We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This time I will only rate the experience I made with the staff at the restaurant.
We stayed in this hotel three times before (not only at the restaurant) and and it always was price-wise okay.
Whenever we had the chance to go to Placencia we tried to stop there and at least have a drink at the bar watching the wonderful sea.

This time we only came to visit the restaurant and sadly the service was just horrible. When we came and sat down they first ignored us. We had to go to the bar and place the order there. It took a while until we got an overprice aweful tasting Cappuccino. (I only took a sip and my husband trank only half the cup).
Shortly after serving the coffee the waiter only showed up the ask us to pay.
No friendly word, no question about the coffee - nothing.
He disappeared as quick as he showed up and never came back.

When we left the restaurant area after 20 minutes (nobody came to us the whole time) no "good bye", no "have a nice day" - again, nothing.

This is not the kind of treatment I expect from a resort like this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaVie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Robert’s Grove would like to apologize for the under par service you experienced in our one of our restaurants. This is not the level of service we offer and cannot explain what could have caused this drop in excellence on the day you dined with us. Please email us with the day in question and time, and which restaurant you dined in, so we can look into this complaint and take appropriate action. Thank you for your candid review as it only helps us to be ever vigilant in providing excellent service. Please feel free to email me through info@robertsgrove.com attn:Cindy/Jean-Marc. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I just want to say that anyone who is expecting the very touristy amenities like in Mexico for example should go somewhere else. You shouldn't be coming here if you need to be entertained all the time. However, if you are looking for an excellent family atmosphere in a very relaxed community then this is the perfect place to go. One of the other reviewers mentioned not wanting to ever leave and we are in absolute agreement. My daughter got married while we were there and Roberto and his assistant looked after everything. All the staff were so friendly, front desk, bar, wait staff, everyone. And they were very helpful with questions and ideas of places to go and things to do. And very accommodating. We made use of the spa as well (manis, pedis, massage) and were very impressed with the quality of service. While we were there we also did a number of the tours. We ended up with Raffi on all the land tours and he was so much fun and so informative. Wish we could have gotten to know him and other staff on an even more personal level. Maybe one day we can move there and then we will! For the scuba diving we found the instructors very professional and safety conscious. The monkey river tour was great. Some of our group went horse riding and said it was really scenic. On a personal level I did ziplining for the very first time ever and I could not have done it if it weren't for our 2 guides on the tour. They made me feel very safe (and brave). River tubing was fun. Food wise, really great. I don't think I had a single bad meal. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. It was a little harder for the 2 vegetarians in our group to find variety, but they certainly didn't go hungry. If I really had to recommend a single restaurant it would be hard. However I do want to say that the bartender over at Singing Sands makes the best Mai Tais ever! And I tried them out all over the place! I cannot wait to go to Belize again and I will definitely be booking in at Robert's Grove again.
In the comments you ask about airport access. We flew into Belize City from Houston and then took a single prop to Placencia. A van was there to meet us. Also, according to the dictionary definition, RG would be considered a boutique hotel, but in terms of what you think of when you think of boutique hotels then I wouldn't classify it as one. The atmosphere is a lot more relaxed. I cannot recommend them enough! We don't have young kids, but there were a number of families there and they were in the pools a lot. I don't know about other kids facilities because we weren't looking for them.

Room Tip: Upper levels all have higher ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Roberts Grove leaves you wanting to stay in Belize forever. Normally we are ready to get home after a week, at Roberts Grove we wanted to stay. The staff treats you like family, Luis, Doyle, Ed and all the tour group were fantastic. Marie at Sweet Mamas was wonderful and Roberto and Nikita in room services or whatever department they work in are superior. We miss all of them already. The room was great, except for the shower pressure we have no complaints. We really didn't care much about the shower because we were treated like royalty. Thank you all for making this trip one we will never forget.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view of beautiful sunrises above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the village prior to this so it was more like a resort to us- especially having 3 pools! The rooms are pretty dated and you can hear your neighbor on the commode -wasn't good! The A/C never got even cool at night- none of us slept very well because of that and my teen was on on the futon- it squeaked every time he moved! The restaurant food was pretty good, the service was implacable! We would consider it again because of the pools, but too far away from anything and they overcharged to us- on the golf cart rental. It was $40 US for 4 hours and we rented in the village for $55 all day

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank t3roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your candid review of Robert’s Grove. We are glad you enjoyed the resort grounds and restaurants. We hope that when you stay with us again you will let us know of any AC problems while you are here so we can have it taken care of, we don’t want our guests losing sleep! Thank you again for choosing us for your vacation stay in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed at Robert's Grove twice in the past year, and the accommodations are outstanding. The food is delicious, and I love the casual atmosphere at Sweet Mama's. The service staff go out of their way to meet your needs. I strongly recommend sipping a Purple Parrot! I really need that recipe, although the ambiance makes this a great drink to sip on the dock.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious, and you definitely want a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sltomasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Would like to say what a wonderful time we had at RG. ALL of the staff were the best ever. Its all about making the costomers happy at RG. The diving staff were the best. Even the guys who rented us the golf carts. The food was to die for. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I spent a week at Robert's Grove in June. The resort was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. They offered wonderful tours, we did several dives, a cave tour and the Monkey River tour. All were excellent. We did do a whale shark dive but did not see any whale sharks, we did see several huge eagle ray, sting ray, and a nurse shark. We will go back there for sure! My only complaint, it was really windy so we try a different time of year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene8925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
797 reviews
1 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
2.8 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
627 reviews
5 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Placencia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £146 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing