We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Singing Sands Inn Maya Beach Placencia Belize”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Singing Sands Inn Maya Beach Placencia Belize”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Two years ago we stayed at the Placencia Hotel and during a morning bicycle ride we discovered the Singing Sands Inn. We enjoyed a terrific breakfast at the Bonefish Grill. We were later introduced to the owner after expressing our fondness of the resort. She showed us around the resort and opened the beach front cabana for our viewing. We really liked the ambience and pledged to return for a future vacation.

We recently just accomplished that goal and enjoyed a full week living out of Cabana number 1. The Singing Sand Inn is well maintained just like the photographs. The service and quality to detail warrants recognition. If your looking for all the convenience of home this will not be the place for you. There are no TV's, telephones, air conditioners, microwaves, stoves, etc. The rooms just have the basics and if you need a private bathroom them maybe the Placencia Hotel or the like will be better suited for you.

All in all we enjoyed a great week here and savored the beauty of the entire establishment. You can get more details form other reviews. There are quite a few rocks off the end of the pier with several fish so if you have not been to the reef for some of the best snorkeling/diving in the world, this would be a good place to get some experience before venturing to some of the best snorkeling the Belize reef has to offer.

The service is outstanding for a small establishment in Belize. They arranged a taxi to and from the airport which was on time and trouble free. Free use of bicycles. I asked and was provided snorkeling gear to explore their offering at the end of the pier. The grounds are continually maintained. The hammocks are well placed and great places to nap and/or relax.

In summary, it was an adventure and everything as advertised. We are more fond of the luxuries of life and will more than likely be returning for a 3-Pete to Xanadu Island Resort in San Pedro Ambergris Caye the next time we are looking for a tropical beach front resort with beautiful tropical landscaping with all the amenities. This is a personal opinion so read several reviews prior to making your decision. Singing Sands has been a great experience and we will surely stop by during our next stop in Placencia to have a drink, a meal , walk the grounds, say hello to the staff and reminisce our past experiences.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roneiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    72
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
232
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

When you enter the Singing Sands Inn, you see several signs where they promote their motto of "Casual Elegance." That phrase really is a good way to describe the atmosphere at the Singing Sands. The cabins are not luxurious - for that you can pay the extra $150 per night to stay at Chabil Mar - but they are classy. The small pool is beautifully designed with a waterfall-like fountain to create the atmosphere of tranquility, and the beach is kept in good condition despite the inevitable seagrass. The tiling in the bathroom sink and shower is a nice touch, and the bed is comfortable. We only stayed for a night this time, but we'll be back for another visit!
On a side note: You'll want your own car to travel back and forth to the village of Placencia, where most of the restaurants and shops are. If you won't have a car, Singing Sands is still great if you will mostly be doing tours during the day. But if you want to be closer to most of the activity, you may want to find a place closer to Placencia village.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are still a 30-second walk to the beach, so you can't go wrong with any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

i stayed at the singing sands for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. all the photos reflect the beauty of the inn. if you want a.c and a tv then you should stay somewhere else. if you're looking for quite and relaxing, a place where the staff knows you by name, a place where you feel invited then this is the place for you. be mindful of the fact that the property foliage is very well maintained, but nonetheless it is nature. i came back several evenings to my casita to find a gecko, lizard and random bugs. remember, you're in placencia a lush town where the homes are set in nature. stay here to enjoy the beach, the hammocks, the staff, the other visitors and to enjoy your life away from the rush of wherever you're from!

Room Tip: all the casitas face the same direction and lead to the beach. i stayed at #6 which is closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On May 7th my nephew and his beautiful bride celebrated their day with dinner at Singing Sands. I arrived early to see that everything was in place. I was so impressed with their attention to detail. There was not one thing out of place. But aside from doing their own job, when the florist didn't bring much in the way of flowers, Hyon had her staff go out and pick flowers where ever they could. They then made at least a dozen gorgeous wall arrangements that would put any florist to shame. The food was amazing and the attention the staff paid to the guests was truly outstanding. I see they recently won an award for small hotel of the year. It is well deserved and earned. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007CaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Singing Sands Inn. It is truly a beautiful property and fabulous location. Our trip was marred by a car wreck on the first evening of our stay and I ended up spending most of of time dealing with this instead of relaxing and enjoying this wonderful and tranquil setting. The owners and staff are AMAZING!!! They went far above and beyond the call of duty to help me out dealing with the local authorities, insurance and many of the other hassles I had to deal with. Normally, I like to think I am low maintenance, but I am sure I pushed tthe boundaries and we were among their most challenging guests of all times. They did all they could to help and calm me down and they are fantastic people!

The resort is located right on the beach. Every morning the staff rakes the beach to make sure it's clean for the guests. The hammocks located on the beach is a great place to kick back, relax and be lulled to sleep by the breeze gently rocking you in the hammock. The pool area was another place you could sit back with a drink and forget about the daily stresses of life.

The rooms were clean and fine. With the beach and pool areas, I didn't need an extravagant room. My partner however, went through tv withdrawal durning the stay...but I found no tv a really nice change. He was able to watch shows on our iPad as the Internet was quite strong in our room.

If you are looking for a vacation to really sit back, relax and to get away fom it all, I would recommend the singing sands inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank violinteacher08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Singing Sands Inn in May 2013 for a week. Due to a work conflict for her we had to reschedule for three weeks after our initial dates. Despite being told that there probably would not be a problem re-booking our room for the original week because it was prime whale shark viewing season, there was a hefty cancellation fee - 50 % of the room cost for the week. So if you think you might have to change your reservation, buy traveler's insurance or change before the 30 day prior to stay deadline. Overall, our experience was relaxing and just what we were looking for in a get-away. The food and drinks were delicious and reasonably priced - service was outstanding. The snorkel trip which was advertised as including lunch and drinks was excellent; however, we were expecting adult beverages and not bottled water. One thing that was very annoying with screened rooms was that they burned something every morning very early which woke me up. It was also VERY windy in the evenings at this time of year. We had Villa #1 and enjoyed the privacy of its location - definitely the best room. I enjoyed snorkeling right off the end of the dock with lots of small reefs in the immediate area. I was disappointed that the water was not the aqua color and as clear as I have seen other places in the Caribbean. The hammock over the water provided many relaxing hours reading. We rented a car and ventured out into Placencia several times and enjoyed our trips into town. In Placencia, the "Above Grounds Coffee House" is a must for good coffee we enjoyed several breakfasts at "The Shack". Overall, I would say we enjoyed our trip but will probably try another country for our next trip.

Room Tip: Villa # 1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotorover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We truly enjoyed our recent five night stay at the Singing Sands. One thing that they really do well, and I think it's rare to find, is combining a casual atmosphere with a touch of sophistication and at a reasonable price. We loved so many things about it:
- the tranquil setting (especially beautiful in the morning when the water was as calm as a lake)
- the variety of perfect places to chill out (the pool, the pier, hammocks) which allowed for plenty of peace and privacy
- the food...it was always delicious and the portions were just right, we ate there every night
- the service...they were helpful and polite, personable yet respectful
- the relaxed feel and lack of typical hotel rules...no literature in the rooms, self-serve coffee and water at the bar, honor bar with self-serve beer on the pier
- they went out of their way to make our stay a special one...making up a beautiful table by the pool for our anniversary dinner, providing a fishing rod and bait so my husband could go fishing, making customized dishes on the last night when we grew tired of the dinner menu, doing a quick load of laundry so we had clean clothes for our trip home

We have to admit that even though we had the best room (#1) and often had major ocean breezes coming into our room, sleeping was not our favorite part. We missed our bed at home, but that's ok. And yes, room #1 is the best room. It has the most privacy, breeze, the deck is almost always shaded from the sun (a good thing), and the pool is a quick hop around the corner.

In case you are considering Robert's Grove (we were), they have the same owners and you can take a free shuttle over there. There's a more lively feel there and it was nice for spending some spa/lunch/pool time, but we were glad to be back "home" at the Singing Sands.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing