We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest front desk ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Room, grounds, amenities etc all fair for the price, but the personality- plus young ladies at the front reception area, so professional and sweet too!
Floret and Nikita are a Belizean/ Roberts Grove public relations power team! Super easy, but in charge.
Gym nice too...I have been to fancier hotels with beat "gyms". Don't go on a dive vavation necessarily to hit the gym, but this was a bonus. Very nice.

See ya next time RG,
Joni and Jeff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoniMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Robert's Grove has some big plusses: a super friendly staff, a beautiful setting, gorgeous room, good food. But it also has a couple of minuses: a trash-strewn, shallow beach and a shabby looking entry. Be sure to say hi to Jenny Lee at the front desk - a real DOLL!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbowein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went to Belize in March 2014 and had a great experience! I stayed for a week with my friend and we enjoyed the Belize Adventure Package. The entire experience and the stay at Roberts Grove was wonderful. The staff were also extremely nice and one in particular, Nikkita, was just awesome! She was with us on a couple of our tours and made the experience 20x more fun! She gave us history about Belize and talked about the different things to see and do while in Belize. She was very knowledgable and I want to thank her for giving my friend and I an amazing experience while on our trip. Roberts Grove is certainly a little piece of heaven and it isn't over run with a tourist vibe. The food is good and the rooms are beautfiul. The staff are so wonderful and friendly and they help set up all of your tours allowing you the freedom to pick when you want to go and what days. Thank you all for a great time! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at RG in a second floor 1BR unit with a huge balcony. The room was wonderful-roomy , clean, and included a nice bathroom and large living room. It did not have a refrigerator, though I think most rooms do. Be sure to ask if you want one. The view from the balcony was fabulous. It was windy while we were there and the beach was full of garbage and plant debris. I don't know if it is always like this or just because of the large waves/wind. The staff raked it every morning, but this really didn't help much as the "stuff" just kept coming in, so except for one afternoon, we could not swim at the beach. The pools, however, were great, but there seemed to be no wait service at the pools so we had to go up to the bar. The restaurant is quite expensive for a family place. Get a car and eat in town, cab fair adds up quickly. We did the snorkel and fishing trip out to the private island and that was wonderful-beautiful reef, picture perfect private beach, great guides. The front desk staff booked our flights back to Belize City for us and we used the hotel shuttle. While we had a nice time, I would probably pick a different part of Belize to visit if you are looking for a beach resort, because of the dirty beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Creeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

While Placencia does have a no littering policy, Most debris come from the surrounding countries like Guatemala, Honduras that don’t have proper garbage disposal policy and when the raining season start all rivers flush these to the ocean and some end in the Belize coast... this is a worldwide issue not only to Belize.. We make a continuous effort to keep it clean and certain times of the month the current does bring it in more than others. However, the beaches are clean and swimmable the majority of the time. We keep our prices competitive with other beach resorts in the area and offer three restaurants with varied price ranges to meet any guests budget and taste. We are happy you enjoyed our unique access to the private Cayes and snorkeling along the Belize Barrier Reef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous. My room was beautiful, the food was great, the diving obviously wonderful as I saw my whale sharks! The hammock swing on my deck watching the sunset sipping my rum punch is the life.

Room Tip: I stayed in 38B and its lovely...top floor king bed...wonderful ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyLynnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at RG for 2 nights and everything was excellent. The room, the staff, the property..everything was great. I would specially like to thank the staff since they were very helpful and where always ready to assist, they picked me up from the airport and arranged my tours. Tour prices were better than booking them from outside of the hotel, I recommend you book tours through the hotel. I had a relaxing time and would definitely return. The only thing they should improve is the breakfast, I think it was a bit poor (in contrast with everything else in the hotel)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at RG and overall we had a nice time but we would struggle to recommend it to others.

Our experience was, that whilst there is an army of staff here, the service is very haphazard. Our check-in experience - after a 4-hour drive, we were fairly zapped and advised our room was not available. We could understand this as we were early, and were told we could seat ourselves until it was ready. We were fine with this and thought about ordering some lunch in the meantime. Then along with a welcome drink, a lady leaped on us about tours and proceeded to take about half an hour showing us pictures on an ipad, which we were not interested in doing straight away. I understand the value in having a tour specialist and would expect to have this info, but not so in-your-face. I did indicate to the lady that we were a bit tired from our journey, and also we had already had 4 days of doing ATM and other jungle activities so we wanted to settle in first. She didn't listen to us at all, just proceeded to take us through pictures of tours we'd already done. It was not a good first impression at all - we had little information on the hotel itself, but hundreds of images on tours we didn't want to hear about right now. It totally defeated the point of giving us a welcome drink, there was no attention to the guest experience.

When our room was ready, for some reason she was designated to show us there although she is there for tours. She couldn't find our room and we walked around until she took us to a room and sort of tried to work out what it included. Our luggage wasn't there and eventually she took us through to an adjoining room where our cases were. But she had no idea whether this was ours and whether other people would be staying in the room we'd just walked through. She was about to walk back to Reception when we suggested using the phone instead to call and ask, which she did. She then assured us we were in the right room - we were very grateful to be in such a lovely room but weren't sure about the adjoining door and it took us some time to persuade them to have it locked by housekeeping. By this time, we felt we had not had a relaxing experience at all. They had pointed out the pools, but no other useful information. Luckily there is a lot in the room folder, so I would recommend looking through this.
Another morning, we were called at 8.15am by staff asking if this was the storeroom. (??!!)

I've seen other reviews commending the staff, but we were very often ignored by staff in the restaurant, despite there being so many waiters... sometimes they would see us sitting there, but still go on to wipe another table or stand chatting. Sometimes, we had a lovely smile to greet us and were looked after, but this just wasn't the case generally. Communication here was much more difficult than any other hotel, driver or tour guide we spoke with in Belize. When we asked questions at reception, we were made to feel that it was odd we asked anything. When we checked out, there was an overcharge, but no apology or anything when we pointed it out. It was reprinted immediately which was good, then we did not get a goodbye or anything when we left.

Positives: It's a very well-maintained property and the beachfront aspect is lovely. Near the reception area is raked of seaweed so swimming there is easier, otherwise use the pools. Other plus-sides. Sweet Mama's was delicious and relaxing for a meal in the evening. Rooms were well air-conditioned and housekeeping was excellent. (cleanliness in the rooms far outweighed the restaurant, which has these yukky sticky placemats, very weird)

We are laid-back and don't expect a lot, so we were surprised we felt the experience was poor. It seemed to us there was no management around or consistency in the service. We didn't expect the intimacy of a smaller family-run place of course, but also this hotel didn't seem to operate like a larger chain that has trained staff in customer service or communication. Everything was just a bit odd, so we have ended up feeling like we personally couldn't recommend it to others. It makes us sad to leave a review like this, as with some nice, organised service, we felt Roberts Grove could be a great property!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukhi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Robert’s Grove would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation in Belize. As with many establishments here, our staff is always learning and growing. We will take your recommendations under advisement and continue to improve our guests experience. We hope in the future you will return to us and see how far we’ve come. We will also look into the placemats you mentioned. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
799 reviews
1 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
2.8 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
628 reviews
5 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Placencia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £146 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing