We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Well Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We just returned from a visit to Belize and Guatemala. The Green Parrot was a wonderful beach location. The service is well above average. The rooms are very clean and we appreciated the private cabanas.
We also feel that the resort cares for the environment. Rain water is collected in large tanks. There is noa/c which saves energy. The vegation is natural. Not stripped like many of the newer resorts, with their large clorine pools that contqminate the waters.
The food was local and great:*
We would like to return one day:

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmillonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

Just got back from a 10 day stay in Belize. I traveled to a number of locations to get an idea about the country. I ended up the visit at the Green Parrot Beach Houses in Maya Beach. I did not have a reservation - just drove in and took my chances. Well it could not have been a better choice.
The units are very nice --cleaned daily.
The bar/restaurant is open and serves great food.
The beach was the best i saw in Belize.
Leo and the staff were top of the line.
This is a hidden gem in southern Belize.
I considered it to be a good value and would stay there again, if i come this way.
It is a short drive to Placencia and the road is paved all the way there so it is easy to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangFirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This was our second stay at the Green Parrot. After enjoying our first stay for one night in May 2009, we spent two nights in March 2010 and our high expectations for a beautiful and relaxing couple of days were fully met. Leo is the onsite manager and is extremely accommodating, and Reuben (the bartender) and Isabella (the cook) also aim to please at the open air bar and restaurant. In fact, the entire staff is helpful at every turn.
The rooms are individual beach house cabanas. We stayed in a two-story cabana. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. There is no air conditioning, however each cabana is elevated to maximize air circulation, and together with the ceiling fans, we were very comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing on our front porch (and hammock) with a beautiful view of the beach and Caribbean Sea while listening to the waves lapping at the shore.
The Green Parrot is within walking distance of several resorts which provide additional dining options and also a wonderful gallery of local art and crafts which is not to be missed! Amenities onsite include a small library with books and games and a gift shop. There are also ocean kayaks and canoes for guest use.
We love the Green Parrot and look forward to a longer stay next time. It is a wonderful place for relaxing. We find the beach here to be one of the nicest on the Placencia peninsula and the water is beautiful for swimming. A special treat on this last visit was meeting the owners, David and Linda. We enjoyed several conversations with them, and they (and the entire staff) genuinely seek to ensure that each guest has an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTheCaribbean001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This was our second time back in one year and loved the Green Parrot and Belize as much as we did the first time. This time we brought 40 people with our family and we packed out the Green Parrot and a few neighboring beach houses. Our entire group had an amazing week. David and Linda, Leo, and all the staff were outstanding. They diligently and enthusiastically worked hard to accommodate our big group and did a fantastic job. The kids creatively developed numerous games and activities to play in the sand. Waking to the sound of the Caribbean Sea, the birds and the breeze will be missed until we return again. We always love being able to step right off our beach house into the sand and being only a few feet from the water. The beach houses were clean and comfortable. It was such a treat eating in the open air restaurant or on the beach for every meal. We are counting the days till we can be back in our beloved Belize and with our friends at the Green Parrot. Just Belize It!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsplayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at the Green Parrot for a week in March and thoroughly enjoyed every moment! The cabanas are spacious and very clean, with a small kitchen and fridge which was really handy for snacks and cold drinks. The grounds are beautifully kept and having the Caribbean at your doorstep is a little piece of heaven. Because the resort is small, we were often the only people on the beach. Leo and his staff made us feel completely comfortable and by the time we left, we felt like part of the family! Leo is a wealth of information on the area and couldn't be more accomodating. The food was excellent and always very fresh, with nice variety. Having the "help yourself" coffee pot on early each morning is a nice touch. Rueben and Isabella are amazing and do a great job with the restaurant and bar! Just wish we could have figured out how to bring them all home with us! The resort is in a lovely quiet area and within easy walking distance to other restaurants and a small but well-stocked grocery. There are lots of tours and activities available if you can tear yourself away from the beach and transportation is never an issue - just ask Leo and it can be arranged! Our stay couldn't have been more relaxing or comfortable and we can't wait to go back. Thanks again to Leo and all of his staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_BC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We just returned from a week at the Green Parrot - and let me tell you we had a "Fantastic" time. We tend to stay at small resorts and hotels. We have always found them to be more to our taste. By the time we left we knew all of the staff and they knew us by first name.
This is the first time we have been to Belize - so we were not sure what we were getting into --well we could not have been more pleased. The staff at the resort is wonderful. They are local people, that can tell you the best places to go.
We had a chance to talk in some length with the Owners, David and Linda.
Leo was a lot of help to us when we lost our bag on the airline. He got it sent down to the resort in a day. Great service.
Can't say enough about the food. Fish, meat, rice and beans, fruits and veggies. All fresh! They will ask you if you want to eat with the hotel for the night - which they do to plan their meals.
Rooms were very clean and cleaned daily.
They also rake the beach every day.
We just really felt at home here and will be back - with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCity53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The owner's (David & Linda) and management (Leo) and all the staff at the Green Parrot made our stay and experience in Belize incredible. All of our needs were thought of, even before we thought of them. Leo is incredibly friendly and helpful. We came with a very large group of people and I'm sure the staff must have at times felt overwhelmed with all of us - but they never showed it and were always so accomodating. All the meals were excellent. A great place to take kids. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justbelizeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
6.8 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Parrot Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Parrot Beach Houses

Address: 1 Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Family Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £107 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Parrot Beach Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Parrot Beach Houses is located in Southern Belize on the Placencia peninsula. We have a total of 8 individual beach cabanas to serve our guests needs. All of our units are on the beach. In addition, we have our own bar and restaurant. The Green Parrot Resort serves a wide variety of customers- adventure travelers, divers, fishermen and women, weddings, college groups, religious service groups, and beach lovers. You can arrange all of your tours through the Green Parrot Office. We prescreen our tour guides so that you get the best adventure experience for the dollar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Green Parrot Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Parrot Beach Houses Hotel Placencia
Green Parrot Beach Hotel
Green Parrot Beach Resort
Green Parrot Beach Houses Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing