We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We left our hearts at Maya Beach!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Parrot Beach Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"We left our hearts at Maya Beach!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Oh, where to begin and where to end? A life changing experience! All of what we experienced of Belize was wonderful. We came in mid Sept. for a week of beauty. The Green Parrot was all and more as described and had it mostly to ourselves. We had the fortunate pleasure of meeting and sharing time with two of the neighbors and between them and Leo and Edisbel we felt like family within a day. Leo, as busy as he is, was an easy going, gracious host who saw to all our wants and has a great sense of humor. Likewise for Edisbel who without a doubt is one of the best cooks ever. Her meals were delicious and by far better than any restaurant I have had. All the staff are friendly, and attentive to detail. Leo took us on trip to the Mayan ruins that was full of interests from the time we pulled out of the driveway and back and a fine lunch. We also spent two days with Arlan on the Monkey River and fishing all the way out past the reef. We can't recommend highly enough that one spend some time with this fine young man and his experience. There is not enough room to tell of all we saw, experienced and caught. Our only regret is that we didn't plan our stay to be much longer. We did not want to leave. Our best wishes to all of our Belizean family. With love, Michael and Lynn

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Just a note to say thanks for staying with us at the Green Parrot Beach Houses on your trip to Belize. We are so pleased that you took home with you good memories of Belize and your stay at the Green Parrot. We believe that your comments will help others in making a decision on where to stay while in Belize, and we hope it will be at the Green Parrot. Now about leaving your heart at Maya Beach! We will take good care of it, and do hope that one day you will return and find new memories and friends. Until we meet again, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    42
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
151
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We loved the cabanas with the thatched roof and being right on the water, and at first it was nice to have the entire resort to ourselves, but after a couple of days we really wished there was more to do. We went snorkeling most days and did the Monkey River tour which was great, but got back to our rooms by two in the afternoon and had nothing to do until dinner. Neither my husband or myself are sit around on the beach types. We want to be doing something. I had been under the impressions that there was snorkeling right off the beach, but that was not the case. And it was too windy to take the Kayaks out. No hiking trails. So we walked around and hung out at the bar (by ourselves), took naps, and ate dinner (in the empty restaurant) early. Then there was nothing to do from 7 to 10. No music at the bar. Very few people. No TV in the rooms (which I had thought was a positive thing since I don't normally watch much TV), but with nothing else to do but sit on the bed and look at each other, it might have helped. And I don't drink that much, so drinking at the bar for five hours a day really wasn't an option either.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi - We first just wanted to say thank you for staying with us at the Green Parrot. We are sorry that the weather did not permit kayaking or snorkeling off the beach. I sure wish we could control old Mother Nature. When the winds calm down, the beach is great for swimming and snorkeling. As far as things to do, I wish you would have asked Leo for some recommendations. You could have gone on a zip line tour, Mayan ruin, horse back riding, A trip into Placencia might have been an option. For those coming, check our our website for activities. You came during the low season, when there is much less tourist traffic. Things kick back up in December. As far as secluded, we find that to be a benefit away from the noise and traffic in many locations. We understand that people have different interests and we do strive to make sure that people understand just what we have to offer. Thanks again for your comments and best to you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week at the Green Parrot in July. We liked the fact that there were not many people in the area. We were able to walk on the beach and enjoy the Caribbean without anyone bothering us. The Green Parrot is the kind of place we were looking for. What we liked most were the private cabanas. Also, the fact that our cabana, Pink, was right on the beach and only about 30 feet from the waters edge. The resort has a bar and restaurant, which is very convenient. We just loved watching the sun rise over the Caribbean every morning. We also enjoyed the tours that Leo set up for us. Fishing was one of our special activities. Snorkeling was second best, and Alrin is a very good guide. I guess we are hooked on this experience and would love to come back again. Take care Leo and we hope to see you one day down the road.

Room Tip: We had the Pink cabana, but they all seem very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We just want to say a big thank you for staying with us at the Green Parrot. We are glad to know that you were pleased with your stay, our accommodations, and that you took away many good memories. We notice that you appreciated the quiet and private nature of our cabanas and their location. We had to laugh a little bit, because another quest felt it was too quiet. I guess it just goes to show you that all people have different tastes and preferences. We always try to match up our guests interests with our location and activities that we offer. Please do come back one day for another visit. You can become part of our returning guest club. Best to you in your travels and please keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We selected the Green Parrot based on the description of its location near the water. We were correct in our selection. We also relied on some Summer savings based on a Trip Advisor discount. We were very pleased with both. Our basic goal was to find a location where we could relax, do a little snorkeling and just decompress. Our selection of the Green Parrot was ideal. The units are right on the water. They are cleaned daily by the staff. We had great service from Leo in booking our tours. The meals were local fare- fish, rice and beans, fruit and veggies. The beer, Belikin, was cold. Seems like people just dont come to the Caribbean in the summer. I am not sure why, as the weather was great. No crowds - actually no people anywhere. They call this the Low Season. We are more than ready to come back in June or July, to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Pink House - right by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Bill - thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Green Parrot. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct, the Summer months are slower in the Caribbean. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you back with us one day. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My new husband, Steve, and I spent our honeymoon at the Green Parrot in Maya Beach. We could not have picked a more perfect location.
We stayed in the Seagrape Cabana, which is only feet from the waters edge. Every morning we could watch the sun rise over the Caribbean. The Seagrape is a thatched roofed cabana with an outdoor tropical shower. Very romantic! We fell in love with the staff at the Green Parrot. Leo is always ready to help, whether it is planning a meal or planning a trip. He seems to understand just what is the right thing to do and where to go. We had special requests for dinner and Edisabella was more than happy to make it for us. Thressa, the bar tender, could make some very nice tropical drinks, and we tried several. Things were a little quiet on the peninsula, which was fine by us. We took a couple of trips to Placencia, just to check it out. We did a snorkel, Monkey River, and Mayan ruin trip. All of which we so enjoyed. Most of the days we had good weather, some rain. We highly recommend the Green Parrot as a honeymoon destination.
We are already planning a return visit with family and friends. The small size of the resort makes it ideal for small family groups.

Room Tip: We were in the Seagrape unit. Very close to the water and it has a thatched roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Candice and Steve - We thank you for selecting the Green Parrot for the location for your honeymoon. One of our goals is to make sure that all of our guests have a memorable stay with us. We are even more pleased when the guest is on their honeymoon, because that time is an extra special period in your lives. We wish both of you all the best. Perhaps you will return to the Green Parrot in the coming years as a way of remembering those special days you had on your honeymoon. Safe travels too you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Green Parrot in July and had a blast. We were part of 2 other couples that traveled to Belize. The guys wanted to go fishing and the ladies wanted to get some beach time and just relax. We all came away happy. We like the fact that the Green Parrot has individual beach cabanas - it just makes it more tropical. We liked the open air restaurant. We liked all of the staff - Leo, Edisabella, and all of the house maids. All were sooooo friendly. The guys were pleased with the fishing guide - Alrin. We had 3 good days of fishing, We even had the fish we caught prepared in the restaurant. The evenings around the bar were fun and relaxing. There was not a lot to see in Placencia, but it does make a destination. All of us came away very impressed with the quality of the service, the cabanas on the beach, the good food and the overall feel of the resort. We do intend to make a repeat visit.

Room Tip: All seemed good to us. All are separate units, which makes for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Kurt - good to know that you and the rest of the group made it home safe and sound. Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your business and, also, for taking your time to write a review about your visit. We are happy that you had a "true Belize experience", it sure is different than a lot of other locations. The variety of things that you did make for an enriched vacation experience. We do hope that you come back and visit us again, since you are now a part of our "Repeat Guest Group". Safe travels and hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

So this place is incredible. The only problem was that we showed up a bit later than we planned, and Leo was out for the day and we couldn't schedule a trip for the following morning. We had a car, so instead he gave us directions up to cockscomb basin wildlife reserve for hiking (worked perfectly).

This place is relaxing, attentive, beaufitul. Leo is friendly, and attentive, but not in your face. My wife read about Jonny Cakes and Fry Jacks in our travel book. We asked Leo about them and he says without hesitation "You want Jonny Cakes tomorrow, we'll make them for you, no problem." It's not on the menu or anything, they'll just make you some food if you ask for it.

Everyone is friendly -- even the dogs. We took the kayaks out to an island off the shore one day, also fun...but wake up early.

The place is 7 miles from town, so make sure to rent a car, or be prepared for taxis. Placencia isn't walkable or bikeable.

We went to Mango's next door one night and they had a killer band.

All the cabins are great. They got hot at night, but with the fans and the breeze it wasn't bad. Honestly, just the perfect get away. I almost don't want to write a good review because I don't want others to find out about how relaxing and perfect this spot is.

Room Tip: They're all great -- but make sure to have a car rented, or plan for lots of taxi rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParrotBelize, Owner at Green Parrot Beach Houses, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
HI Kevin - We do appreciate your staying with us. We also thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review of your stay. We do appreciate hearing that your stay was "exactly what we were looking for!" This tells us that we are clearly describing our property on our website and on Trip Advisor. It also tells us that our personal approach to customer service is meeting yours and others needs and expectations. All of this makes us feel good and it makes for a great stay for you our guest. Now that you have spent your time (an money) with us, we want you to become one of our Repeat Guest Members. That will entitle you to discounts on your future visits to the Green Parrot. Until we meet again - safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.8 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Parrot Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Parrot Beach Houses

Property: Green Parrot Beach Houses
Address: 1 Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#6 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Parrot Beach Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Parrot Beach Houses is located in Southern Belize on the Placencia peninsula. We have a total of 8 individual beach cabanas to serve our guests needs. All of our units are on the beach. In addition, we have our own bar and restaurant. The Green Parrot Resort serves a wide variety of customers- adventure travelers, divers, fishermen and women, weddings, college groups, religious service groups, and beach lovers. You can arrange all of your tours through the Green Parrot Office. We prescreen our tour guides so that you get the best adventure experience for the dollar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Green Parrot Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Parrot Beach Houses Hotel Placencia
Green Parrot Beach Hotel
Green Parrot Beach Resort
Green Parrot Beach Houses Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing