. Jean Mark one of the owners was also a constant presence and was available to the guests.We Chartered one of the resorts 36 ft. fishing boats for a great day of fishing also.We caught tuna and jacks and the captain and mate were excellent.They took us to a small private island for a couple of hours for some good bone fishing also.The food choices were excellent and the quality was as good as you can ask for.The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and clean. The beach is sandy and the pools are pristine.We will be going back!!!!

Room Tip: room 20 has pool and ocean views and is close to everything. It also has a large covered deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We just got back from Belize and were looking forward to our last three days lounging in the sun at Roberts Grove. The weather was pretty bad the first 1 1/2 days at the beach, so things were a bit off of our plan, but Roberts Grove was a bit of a disappointment too.

I can not fault the facility much. It is a beautiful spot, with the facility RIGHT on the beach with great breezes and views. We had room 4, over the main building with a huge balcony looking directly out to the beach and pier. The furnishings were great and in good shape, the bath was perfect with plenty of hot water and GREAT water pressure. The staff kept the room in great shape....so no complaints there. (except we had to call down to get the water turned on in the room when we got there....which was kinda odd).

But then we walked down to dinner, starving and sat down thinking "now we can relax and have a nice dinner". This was the first notion that something was amiss in this beautiful spot. There was no dinner. The only option was a "north american buffet" which amounted to preformed "costco" type hamburgers sitting in a steam tray, mac and cheese, wings, etc. Huge yuck, even from our kids (9, 9, and 13). There were no other menu options. We were too tired and hungry to go into town, so we went across the street to Habenero's, which was good, but not great. Habanero's was also the first inkling of issues with the bar. Two drinks and neither had any discernable alchohol.

Roberts Grove has serious issues with their food and beverage service. Breakfast was just okay, certainly not the standard of other hotels at this price/rating. There was only really juice, yoghurt, breads and cereal. The bread tasted like it was premade elsewhere the first day (Tuesday), but got better in successive days. Lunch was just okay, but it took 45 minutes to get our food. And we were the only people in the restaurant at 1pm! And we ordered nachos, pizza and conch soup. Conch soup was great, but the cheese on the pizza smelled rotten. And frankly, after 45 minutes, my kids were incredibly grumpy and had headed back to the beach.

And at the bar the first night, the service (Juan) was lovely, but again the drinks were INCREDIBLY weak. They have those pourers on the bottles so that it looks like they are pouring for a while....but it must be dribbling out. And I was shocked that they were using canned fruit juices. Everywhere we went in Belize we had the most amazing fruit juice, from nice to tiny restaurants. But I sat in shock watching the bartender making a drink mix by opening can after can of Del Monte juice and loading the pour bottle. Yuck.

Needless to say, this immediately turned us off the food/bev service here, so we just went elsewhere for all our dinners. The second night was an Asian buffet....no thanks. It seemed everyone else went elsewhere too, cause the restaurant was largely empty our whole stay. When amazing restaurants like Maya Beach and Rumfish serve fresh, well prepared food and drinks with good service AT THE SAME PRICES as at Roberts Grove, why would anyone eat at the hotel?

Another issue that was kind of mind boggling, is that this place has 3 beach/pool bars, but they are NEVER open! There is one at the end of the pier and one at each pool. Granted the first two days we were there were kinda chilly, but people were by the pools and the last day was lovely and the pool and beach were packed. But there was NO service at any of these bars, no server asking if you wanted a drink or food. If you were at the far pool, or out on the beach and wanted a drink or food, you had to pack up, go up to the lodge, order it, wait for it and then head back. It would seem to me that they are losing tons of money by not providing this service. This is kinda insane for a high end beachfront resort, considering the price range.

We went on the Monkey River tour with Doyle and that was good, although he did not seem as knowledgable about the plants and animals as some of the other guides we heard talking to their groups. He is lovely and can really drive a boat, but seemed to be "phoning it in" a bit. We did get to see some great wildlife and the lunch was great.

I also had a nice massage from the spa, so can recommend that. The prices there are reasonable resort prices.

So, although it is a nice spot and beautiful room, it was not really a great resort experience.

Room Tip: Room 4 is large and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing