We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay on a Belizean beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
cutchogue, new york
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely stay on a Belizean beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We visited Placencia with friends and stayed at Robert's Grove -- lovley setting with three pools and a lovley beach. -- everything is available for diving as well as a sea spa.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    234
    84
    37
    11
See reviews for
199
308
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent a week at Robert's Grove and had a fantastic time -- we have not one single complaint. The resort if upscale, the beach is beautiful, both restaurants are lovely with good food and drinks; complimentary breakfast is healthy and plentiful, and our "apartment" (two bedrooms, two baths, living room and eat-in kitchen, with two terraces) was luxurious and gracious. The resort is right on the beach and right on the lagoon, so you can go ocean kayaking or "lake" kyaking, as well as sailing and swimming. They have three pools, and the dive/snorkeling center is outstanding. We took advantage of four off-site guided adventure tours and all were worth every penny. (And they leave right from the resort.) The guides were knowledgeable, helpful, and skilled. There was not a single disappointment on our entire trip. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. we stayed on the north side of the property on the second floor. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0bbestultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just returned from a March break with our teenage daughter where we stayed half the time at RG and half at Chaa Creek. At first I was annoyed that RG was not at the same high standard as Chaa. RG's beach was polluted with seaweed and debris which was a constant annoyance and our first meal at Habernaros across the street was disgusting. I ordered the "special" which contained bits of leftover seafood you would give your dog (I wondered why there was a lobster claw when local lobsters don't have them leading me to suspect that this was a Maine lobster - why not serve fresh local food?). We ate at the main restaurant which was better, but had limited selection. If we had an extended stay I would quickly get bored of the menu offerings. At night it was very quiet and we opened the windows and were lulled asleep by the ocean breezes. We spent most of our trip to RG, however, scuba and snorkelling, which was great (and because of this, I cared less about the sordid state of the beach). Staff was friendly and attentive and at check-out they quickly cleared up a $600 error on my bill. Overall, I will have fond memories of my time in Belize and stange as it may seem, I'll miss RG.

Room Tip: upgrade to the rooms that are furthest away from the lodge; they are much quieter don't eat at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBBIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent 10 days at Roberts Grove in March 2012. This resort excels at customer service! From the welcome drink and tour of the resort upon arrival to your service in the restaurants and bars, it was representative of North American standards for service. We liked what we felt was an African/Polynesian theme in our room and being on the second floor with tree top views of the property made us feel like we were in the jungle, even though we were oceanside. We liked the proximity of the main restaurant to the beach, dining within a few feet of the rollers crashing on the shore was exhilarating. When a storm suddenly emerged, the staff moved extremely quickly to escort diners inside and roll down the window coverings. Having read two other posts regarding cleanliness of the grounds and pool, we have to say that things have obviously improved under the new ownership. There were plenty of chaise lounges with cushions (although for a few days there was a shortage of cushions), the pool was being cleaned every day, although the wind did whip leaves into the water on a regular basis, the gardener worked diligently daily to rake sand, paint wooden carvings, and performed general maintenance on the property. The spa upstairs is very nice, we had several massages instead of taking trips and each treatment was as good as one we would receive at home. We liked the low thatched palapa roof on the beach bar at the pier - it kept the wind from blowing us into the water. I agree with one review about the plastic cactus and palm trees on the marina side. At first glance I thought the cacti were real and when I realized they weren't some exotic flora that I hadn't seen before in Belize, that they were actually plastic lights that at night lit the way to the marina, I felt like I was in Vegas. I get that the marina is mexican themed, but these seemed out of place. However, it was nice to have the path lit when coming back from the marina late at night. The beach bbq at the Grove and the mexican buffet at Haberneros were excellent when we were there. In fact, the food was incredible. The Executive Chef does a spectacular job with the menu. If you go, realize that the resort is several miles away from everything, you will need to take a taxi or ride bikes to get off the property and sight see. Placencia village was worth seeing. Do go to Tutti-fruitti for gelato and Wendy's for lunch. Bring your bathing suit to the village, there is a good expanse of beach there for swimming. Back at the resort, the water on the ocean side isn't always swimmable because of the rollers, but when it's placid, it is wonderful. The lagoon side isn't swimmable because of the marina. There is a tennis court, there are bikes and watercraft for use. Also a lsmall ibrary where you can exchange your book for a different one. The property itself is very nice, but the staff are what make this a remarkable resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Sleep quality was interrupted by our room's proximity to the main pathways where staff and guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just spent a week at Roberts Grove with a group of 20. I have read others reviews and would 100% agree the staff could not be any better. They are friendly, helpful and courteous.

I will not send people back to Roberts Grove for the following reasons.

1. The entire time we were there no on cleaned the pools, straightened the lawn chairs, cleaned paths or raked. The beach was filled with seaweed, which they can not control but they had beds of entirely dead plants and debris floating in the pools daily. As well as mismatched lounge chairs at the pools, that did not even have cushions. When sitting in a lounge chair by the pool you had green paint on your body when you got up. Looking back at pictures I am embarrassed to show friends because the grounds look soooooo terrible. We visited Turtle Inn while there and the grounds and pool were manicured and so lovely. ( We will stay there next time --- hands down)

2. Food. Lunch was ok at the hotel, not great.
They push the buffet at their two restaurants or their sister property. All marginal at best. We asked for other places to eat and got no help. We had to research ourselves. There are great, charming places to eat...but you have to figure it out yourself. ( Rumfish and Bistro are fab!!)

3. The dock in front of the hotel is nice but the roof comes down so low it covers most of the view, the bar is not open until you have a group out there wanting something and at night you have terrible green lights. The nasty lights are all over the property. We had a dinner on the dock and we all looked like elves.

4. They have invested so much money on the marina and restaurant across the street they have neglected Roberts Grove. It is such a shame because when we were there it was crowed with families and couples. I asked some how they heard about Roberts Grove and most said they they found it on line, like we did. I think the owners attention to the details at Roberts Grove will be the down fall. Our room was clean the decorations fine but the grounds looked like no one worked there. Again depressing to walk around and embarrassing to show friends pictures of dead plants and debris floating in pools. ( I have never stayed in a hotel that had grounds that were so poorly kept)

5. They have a large, very nice out side bar/fireplace area. It was not open except for the one dinner they do over there. (b-b-que night) The chairs were turned over and no one ever picked them up. One day I couldn't take it any more and went and set them straight myself. They should offer drinks over there or a light afternoon snack menu if nothing else.

6. We went to the private island Ranguana for 2 nights. They have a new manager out there and the place was so beautiful and even without electricity I would stay there over Roberts Grove.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaisonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Last February 2011 we stayed at Roberts Grove for the first time and were so impressed that we decided to return again this year. We also knew at the time that the resort had recently been bought and was under new ownership. As expected, the new owner(s) made some changes to the resort.

Let me start off by saying that the staff at Robert Grove are outstanding. The service and care is second to none - from the front desk who regularly speak with people everyday to the guy that cleans the pool; All of them would greet us with a smile, nod and "how are you today?"

Most of the changes and renovations to the resort were quite nice with a few glaring exceptions. Some of the nice changes include the total removal of the administration building that was situated on prime beach real estate. The removal of the building has drastically improved the view. New exterior painting was done in a tasteful way that lends itself well to the surroundings. Additional landscaping (rocks and natural plants) was a nice touch. The thatch on the roofs is maybe a bit excessive, covers up some of the classic interior architecture and obviously for aesthetics alone, therefore a bit tacky.

Now some of the changes we saw which made us scratch our heads and wonder "what were they thinking?!" The following is a list in order of atrocities:
1) Huge plastic neon coloured cactus and palm trees that light up. Seriously, what are you thinking?! With all the natural beauty of Belize why on earth would you put up horrible fake plants? Plant more REAL palms and flowers and shine white lights on them at night if necessary. The natural flora and fauna of the area lend themselves to the beauty of Belize. I can't quite say enough about this one. It really was something out of this world and nothing like what we expected to see.

2) Glaring neon green lights everywhere you look. If I wanted neon lights I would have gone to Las Vegas not Belize. The total overkill of green lights really distracts from the natural colours and tones of the surroundings. It gives the impression that the green lights are meant to mask something ugly when in fact it's both the colour and quantity of the green lights which are ugly and hard on the eyes. I recognize that there is a place for artificial coloured lights (night clubs, flashy restaurants, Las Vegas etc) but not at a resort which by it's very location and design has a classy sophisticated look to it. The green lights drag this nice resort down to the appearance of a cheap 2 star hotel that's desperately trying to dress itself up.
Well placed white lights are classic, classy and sophisticated. There is absolutely no need to bring in plastic plants or artificially coloured lights to mask anything at the resort .

3) Old wrecked dive boat crashed up on dry rocks in front of the dive shop. Now why would you loudly advertise your absolute worst when you could be showing off one of best fleets (including the large jet-powered dive boat) in Placencia? This choice in advertising really had me wondering. The wrecked dive boat looks like it should be surrounded by a plethora of emergency vehicles, a coroner, official investigators then hauled off to the dump. The sight of a boat jammed sideways up on the rocks doesn't really give you the sense of a safe, reliable or quality operation. If it's meant to be humorous it's done in very bad taste. Would an airline ever consider advertising by putting up an image of one of their planes crashed into a mountainside right in front of their booking counter? Or would a nice hotel advertise by putting a bug infested bed mattress out on their front lawn? Think about it. Scuba diving and boating are both potentially very dangerous but done correctly they are highly enjoyable and safe activities. Always advertise your safest and best never your worst and most reckless.

Between the plastic plants, neon lights and wrecked boat makes me wonder if the new arrangements were designed by a group of teenager s trying to build a drunken party place ready to get their freak on. There’s nothing wrong with that but if that was the goal, there’s a time & place for the ultimate drunken teenage party place and it’s called University. Not when I’m traveling with my wife, paying $225+ a night to stay at a classy resort with other adults and families.

Let me finish by saying that we enjoyed our stay. Our room was comfortable, clean and we were well cared for. That said, I know that we can find that same comfort, cleanliness and care at other resorts without the tackiness of plastic plants, neon lights and wrecked boats. For the same reason we will be choosing to stay elsewhere on our next visit to beautiful, natural Placencia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We are avid birders and were looking for a little "down" time between our more rigorous hiking/birding trips. The Inn at Robert's Grove proved to be the perfect place! Our villa was large, comfortable and very clean. The bed was comfortable, shower/bathroom excellent, seating comfy, closets generous and veranda fabulous. Swinging in a hammock just 50 paces from the Caribbean was heaven. Both restaurants were excellent with attentive service. We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to swim, snorkel and kayak, although it was a long day to one of their private Cays for just 1 1/2 hours of snorkeling. We loved being able to use the Inn's bikes to explore Placencia. We also loved having a choice of swimming pools and restaurants. We found the staff extremely attentive - they did everything in their power to make our stay pleasant. If you're a serious birder, the Inn's tours aren't really organized to accommodate this pastime; however, we spoke with the staff and they assure us that as they work on expanding their portfolio of tours they will consider adding something for birders. All in all, we loved this resort and its spectacular location. A sunset drink at the pier bar, followed by dinner under the stars listening to the waters of the Caribbean lapping the shore . . . now THAT's a magical evening! We would not hesitate to return to the Inn at Robert's Grove or to recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a villa was well worth it. We had a first floor unit, which was wonderful because we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mframptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing