We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All-inclusive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Encino, CA.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great All-inclusive Resort”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My family went to Robert's Grove on a recommendation from a friend who had previously stayed at the property. Our 3 main reasons for choosing Robert's Grove were: location in Belize-the Caribbean; all-inclusive;and the ability to travel to Tikal Guatemala as part of the package.
We went over the Thanksgiving holiday 2013. The accommodations at Roberts Grove are spacious, comfortable, and scenic. My family had a combination of a suite and a regular room. We were on the periphery of the property, and it was extremely private. We were literally 25 feet from the ocean. There was a pool right next to our room.
The dining rooms are fantastic. We had dinner at every one of the facilities, and each was exceptionally good. The barbecue on Saturday night is fantastic. There is a huge variety of seafood, and all the meals were perfect. There are also a large selection of non-seafood type products.
We went on an all-inclusive package. This has to be the best way to go. Everything that we did was included in one set Price. The Price was extremely reasonable. We could choose from any item on the menu, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The all-inclusive Price also included 3 activities/excursions such as the Monkey River Cruise,boat excursion snorkeling in the Caribbean, and visiting the local Maya landmarks.
After 5 days at the resort, we flew to Tikal for 2 additional days exploring the amazing Maya ruins. This trip was included in our package.
All in all, this was an outstanding trip. I highly recommend this facility. The all-inclusive package is definitely the best choice.

Room Tip: Rooms & suites at the periphery/south end of the property are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    239
    85
    38
    11
See reviews for
204
312
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you want to feel like you've arrived at Heaven's gate then you're at the right place. From the moment you enter and feast your eyes upon the glorious Caribbean Sea and feel the breeze you know you've reached. The staff is super friendly and courteous. Oh, let's talk about the suites! My suite was absolutely to die for. I had a private one bedroom apartment (upper unit), complete with separate living room and kitchen that looked out over the pool and to the ocean. There is a huge patio complete with a hammock! The bedroom was airy and bright with a huge king size bed. The pillows weren't so lovely. Wish they had down pillows, but that's just my preference. I am a filmmaker and stayed here during the 2014 Belize International Film Festival. This resort was the platinum sponsor and hosted the opening night's red carpet affair and screenings by the beach and poolside. So exotic was the setting.

Continental breakfast is included with your stay. The main restaurant was lovely and provided unforgettable views and sounds of the surf....not to mention that amazing sea breeze. There are two other restaurants on site....Mama's Kitchen which serves authentic Belizean food, and Habaneros on the water by the marina. I ordered the fresh snapper filet. Oh my! It tasted as if it was just caught. Talk about fresh. Yummy.

I would recommend staying here for sure. Placencia Village is just about a 5 minute drive away. A must so you can experience the true laid back Belizean lifestyle. Visit the public beach and walk along the world's narrowest main road, Its in the Guinness book of world records! Be sure to stop at Tutti Frutti for the best homemade ice cream known to man (and woman!).

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs unit that overlooks the pool out to the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoiceQueenViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you're looking for lots of action, this may not be the place for you. But if you want a quiet, relaxing place with very friendly staff, good food, and fairly reasonable prices, then Roberts Grove is a good choice. we were there in July and it was very hot, humid, and stormy so we couldn't take advantage of many of their water sports amenities, but since I was mainly there for a conference, this wasn't an issue for us. My one complaint is how dark our room was - even with all the lights on, we couldn't see much and certainly couldn't read. But that just made sure we went out on our deck (which had a gorgeous view) or the common spaces.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Roberts Grove was an amazing place to spend the week! The 2 bedroom villa we had overlooked both the pool area and the ocean and was very comfortable. We ate at all three restaurants and never had a bad meal. All of the staff were there to help us with anything we needed. With the choice of a table by the ocean or a overlooking the marina, dining was always picturesque and relaxing. Everything was very well maintained and clean!

The only thing I would like to have seen would be a shuttle into Placencia. We did take advantage of the free bikes and rode into the village, but riding back the 4 miles or so was a little brutal after a couple beers. Taxis are quite expensive for a family of four and we felt a little stranded at times. That being said, it is not a bad place at all to be stranded, just would've like a little bit more mobility.

Bike riding was fun though, and we felt safe to go both directions outside of the resort. We also took advantage of the free kayaks and paddled out into the lagoon and mangroves.

Roberts Grove allowed me to feel completely detached from the real world and truly have a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This time I will only rate the experience I made with the staff at the restaurant.
We stayed in this hotel three times before (not only at the restaurant) and and it always was price-wise okay.
Whenever we had the chance to go to Placencia we tried to stop there and at least have a drink at the bar watching the wonderful sea.

This time we only came to visit the restaurant and sadly the service was just horrible. When we came and sat down they first ignored us. We had to go to the bar and place the order there. It took a while until we got an overprice aweful tasting Cappuccino. (I only took a sip and my husband trank only half the cup).
Shortly after serving the coffee the waiter only showed up the ask us to pay.
No friendly word, no question about the coffee - nothing.
He disappeared as quick as he showed up and never came back.

When we left the restaurant area after 20 minutes (nobody came to us the whole time) no "good bye", no "have a nice day" - again, nothing.

This is not the kind of treatment I expect from a resort like this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGMarketing, Owner at Robert's Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Robert’s Grove would like to apologize for the under par service you experienced in our one of our restaurants. This is not the level of service we offer and cannot explain what could have caused this drop in excellence on the day you dined with us. Please email us with the day in question and time, and which restaurant you dined in, so we can look into this complaint and take appropriate action. Thank you for your candid review as it only helps us to be ever vigilant in providing excellent service. Please feel free to email me through info@robertsgrove.com attn:Cindy/Jean-Marc. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I just want to say that anyone who is expecting the very touristy amenities like in Mexico for example should go somewhere else. You shouldn't be coming here if you need to be entertained all the time. However, if you are looking for an excellent family atmosphere in a very relaxed community then this is the perfect place to go. One of the other reviewers mentioned not wanting to ever leave and we are in absolute agreement. My daughter got married while we were there and Roberto and his assistant looked after everything. All the staff were so friendly, front desk, bar, wait staff, everyone. And they were very helpful with questions and ideas of places to go and things to do. And very accommodating. We made use of the spa as well (manis, pedis, massage) and were very impressed with the quality of service. While we were there we also did a number of the tours. We ended up with Raffi on all the land tours and he was so much fun and so informative. Wish we could have gotten to know him and other staff on an even more personal level. Maybe one day we can move there and then we will! For the scuba diving we found the instructors very professional and safety conscious. The monkey river tour was great. Some of our group went horse riding and said it was really scenic. On a personal level I did ziplining for the very first time ever and I could not have done it if it weren't for our 2 guides on the tour. They made me feel very safe (and brave). River tubing was fun. Food wise, really great. I don't think I had a single bad meal. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. It was a little harder for the 2 vegetarians in our group to find variety, but they certainly didn't go hungry. If I really had to recommend a single restaurant it would be hard. However I do want to say that the bartender over at Singing Sands makes the best Mai Tais ever! And I tried them out all over the place! I cannot wait to go to Belize again and I will definitely be booking in at Robert's Grove again.
In the comments you ask about airport access. We flew into Belize City from Houston and then took a single prop to Placencia. A van was there to meet us. Also, according to the dictionary definition, RG would be considered a boutique hotel, but in terms of what you think of when you think of boutique hotels then I wouldn't classify it as one. The atmosphere is a lot more relaxed. I cannot recommend them enough! We don't have young kids, but there were a number of families there and they were in the pools a lot. I don't know about other kids facilities because we weren't looking for them.

Room Tip: Upper levels all have higher ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Roberts Grove leaves you wanting to stay in Belize forever. Normally we are ready to get home after a week, at Roberts Grove we wanted to stay. The staff treats you like family, Luis, Doyle, Ed and all the tour group were fantastic. Marie at Sweet Mamas was wonderful and Roberto and Nikita in room services or whatever department they work in are superior. We miss all of them already. The room was great, except for the shower pressure we have no complaints. We really didn't care much about the shower because we were treated like royalty. Thank you all for making this trip one we will never forget.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view of beautiful sunrises above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
23.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert's Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert's Grove Beach Resort

Property: Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Address: Placencia Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#9 Family Hotel in Placencia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert's Grove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the Caribbean coast of the Placencia Peninsula in southern Belize, the award-winning Robert's Grove Beach Resort, is a comfortable, beautifully appointed property set amidst 22 acres of tropical, art-filled gardens and sandy beach that offers easy access to all of Belize's top attractions: The largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere, lush Rainforest and Maya Ruins. Robert's Grove Beach Resort features 52 air-conditioned beachfront Classic Vista one bedroom rooms, one, two and three bedroom villas, with all the conveniences one would expect from a finer Beach Resort. There are three private beachfront pools and a host of complimentary activities and amenities that include free wireless internet, tennis court, fitness room, bicycles, pedal boats, kayaks, windsurfers and Hobie Cats. The resort offers three distinct and delicious dining venues: The Seaside Restaurant, with its accompanying bar and lounge, overlooking the beach and sea and serves an international menu along with local specialties. Room Service is available from the Seaside Restaurant. Habanero Mexican Cafe & Bar, offering a full range of Mexican dishes, overlooking the Placencia Lagoon at the Robert's Grove Marina and Sweet Mama's Restaurant a delight in Belizean home cooking and a unique outdoor setting. The food and beverage team at Robert's Grove Beach Resort also arranges special evenings and cultural programs on a weekly basis, including its famous Saturday Night Poolside BBQ Buffet with local music and dancing as well as Habanero's Tuesday night Mexican Buffet and Sunday Paella special. Romantic dinners atop the resort's thatched rooftop gazebos, private room terraces and thatched palapa at the end of its 225 foot pier offer additional dining pleasures. The Resort's spacious grounds, professional food and beverage capability and fully equipped conference room have made it an especially popular setting for large destination weddings, celebrations and business events. The Resort's Water Activity Center features the most diverse water sport activities in southern Belize: At the Resort's 5-Star PADI Dive Center a highly skilled team of dive instructors and dive masters are on standby for instruction as well as daily trips to the many exciting dive locations in our area. Snorkeling, Fishing and island hopping are available from our luxurious charter boats. We also offer overnight stays at our two privately owned islands. The Resort also operates a wide range of tours and excursions to the rainforest and Maya ruins, including Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve and Monkey River.And after a full day exploring the wonders of Belize's magnificent barrier reef and its tropical rainforest, Robert's Grove offers its guests the opportunity to pamper themselves at the resort's well-appointed "Sea Spa" where skilled therapists provide a wide assortment of massages and spa treatments in indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, using the jungle's best natural herbs and oils. Robert's Grove Beach Resort has long proven its commitment to high standards - both in guest services and its regard for nature and the environment. Known for its natural beauty and quiet conforts, it is the perfect destination from which to enjoy the best of Belize and the beautiful Belizean people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robert's Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert`s Grove Beach Hotel Placencia
Hotel At Roberts Grove
At Roberts Grove Placencia
Robert's Grove Beach Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing