We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Cozy Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harry's Cozy Cabanas
Valparaiso
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Beautiful wooden cabanas, great hammocks, very hospitable owners and just a great location for relaxation. The best place to stay in Placencia! I enjoyed the nicely build, very cozy and clean cabana. I prefer fans over aircons and hammocks and books over tv's, so to me Harry's place was paradise!
Can recommend everybody this place...would like to go back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: The cabana behind the wisdom tree has a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Harry's is a place like no other - escape the rigours of real life and kick back either alone or in the company of Harry and his guests. The conversation will flow along with the Blikin, and your waiting cabana is spotless and charming.

A very clever idea to have plastic water bowls at the bottom of the stairs so you don't walk sand ino your room.

Can't wait to be back,

Nick Symons
LONDON 8th April 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicksymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

My husband and I stayed three nites at Harry's and just loved it. First, the location is the best spot on the water. The water is calm and the sea life plentiful. While we were there we saw a five foot stingray, barracuta and beautiful star fish. Harry's cababna are really nice and very clean. They are right on the beach just a few feet from the water. The shower was hot and water pressure was awesome. There is also a wonderful restaurant with a great staff that we ate at frequently just 100 yards away called Paradise. Harry was a delightful host and we fully enjoyed our conversations each day. We were also happy to meet Kay who was instrumental in connecting us with Harry. If your looking for a great place to stay HARRY'S IS IT!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Harry's place is 3 small cabins and a larger one with kitchenette. All simply furnished and close to the water. Paradise Hotel and Yoli's bars are a very short walk away along the beach. Back street will take you quickly to town center near the soccer field, Wallen's grocery. Quiet, rustic, peaceful. Harry can usually be found each morning cleaning up the outside & stopped and brought me a cup a coffee several times. He has a wealth of local information and history, an old local pirate gone inn-keeper you might say. Yoli's down the beach has a bar over the water....what more can I say?? Loved it.

If you want more action go up the Barefoot bar/Sea Spray way, Harrys is for people who want to get away and relax, with the party always nearby though. Good value! Good people!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogue River
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

The cabanas are rustic much like a cabin. The location is away from the busy part of the "village" but close enough to walk to. The bar/restaurant Yoli's is a short distance and is owned by Harry's neice wich adds to the family atmosphere of that part of the village. Harry was very responsive to any of our needs and is quite a character! It was nice to have a refrgerator and coffee maker in the room. If turn down service is what you are after this is not the place for you. But, if you like a rustic, peaceful and private cabana this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbertsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

While in a great location, on a beautiful beach in a quiet part of Placentia, Harry's Cozy Cabanas are rather like camping in a hut.
The rustic cabanas are solid built wood structures, elevated to about 10' and screened with old wire screens with many holes and gaps--certainly not effective at keeping mosquitos out. The small hut had an old double and one single bed with old scratchy bedding (we gathered the best of both beds to put on the double). There is a small refrigerator, ceiling fan, a table with a few random kitchen items and a small nitestand. There is no dresser or closet or even hooks on which to hang or store clothes! So all our belongings were stacked on the single bed. We could drag the chairs in from the badly screened porch if we wanted to sit at the table. And the place was not altogether very clean.
The windows do not close and one night during heavy rain, we awoke to rain hitting us while sleeping. We had to cover ourselves and our clothes stored on the single bed with rain ponchos until the storm ended.
The bathroom was OK and the shower had water pressure, but you could see light down the drain and again there is no place to set your things.
When we did get clean towels, they were very badly worn and torn--at home I would have thrown them in the rag bag.
Harry himself is a colorful, local character, but he would do well to make himself available to his tenants during black-outs, storms, and even just to get toilet paper or towels. If we happened to see him walking by, on his way down the beach to his corner where some locals hangout, we could catch him but otherwise he was usually nowhere to be found.
This place could be very cute if it were kept up, had new screens, a closet and some more functional furniture was added (dresser & chairs)
We did like Placentia; found some good places to eat and the people were wonderful, but would not go back to Harry's as it is.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lucisami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harbaks, Manager at Harry's Cozy Cabanas, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
Thank you for your review of Harry's last year.
I was just checking out TripAdvisor and found it.
You will be glad to know that there is a new, and more effective, cleaning person and all new linens at Harry's. (Although I do think he had the new linens there on your visit - maybe he made a mistake with the old ones.)
Harry spent last summer getting everything, screens etc. repaired, also.
Most folks really enjoyed their stays.
Sorry yours was less than you expected.
Kay and Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

Spent five days at Harry's in Feb. 08 with my husband, daughter and son in law. We rented one cabana and the "house" which is a larger cabana with a full kitchen. The cabanas are located at the south end of the beach about eight minutes walk from town -off the beaten track and quiet - only a few feet from the sea. The cabanas are very basic so don't expect fancy amenities but the simplicity is part of the charm of this place. The other part is Harry himself, walking the beach in the early AM, coffee cup in hand. Yollies restaurant where an excellent breakfast can be had from Merlene is only a minute away right on the water. Harry' is a great place !! Mary Jean Ross

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank orangeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
6.7 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Cozy Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Cozy Cabanas

Property: Harry's Cozy Cabanas
Address: Sunset Pointe, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry's Cozy Cabanas was built with the desire to share one man's home,its quaintness,beauty and charm with all those who visit Placencia Village,while preserving the old fishing village feel with its now modern amenities. In fact,it is one of the few areas in the village where you still can get that feeling of old Placencia. Our 4 cabanas "The Captains Quarters", "Maindeck", "Quarterdeck" and "Forecastle" are built from Belizean hardwood and are on stilts,giving them that authentic old Belize cabin feeling. Captains Quarters and Main Deck have a full kitchens, dining area and futon, comfortably sleeping three people. While Quarter Deck and Forecastle are equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and have a double and single bed comfortably sleeping three. The cabanas are all beach front nestled in a quite garden setting on the southern harbor beach side of Placencia Village. Depending on the time of year you visit, you can help yourself to any of the fruits from the many fruit baring tress around the property, mangoes,guavas,coco plums,just to name a few. You can sit on your veranda and enjoy the view of the beautiful Caribbean Sea, settle in a hammock or chase lounge on the beach and enjoy a good book or nap, snorkel and swim at your leisure. We are walking distance from the center of the village where you can find grocery stores, restaurants, gift shops, coffee shops, and if you are arriving by car we have convenient parking to the back of all our cabanas. We can't wait to share the tranquility and beauty of Harry's home with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harry`s Cozy Cabanas Hotel Placencia
Harry's Cozy Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing