We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real hidden gem”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Singing Sands is a real hidden gem. Belize is a beautiful country and Singing Sands Inn showcases the best the country has to offer. The grounds are lush with tropical vegetation and little private niches to relax. The cabanas are very comfortable, nicely decorated and private. The delicious food in the restaurant is only surpassed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. They have a nice pier with a shaded area and a hammock and other seating, plus a ladder into and out of the sea. There are kayaks available, as well as bicycles. The beach is clean and the water clear. They also have a lovely pool with water that appears to be flowing out of flowering vines into the pool. I highly recommend this Inn, and will plan another vacation there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 3 are a little closer to the sea and may have just a little better breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    72
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
232
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

In short, We were not sure what to expect from Belize after booking a deal through living social, but were pleasantly surprised with the overall experience and would definitely recommend Belize, Placencia, and The Singing Sands Inn. Read on for more detail.

The Singing Sands Inn is right on the beach surrounded by tropical plants, a great dock, and a small pool. We spent some time at the Bone Fish Grill (the hotel restaurant/bar) that had great food and excellent service. The small wait staff were very helpful when it came to deciding what to eat, drink, and which sites we should see. Its also very easy to make your way down the road to other restaurants or the village of Placencia, either by taxi, shuttle, the free bikes available to hotel guests or the golf cart that is available to rent. (highly recommend Omar's Creole Kitchen in Placencia!)

Our concierge, Ever, was extremely helpful and very friendly, he was able to book exactly what we wanted to do each day, while other people we met from other hotels had a hard time booking all the trips they wanted to take. The Bone Fish bartender, Willy, was also excellent at making us feel welcome and made great tropical drinks. He had lots of info, stories, and jokes for all the guests. Overall had a great experience at the Singing Sands Inn & Bone Fish Grill.

Some things that might not be for everyone and we might do differently next time:

Placencia is by the water and is great for ocean activities, but it is about a 2 hour drive from the inland sites like the Mayan ruins and the different caves. With everything we wanted to do a ways away we spent a little too much time in a car, which was poor planning on our part! That said, the drive up the hummingbird highway is beautiful, don't let the distance discourage a day trip or two. (must see the ATM cave & Xunantunich ruins)

The Singing Sands Inn rooms are nice, but a little rustic w/ no AC and the shower would switch from too hot to too cold and never right. The bathroom has no door and is behind a half wall, so not much privacy.

The beach is very pretty, but not quite the white sand, clear water you might expect. There is a lot of sea grass, but there is a small area w/o the grass you can swim in. Plenty of sea life to be seen, crabs, fish etc. We were swimming in shallow water and a huge sting ray came out of the sand right next to us and we spent some nights having beers on the pier and got to see some large barracuda swimming around the dock!

If/when we go back, we would fly into Belize City and rent a car for the week and drive through the whole country instead of staying in one spot. Driving is so simple as there are not many roads and the entire country seems very safe w/ very friendly people. We would definitely stop by Singing Sands for dinner and drinks or a night's stay and say hello to our new friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NatNickBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I've just returned from a five night stay at the Singing Sands Inn. What great luck in choosing this place!

The accommodations were very nice. There are just six cabanas, making this destination very cozy, intimate, and wonderfully peaceful. We requested a cot, where I slept each night, and it was not uncomfortable at all. My travel partner had the bed, which appeared to be a queen size. There is no television, or radio. There is no air conditioning, though I believe you can request a portable unit if you really feel the need. The cabanas have large screened windows on at least two sides, with an open-sided thatched roof. Having the available floor fan blowing on me at night made the very warm, humid nights of early August very bearable.

The staff were attentive, and a pleasure to spend several days with. McElroy, the young man who works the 'front desk,' seems to appear out of nowhere when needed, attends to any need that a guest might have, and makes things happen. The wait/bar staff are very personable and charming. These guys work hard all day every day, but always have a smile and a "yes ma'am" at the ready.

Excursions like snorkeling, Maya ruins exploring, SCUBA, etc., are available through the inn, and are quite reasonably priced. If a certain activity is not available when you're wanting to do it, they will help to arrange your trip through another company. There are several bicycles for use, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment. A golf cart belonging to the inn can be rented to go exploring the area or for a visit to Placencia, which is just a few miles down the road.

The food was excellent. Chef prepares from a small menu each night, along with a special or two decided upon that day. Chef has a tasting plate in the evening for the guests to sample the special(s). It is lobster season, and the lobster dishes I had were of enormous proportions and just delicious. Breakfast, lunch, and snacks throughout the day were all excellent as well. My travel buddy asked for mushrooms in her breakfast scramble, and she was soon told that they didn't have any, but were 'getting some.' After a brief delay, her request appeared. The bartender, Arbando (Andy), make some really great drinks; just tell him what you have a taste for and he will invent it if it doesn't already exist.

The beachfront is small, but then again there are so few people there that it seemed very large, if that makes sense. It is private in that the sandy beach does not extend far on each side, and so there are not beachcombers wandering around like one experiences in many other places. There are cushioned lounge chairs with tables on the beach, and a few hammocks strung under the palm trees - a lovely place to star-gaze and dream yourself into another world. There is a pier (~200ft) with another bar (not functioning while we were there) and more chairs, hammock, etc. The inn/beach face east, and the sunrises and early mornings are the perfect chance to enjoy a quiet most of us can't find in our everyday lives. The grounds are well maintained, plants and wildlife are plentiful. One feels very tucked away and secluded at this property.

Overall, I can't express how happy I am with my stay at the Singing Sands Inn. If you are considering a stay in the Placencia area of Belize, you will not regret choosing this location.

Room Tip: I had Cabana #4, which is one of the five that are in a row along one side of the property. It was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing, and I think I am understating it a bit. The whole staff from start to finish where incredible down to the smallest detail. Fall out of bed and end up on the beach and only s few more feet to the carribean sea. I would be remiss if I did not mention the all the staff, Macelroy will take care of everything. The restaraunt team, willy, Andy, Edwin and Eduardo are the best.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My quick synopsis:
-Very good food for a reasonable price (no, it's not included in the reservation fee)
-Amazing excursions available. We tried snorkeling and the Mayan ruin/cave tour. Both were fantastic, with the cave tour exceptionally exhilarating, if a bit physically demanding
-Excellent service. The staff was friendly and made an effort to get to know us.
-Beautiful weather. We visited in early July and every day felt perfect. If only we got that kind of weather back home!
-Overall: Loved it. Would recommend it to anyone. Perfect for honeymoons and romantic getaways.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Two years ago we stayed at the Placencia Hotel and during a morning bicycle ride we discovered the Singing Sands Inn. We enjoyed a terrific breakfast at the Bonefish Grill. We were later introduced to the owner after expressing our fondness of the resort. She showed us around the resort and opened the beach front cabana for our viewing. We really liked the ambience and pledged to return for a future vacation.

We recently just accomplished that goal and enjoyed a full week living out of Cabana number 1. The Singing Sand Inn is well maintained just like the photographs. The service and quality to detail warrants recognition. If your looking for all the convenience of home this will not be the place for you. There are no TV's, telephones, air conditioners, microwaves, stoves, etc. The rooms just have the basics and if you need a private bathroom them maybe the Placencia Hotel or the like will be better suited for you.

All in all we enjoyed a great week here and savored the beauty of the entire establishment. You can get more details form other reviews. There are quite a few rocks off the end of the pier with several fish so if you have not been to the reef for some of the best snorkeling/diving in the world, this would be a good place to get some experience before venturing to some of the best snorkeling the Belize reef has to offer.

The service is outstanding for a small establishment in Belize. They arranged a taxi to and from the airport which was on time and trouble free. Free use of bicycles. I asked and was provided snorkeling gear to explore their offering at the end of the pier. The grounds are continually maintained. The hammocks are well placed and great places to nap and/or relax.

In summary, it was an adventure and everything as advertised. We are more fond of the luxuries of life and will more than likely be returning for a 3-Pete to Xanadu Island Resort in San Pedro Ambergris Caye the next time we are looking for a tropical beach front resort with beautiful tropical landscaping with all the amenities. This is a personal opinion so read several reviews prior to making your decision. Singing Sands has been a great experience and we will surely stop by during our next stop in Placencia to have a drink, a meal , walk the grounds, say hello to the staff and reminisce our past experiences.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roneiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

When you enter the Singing Sands Inn, you see several signs where they promote their motto of "Casual Elegance." That phrase really is a good way to describe the atmosphere at the Singing Sands. The cabins are not luxurious - for that you can pay the extra $150 per night to stay at Chabil Mar - but they are classy. The small pool is beautifully designed with a waterfall-like fountain to create the atmosphere of tranquility, and the beach is kept in good condition despite the inevitable seagrass. The tiling in the bathroom sink and shower is a nice touch, and the bed is comfortable. We only stayed for a night this time, but we'll be back for another visit!
On a side note: You'll want your own car to travel back and forth to the village of Placencia, where most of the restaurants and shops are. If you won't have a car, Singing Sands is still great if you will mostly be doing tours during the day. But if you want to be closer to most of the activity, you may want to find a place closer to Placencia village.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are still a 30-second walk to the beach, so you can't go wrong with any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing