We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, small scale and excellent restaurant”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Hendrik-Ido-Ambacht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice, small scale and excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We staid here for a few days april 2014, small scale place 10 or so individual cabanas just a few steps away from restaurant and swimmingpool. Very comfortable, the cabanas have a no glass but musquito net windows, which works really well because there is always a cool sea breese cooling your room. Perfectly maintained grounds with flowers and trees. The food in the restaurant is excellent, with some korean influences from the owners. Close to palencia village with dive school, and excursions to for example jaguar preserve. Very friendly and helpfull staff

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maarten d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    73
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
234
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a long visit to Belize. By the time we made our way to Placencia we were tired and really ready to relax. This place was perfect. We stayed in an ocean view cabana, and it was amazing. The room was beautiful, and the hotel grounds are so well kept. The best part about the place was the food! There was an Italian / Asian influence in the kitchen and the food was by far the best we had in all of Belize. We tried other places in Placencia, and kept coming back for more at the Singing Sands. Also, the mixed drinks were fantastic. We were there for a night of a mixology competition between the bartenders at the singing sands and another resort. Every drink was better than the last. Plus, having the pool was very nice. I would absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantsday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Singing Sands is an idyllic beach resort, truly enjoyed our time in Maya Beach. 7 day package was a perfect getaway for two winter weary Canadians. Enjoyed alternating days relaxing on the beautiful grounds in the beach hammocks with great day trips. Enjoyed the reef at the Silk Cayes, stopping on the way back to swim with the giant sea turtles, nurse sharks and stingrays . Swimming the Blue Creek Cave another great experience along with visiting the ruins at Nim Li Punit. Kudos to the chef and staff at the Bonefish Grille, enjoyed every meal...presentation and quality were excellent as was the service. Looked forward to our daily chats with Maya and Lloyd. Every effort was made to make our stay truly comfortable and memorable. Beautiful sunrises, lovely ocean breezes, private and exotic surroundings can't say enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at the Singing Sands Inn following a one week sea kayak trip down the barrier reef. It was a wonderful and relaxing place to stay and rest up prior to returning home. The cabana's were well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The best part was the fact that this is a small, intimate resort where the customer doesn't feel like just one more guest among hundreds! In just a few days we came to know the staff well and they were very helpful in every way. Will definately stay again!

Room Tip: Try booking a cabana closer to the shore to take advantage of the wonderful on shore breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The strongest quality of this place is definitely the grounds. The rustic cabanas are as beautiful as the pictures and the walkways around the restaurant and between the rooms are surrounded by lush jungle gardens. As mentioned in other reviews, the beach is not great to swim off of. Because Belize enjoys a pretty constant wind off the coast (which keeps your room from getting too hot and sticky) it also makes waves and turns up the sand off shore. In other words, although there are free snorkel masks and kayaks for use, the water conditions did not allow us to use them. The upside is the salt-water pool is great! One of the best and worse things about this place is the location. It is quiet and isolated. If you plan on walking around town or going out to eat this is not the place for you, as a cab ride into town will run 20-30US. If all you want to do is sit in a hammock drinking Pina Coladas or reading a book on the beach then this place will be perfect. There is a "supermarket" within walking distance but don't count on it for anything more than juice, bread, and shampoo...fresh produce was lacking. Bikes are available to borrow and there is a nice open air bar about 3 miles down the street on the left. Up the street (1/4 mile) is a restaurant called Mangos. Dishes run about 20bz and they have a nice porch and volleyball court, although staff is not overtly friendly. The Bone Fish Grill at the hotel does a pretty good job for breakfast, but dinner entrees weren't worth the price. Probably would have been better if they stuck to more traditional dishes, but most meals were a confused combination of American Bistro style and Asian fusion. The hotel does offer tours organized through their sister hotel "Robert's Grove". This was great. Keep in mind that you have to set this up the day before and have to have at least 4 people total in order for a tour to go out. Although there are always things that can be improved upon, All in all, a nice and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went to the Singing Sands Inn with my 10 year old son and had a great time. The room was a bit rustic but very cool. The food was very good. My son couldn't get enough Fry Jacks for breakfast. The beach and pier overlooking the ocean were sublime. It is very private and serene. There are lots of activities in and around placencia. We kayaked and snorkeled the Caye directly across the Inn. We went ziplinging and rappelled down a 100 foot waterfall. We drove to Punta Gorda visited Mayan Ruins, jumped of the Rio Blanca waterfall and swam through the Blue Creek Cave. The staff, especially Jose, made us feel welcome and at home. I would go back in a heartbeat. The price was right and the town about a 15 minute drive into Placencia is very beautiful. Go!!

Room Tip: I would make sure to get one of the bungalows as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My second time staying at Singing Sands Inn and just as awesome as the 1st. Love that it's away form the main city yet close to diving, snorkeling, and night life. Again, spent a couple nights sleeping on hammocks (by choice) not 10 feet from the water. Please is kept clean and feels like a paradise, litereally!

Gotta give a big High-Five to several of the staff (Eber, Macaleroy, Lawrence, and Anselmo) you guys are awesome. If you go make sure to have Lawrence or Anselmo make you a "pain killer." Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AACGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
3.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#15 of 19 in Placencia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing