We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quite Resort, Excellent Staff”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Lovely Quite Resort, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We loved our stay at Singing Sands. We visited in the off season (November) and it was lovely, despite mosquitoes. The location is somewhat remote (which provides a nice escape), so I would recommend renting a car. The staff of Singing Sands as well as the Bonefish, are so genuinely friendly, that we left feeling like they were part of our extended family!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabana, and they did not have AC, but it cooled off enough at night enough, that it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahrcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    73
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
234
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lskeland
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Heads up Americans if you are thinking of vacation in Belize, save your time & $ do yourself a favor go to the FL keys . Same plants same water/reefs same animals same food same fishing, & you can drink the water in FL. It cost more in Belize .taxi to go 6 miles $20+ US dollars spa treatments if u can find a good clean place is $150us per person , Doritos a small bag $ 7 ect... The locals try to get ur $ for plastic crap gifts with sad stories to tell . If you leave your resort the beaches are stacked with liter that washes up, syringe ,glass bottles ect...
As for singing sands the staff is amazing they go above and beyond for you. The owners not so much. We stayed for a week on our honeymoon during the slow season ate breakfast lunch & dinner / drinks bought shirts from their gift shop used their tour guides ate at their sister resort (we spent good $) not 1 time did they wave hello or stop by the table to talk , heck even chillies restruant manager will check on you. If you want the hot water to work In the shower you must turn on the sink
1st and leave it on hot during the shower. The mosquito net above the beds are just for looks do not open up they are dusty dirty full of holes and stink of mold. Save $ & comforts Americans go to the keys!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtsport1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I loved this place. Only had 8 rooms so it was never crowded. It felt like we had our own little piece of paradise! The staff was great and the food was amazing. I was a little worried about there not being any air conditioning but it was sooo cool at night. its about 15 minutes from Placencia which we liked. They arrange rental car, excursions, had a taxi waiting for us at the airport. We purchased the optional meal plan and it was a great value. We would love to visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zimroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This review is a bit over due, but I recently traveled to Los Cabo and was reminded of how amazing this vacation was! Having traveled to several countries there is something about Belize that stands out, and in particular the hospitability! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Everyone was extremely personable and it made the trip unforgettable! The cabanas were simple and elegant, the restaurant was delicious, and all of the adventures you could hope for were planned right from there. It truly was a worry-free vacation. Simply let a staff member know what trips you are interested in and they handle the rest, even getting you from your room or the beach when transportation was ready to pick you up. The staff member, including the owner took the time to learn your name and truly wanted to ensure you were enjoying yourself. The resort is literally on the ocean and kayaking and snorkeling gear are at your disposal! I could go on and on, but the point is this was the best vacation I’ve ever had and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abarman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel property really is beautiful and peaceful. I had a hard time figuring out how to rate this hotel, as it is a wonderful property, but I just don't think it is a place that I would return to. However, it really depends on what you are looking for. This hotel is in an amazing location and is quiet and soooo relaxing. I usually prefer to stay outside of town in quiet locations, but I felt a little trapped at this hotel. I was traveling alone and felt like you really had to give in to the "packaged vacation" mentality to enjoy it here, which I don't really like. They could arrange taxis, tours, anything you want, but it really had to go through the hotel at a high price. I ended up just taking the bus into town which was cheap and pretty fun. My two other complaints are that I got about 50 sand fly bites on each leg while there (wear your deet at night) and the original room I had (room with A/C, not cabana) was very dark and depressing. I was lucky to be switched to one of the cabanas. I would rate this hotel much lower if I had to stay in the A/C rooms. Anyway, this really is a beautiful place and would be ideal if you are willing to go through the hotel for arranging everything. If you are more of an independent traveler, you may want to stay closer to town in Placencia, given the high price of the taxis.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at Singing Sands for a week in August. This was the perfect spot for me, considering I was traveling alone for the first time. My package took care of everything for me - food, excursions, lodging, and total relaxation on the beach and by the pool! The entire staff was amazingly friendly and helpful throughout my entire stay. I felt like once I arrived, they took care of everything for me. All I had to do was sit back in one of the hammocks and relax! The food was delicious, my cabana was simple yet comfortable, and the 3 excursions I went on (Mayan Ruins tour, snorkeling at Silk Caye, and Monkey River tour), were adventures of a lifetime. I highly recommend this small, peaceful resort for anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sciteacher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We ate at Singing Sands 3 times in our recent visit to Placencia. The restaurant, Bonefish, I believe, is World Class. Think "Island Fresh Cuisine" with an Asian Attitude. A beautiful, intimate room, with the best staff on the Island. If you happen to meet Michael, one of the owners, see if you can talk him out of an after dinner shot of his (soon to be) famous Sandhill Coffee Liquor.

Dawn and Allen Willey

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
3.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#15 of 19 in Placencia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing