We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect, relaxing treat to ourselves!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“A perfect, relaxing treat to ourselves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We just loved our stay at the Singing Sands. The Owners and Staff were wonderful, fun and really looked after us. Our private cabana, though simply decorated, felt quite luxurious with beautiful local hardwood floors and furniture. All of the meals we had at the restaurant were delicious!
Although the weather wasn't ideal, we did get to spend some time on the private beach which is quite nice.
It was the ideal spot for us to treat ourselves to a relaxing getaway and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robgoepfrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    69
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
231
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

The owner went out of her way to make us comfortable. We showed up and asked for a room and ended up staying 5 nights. The staff was super!! One of the waiters even grabbed a flashlight to help us scout out an aloe plant to alleviate a super bad sunburn. Very charming and intimate resort. Very quiet. If you are looking for relaxation then this is the place for you. Hammocks under the trees, loungers line the beach, open air restaurant, freshwater pool. It was lovely!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaudd480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We enjoy the smaller and quieter out of the way spots and that is what we were looking for when we decided to visit Belize. Singing Sands was the perfect choice. With only 6 cabanas you become part of the Singing Sands family everyone knows each other and you share your days travels with each other and enjoy their company.
The rooms are not large, but comfortable with everything that you need. The bathroom had a beautiful painted sink and tiled shower area, but if you are shy there isn't a door that seperates the bathroom from the sleeping area just a half wall. For those who need televison this isn't the place for you since there are none. Without AC it can get warm, but the ceiling fan and the sea breezes help and after all the idea is to get away to someplace warm.The gardens,pool and beach area are beautiful. They are just what you want for a tropical escape.
The restaurant over looks the beach and is half under a roof and half with the stars above and there are no words for the wonderful food. Maybe imaginative would be the right word. Every meal there would be a couple of specials and you found yourself just waiting until they were written on the chalk board so you could see what they had come up with.
Maya and everyone was so helpful making our trip special they arranged the Belize internal flights and simply asked what it was we wanted to do while we were visiting. We wanted to snorkle with the Whale Sharks (we were lucky and saw one), see Howler Monkeys, see a Mayan ruins and get a taste of the country. She made suggestions and then made all the plans and all we had to do was show up. In every case the Guides were very knowledgable and not only shared their country with us but also their lives and families. It was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

The Singing Sands Inn is set on a small plot on the beach, shaded by lush greenery and mature palm trees. The cabanas are simply but tastefully furnished and have a private veranda each. There are several large, comfortable hammocks scattered around the garden to while away the day, and the pier leads to a deck overlooking the ocean, with comfortable chairs and another hammock, where you can enjoy a drink in the evening. Not many people seem to use the beach for swimming but prefer the pretty pool instead.
The beautiful little restaurant is perfect for intimate, romantic candle light dinners and serves excellent food. The bar is well stocked and the staff is attentive and friendly. Prices for food and drink are not cheap, but I’ve found that to be true for most places in Placencia. On Tuesdays the restaurant is closed but you can get free transfer to good eating places nearby.
The Singing Sands is about a 20min ride by taxi from Placencia, which admittedly can get a little expensive, if you want to go out every night. But let’s face it – Placencia has not much to offer except for the diving, and for that you get daily transfers to the dive shops and back. You can also hire bikes at the resort to explore the surrounding area, and the hotel offers trips to places of interest like the Monkey River.
The owners of the Singing Sands Inn have completely refurbished this place and have succeeded in transforming it into the peaceful, relaxing, unpretentious and beautiful little resort it is now. It is their ambition to make each and every one of their guests feel welcome and special, and rest assured that you will feel very well looked after here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jems122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We showed up with no reservations (which I dont recommend) and they were very accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, but no AC. We also got a few bug bites, not really sure what they were. No big deal, expect that on the beach. The restaurant was wonderful. Pizza was very good too. A little expensive, but good. The property was maintained beautifully,and the services were great. We did a fishing trip with Max, who was the best guide and worked really hard for us to catch bonefish. He took us to a beautiful island and served a fabulous lunch. We also rented the golf cart from the singing sands, which was fun. Overall a great experience, and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niknat7898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

I spent a wonderful week in March 2010 at this resort on the Maya Beach peninsula with my wife, two teenage daughters and some friends, who have two teenagers as well. The cabanas are small but roomy and are very comfortable -- my wife and I had good sized double bed with mosquito netting, and the cabana had a beautifully tiled shower and a large sink. There is plenty of storage area in the cabanas for luggage, toiletries and personal effects. Everything is clean and well-maintained in the cabanas and on the grounds of the resort. We were in the cabana closest to the beach, so the sound of the ocean made sleeping quite peaceful. The beach is mere yards away from all of the cabanas, as is the gorgeous pool and the delightful bar/restaurant. Especially enjoyable in the late afternoon and evening is the long pier with a thatch roofed bar and seating area at the end. The resort's location on Maya Beach is excellent for sunning, swimming and a variety of watersports - the ocean was warm and the water crystal clear. This resort has a very "natural" beach areas that is shallow quite a way out, with plenty of sea grass and coral formations easily accessible. Finding a place to sun or rest (hammocks, lounge chairs, etc.) was never an issue. The resort also offered easy access to the mangrove lined lagoon that runs between the peninsula and the mainland, which can be enjoyed best from one of the pedal boats rented out by the resort! The service was simply outstanding -- every activity was easily and quickly arranged, from pedal boats to sea kayaks to snorkeling and diving and tours to the mainland to enjoy the Mayan ruins, the beautiful national forests and preserves, etc. The food here was uniformly excellent and plentiful - a very interesting mix of local and Asian with enough traditional tourist fare to satisfy the teenagers. The food, like the cabanas, was very reasonably priced. The resort's owners and employees were friendly and helpful -- being a small resort, everyone quickly got to know each other very quickly and the bar was quite lively in the early evenings. I have stayed at larger and more expensive resorts throughout the Caribbean but I can honestly say I enjoyed staying here more! It has all of the advantages of those other resorts but you don't have to walk a long way to fight the crowds at the pool, beach or restaurants. If you are looking for a truly simple but relaxing tropical spot, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaRunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at Singing Sands for a week over spring break with our two teenage children. What an incredible time! First, all of the details for inland flights were handled by the hotel staff, as were plans for an excursion to the Mayan ruins at Xunantunich (sp?). When we arrived, we were greeted by Maya and shown our cabanas, which were beautiful - wonderfully decorated and perfectly blending with nature. We had the opportunity to go on a sea kayak, snorkel, tour around the peninsula and were given wonderful tips on places to go by various members of the staff. The food was absolutely superb - some of the best I have had and a wonderful mixture of island and asian cuisine. The restaurant staff also did a great job mixing drinks - thanks Franklin! All in all, we could not have had a more enjoyable vacation in a more beautiful area. Even the other guests were fun and interesting! Thanks to the owners and the staff for the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing