We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belize holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Belize holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Upon our arrival at Singing Sands, we were greeted by a "welcome" sign. This was a lovely start to our stay at this wonderful, quiet resort. The cottages were very nice, the pool was perfect, the beach was like a postcard, and the restaurant was lovely. Complimenting the beautiful facility, the staff were friendly, for example when one of the gardeners was taking down some coconuts, he cut it open and gave us a straw so we could drink fresh milk as we sat at the pool. Although the resort is 7 miles from the village of Placencia, the free bicycles were lots of fun to ride and we enjoyed our daily trip into town. We also enjoyed meeting and getting to know the other guests. One couple had their wedding while we were staying at the resort, and the staff did a terrific job preparing the venue for the special occasion. A trip to Monkey River was well organized by the staff. We loved staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    69
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
231
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a wonderful spot and beautiful setting. I found accommodations simple but comfortable. It is not Placencia! 7 miles north, but I enjoyed the serenity and peacefulness. Restaurant was top notch and connected to Robert's Grove so shuttled between w/o charge. Within walking distance of Maya Beach Hotel for another great restaurant. Very low key affair - met some great people but had plenty of room for solitude if that is what you want. Wonderful owners, but staff by far made the stay great; thanks Arbando , Edison, Lotto and others. I found decent snorkeling around dock and took 2 trips out to false key. Did the snorkeling trip out of Robert's Grove which was amazing! I would go back in a minute! This place is not for everyone, but our group of 4 loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stives50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a small , private, extremely well kept place with beautiful landscaping and lighting. The owners and staff are lovely people and the food is good. I have been to Belize a number of times and do not like busy places unless they are NOT full of tourists. The beach in front is small, clean, tranquil, and beautiful.There is enough space to be away from others, and also areas to socialize if one wishes. I liked the porch on the front of my room-a small casita with a lovely shower. If you have a reason to stay on the Placencia peninsula, it's a good place to relax or base other outside activities from. There is a pool, complementary bikes, kayaks and other low key activities. It's far from a town, without easy transportation. I liked this about it.
The units are open air, screened and have good fans. You can hear the music from the restaurant, from some rooms but it is turned off and is low key at a reasonable hour. This would be a good place for a couple,a group of friends, or possibly a family with very small children who were supervised. There were no children when I was there for 5 days.
The other guests were an international blend. I appreciated this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the beach if you want a view. There are very few rooms. Transportation can be a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirenaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The beds are impossible to sleep on with bumpy mattresses.
We were supposed to have a ocean front room and were given the room by the kitchen.
There is nothing near this hotel - you are stranded without a car.
The Placencia Hotel and The Turtle Inn are comfortable hotels close by.
No reason to by in Placencia unless you plan to go out diving or snorkling.
No good beaches.
The restaurant at Singing Sands is nice with good food.
Wonderful staff - as in all of Belize.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithadamsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingingSandsInn, Manager at Singing Sands Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
The initial request came from a travel agency and was for a Sea View unit. As we informed the travel agency, we did not have a Sea View unit available during the dates requested. A Garden View unit was the only accommodation available..
If there had of been a Sea front or Sea view available at the time of when the guest checked-in, we would been happy to place our guest there, but we were 100% full.

We can certainly understand her frustration since,
1) The guests itinerary, generated by the travel agent, indicated a Sea Front unit.
2) The voucher given our guest by the travel agency indicated Sea View unit,
3) The email thread between Singing Sands Inn and the travel agency, which was shown to our guest, indicates the final confirmation between Singing Sands Inn and the travel agency was for a Garden View . The guest indicated that they will contact the local travel agency upon return.

Again, if we had another unit available at the time, we would have accommodated our guest in any way possible, but the Singing Sands Inn was 100% full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent almost three weeks in Belize, visiting four different locations, with Placencia and Singing Sands Inn being our last destination. From the pictures and description, I had a much different idea of what it would be like and although a pleasant, quiet setting on a beach, it was not worth the price we paid. If you don't have transportation, your only options are the occasional bus, a very expensive taxi, or bicycle. It's 7-1/2 miles to/from town so the bike ride can be a stretch, especially if it's hot and humid, and you couldn't have the bikes out past 5:00! Everyone was very friendly at in the inn but not accommodating when it came to suggesting available modes of transportation. My impression is that they're used to the folks doing tours and excursions providing the transportation, so if you want to do anything ordinary, there is no accommodation. Internet access was a huge problem for us at the inn; it was spotty at best and difficult to stay connected. We usually had to sit in the waiting area of the office to be able to maintain a reliable connection. The pool was pleasant and truly a lifesaver because the ocean was not considered swimmable. Our shower was a combination of freezing cold/scalding hot and we had to constantly turn it off and back on, then adjust it down for a very brief moment of 'just right'. We stayed in several very nice accommodations in Belize that either included breakfast or provided an affordable breakfast for far less than we paid at SSI. There are several restaurants within a reasonable walking distance but good food/fair price or not, SSI has a captive audience because most of us wouldn't venture out after dark with the flashlight after a day of tours or excursions. The highlights of our stay were the lovely people we met while staying there, and the simple wedding on the beach (not ours). Two suggestions might be that the websites for the hotels on Maya Beach make it clear that they are so far from town and perhaps a cooperative collectivo to provide affordable transportation in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We absolutely loved Singing Sands! We just got back yesterday and I miss it so much. The resort itself is so lovely. We practically at times felt we were on our own private beach.We loved that it is small and private to the people staying here.This is the place to get away from it all. We met some lovely people at this resort. The staff became like family to us.Every staff member was wonderful!Our room was always kept clean. The staff is always friendly and quick to help with anything you need.Ever and Maya worked so hard to make sure we were happy with our tours. They scheduled all our tours. The food at the restaurant was very good.Every plate was beautiful. If I had to ask for anything at all it would only be to have a few more choices for breakfast. Maybe have a special for breakfast everyday as well? This is only thing I could possibly suggest!I was surprised with a review where someone felt they were kept from going other places to eat. I think they understand people want to try other places on a vacation. We went to a few other restaurants and they were always glad to make a reservation for us. My only negative thought on writing a review was telling others to go to our little gem. I would like to keep it to myself. :-) We will definitely be back! We are already talking about when we could plan it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Belize and tried four different towns and a few different places to stay. This was our least favorite. It had no nicer amenities than some of the much cheaper places that we stayed and was so far away from anything else. They were not accommodating when we wanted to go to other places. We felt trapped and as though they wanted us to only eat at their restaurant. The bar on the pier was never open, there was nothing to do besides the on site restaurant and expensive excursions, which were cheaper elsewhere. We could not wait to leave. The cabana was cute, but we stayed in places with A/C for a fraction of the price. The gardens were pretty but the ocean in this area is not swimmable. The internet was down our entire stay and we were continuously told it was down in the whole area, but it worked at all the neighboring places we walked to. Would not go back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginaublsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing