We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn and exceptional value”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our stay at Singing Sands was everything we hoped it would be and more!
After spending several days in Placencia Village, we had made reservations to move up the beach a bit for a little more peace and quiet. Initially varying between excited and nervous about spending over a week in Maya Beach (8+miles from Placencia Village), as soon as we checked in we knew we were correct in choosing it. What a beautiful property! We were shown to our cabana, but once the proprietor realized it was our honeymoon, she immediately led us to a different cabana, #1, which is off on its own, away from all the others. What a nice and thoughtful thing to do! (We were later informed that #1 is the most requested, hardly ever vacant one, and for good reason.) It was like we were on our own beach: private deck, our own hammock, and nothing between us and the Caribbean Sea but sand and palm trees!
The room was beautiful, just like you see on their website. It had screen windows all around, was romantic, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Over the eight nights there, we enjoyed an incredible off-shore breeze that kept the cabana cool (so much so we never minded the absence of AC). Housekeeping was efficient. We had zero concerns with theft. The only thing that was challenging was keeping the water in the shower at a constant temperature, it kept fluctuating from scalding to cool, no matter how delicately we adjusted the knobs. Nonetheless, we decided this was a minor inconvenience in Central America.
The entire staff was accommodating and extremely friendly, remembering and using our names, and providing us with anything we asked. The bartenders made excellent drinks, and easily ran tabs for us throughout the day which were signed to the room; none of them had extra items or phantom charges added to them. The restaurant had excellent choices, but were slightly limited in scope, working from a combination of local and asian influences. We chose to dine there regularly, with some ventures out to some of the local spots as well.
Singing Sands also has an association with a number of excursions and tours which they booked for us (and also simply charged to the room). It was very simple, taking just a conversation with the concierge to arrange everything. And each time transportation was arranged from the inn itself without any other charges. Having done some research into other companies, their prices were very competitive. The tours themselves were excellent in all regards.
We visited Belize just after the beginning of the off (rainy) season. We enjoyed every moment we spent at Singing Sands. For the cost, we couldn't have been taken care of any better. Every moment there we, we felt like we should have been paying twice as much. What a beautiful and romantic place to stay. We definitely know we will be back to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: Cabana #1 is definitely the best choice as it's off on its own. #2 is on the beach side end of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nclarsengso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 10 nights here on honeymoon and had a terrific time. Maya beach is a few miles away from Placencia in a quieter, more relaxed part of the peninsula. Taxi into town was easily organised and I think you have the best of both worlds staying here. It's easy to visit the other resorts for food, drink or swim and we discovered a couple of decent restaurants a few hundred yards north from singing sands and a supermarket nearby too, but it would have been nice to be made aware of what was nearby and available from the staff when we arrived. The rooms were lovely and the resort well designed and very romantic. The food is fantastic and good quality mix of Korean and Belize foods and the breakfast was fab. It's an easy place to relax and enjoy the beach, hammock or pool with a beer or dirty banana in hand.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Singing Sands Inn was a perfect fit for our crew - awesome staff, delicious restaurant, tranquil grounds, and perfectly lovely and suitable bungalows.

The staff was simply the best. They were great for tips on tours and local nightlife, and everyone from the hotel owner to the restaurant waitstaff was extremely welcoming and accommodating. We ventured out nearly every night of our 5 night stay in Placencia and we all agreed that the hotel restaurant was by far the most delicious. Their breakfast, lunch and dinner menus were fantastic. The grounds were perfectly kept, quiet, and beautiful. The only complaint we could possibly make were of the sand gnats. You really couldn't walk through the sand on the grounds without getting bitten several times. The bungalows are very reasonably priced and spacious enough for three traveling friends to relax and move around with ease.

When we make it back to Placencia we will definitely be staying at SSI again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time at Singing Sands Inn. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensured our time there was great. The accommodations were perfect for relaxing and getting away from the craziness of life. Whether we were hanging out by the pool or enjoying the view of the ocean from the hammocks, it was perfect!
The restaurant (Bonefish Grille) on site was fabulous with a great variety of menu choices. The dishes that we selected were wonderful.
The inn is located in a great place so that we were able to drive to a variety of local attractions and still have time to come back and enjoy doing nothing by the beach!
I highly recommend the SSI to anyone looking to get away and unwind and enjoy the best of what Belize has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

my husband and I stayed for 5 nights mid March,. We were greeted by Jose who was amazing! What an awesome guy! We loved our cabana as it was steps from the beach. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner. Only complaint was they offered nothing complimentary, not even a cup of coffee. Most places at least have complimentary coffee and fruit. The owners of the resort were on the premises but never came by to say hello or ask if we were enjoying our stay. I know this seems like a little thing but to go a little out of your way to say hello to your guest is not asking to much.Place is beautifully landscaped and very relaxing. The bartenders and wait staff were very friendly and went out of there way to make sure you were having an enjoyable experience. I would definitely come back as we LOVE Belize!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We staid here for a few days april 2014, small scale place 10 or so individual cabanas just a few steps away from restaurant and swimmingpool. Very comfortable, the cabanas have a no glass but musquito net windows, which works really well because there is always a cool sea breese cooling your room. Perfectly maintained grounds with flowers and trees. The food in the restaurant is excellent, with some korean influences from the owners. Close to palencia village with dive school, and excursions to for example jaguar preserve. Very friendly and helpfull staff

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maarten d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a long visit to Belize. By the time we made our way to Placencia we were tired and really ready to relax. This place was perfect. We stayed in an ocean view cabana, and it was amazing. The room was beautiful, and the hotel grounds are so well kept. The best part about the place was the food! There was an Italian / Asian influence in the kitchen and the food was by far the best we had in all of Belize. We tried other places in Placencia, and kept coming back for more at the Singing Sands. Also, the mixed drinks were fantastic. We were there for a night of a mixology competition between the bartenders at the singing sands and another resort. Every drink was better than the last. Plus, having the pool was very nice. I would absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantsday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#15 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#11 of 20 in Placencia
313 reviews
6.3 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 20 in Placencia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing