We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! The BEST accomodations in Placencia!”
Review of A Belizean Nirvana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Belizean Nirvana
Ranked #1 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Last week, I took my wife to Placencia for her 60th birthday, and used Tripadvisor to find the highest rated accomodations - Belizean Nirvana. The name certainly applies! Far and away the most delightful, comfortable, and gracious accomodations we have stayed in for many years.

Barbara and Evan are simply the most cordial and hospitable hosts one can imagine. Evan came to the small airport to retrieve us when we arrived, as well as took us to the airport when we (sadly) had to leave a week later.

We stayed in the Namaste suite, which was simply fabulous! A full gourmet kitchen, huge master bedroom and bathroom (with jacuzzi), and wonderful second story deck overlooking the ocean a few feet away. We hooked up the thoughtfully provided hammocks on the deck and just lazed away several blissful hours, enjoying the breezes and the sounds of the ocean waves.

Our hosts, Barbara and Evan, in addition to creating a 5 star B&B, were the most inviting, friendly, knowledgable, and delightful people we met in Placencia. And even when EVERYIONE in Placencia was friendly, Barbara and Evan stood out! We were so pampered and well taken care of, that we are now spoiled and know that any other accomodations will never meet the level of hospitality we found at Belizean Nirvana.

Room Tip: Namaste suite is the largest and offers the most room, as well as full gourmet kitchen, two TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

H&E we are so happy that you choose Nirvana to celebrate E's birthday. You gave us such great feedback on how to improve things even more for our other guests. I hope that the ice and snow is now truly gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel richly deserves its rave reviews. Evan and Barbara are most gracious hosts and have put time and attention into creating the perfect place to relax. The hotel is right on the beach and we enjoyed falling asleep every night to the sound of the surf. It is great to be in Placencia proper, rather than outside of town, and be able to walk to a restaurant or bar. Bicycles and kayaks are provided, as well as friendly advice in where to go (and whom to book tours with). We would love to go back some time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Nirvana and hope that you will come back to visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Since this hotel was booked by our travel agent we had no idea what to expect. Just knew it was on the beach. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and were greeted by the hotel manager who had a cart for our luggage and guided us down the sidewalk to the hotel. We then met with one of the owners, Evan, who invited us into his office to chat and welcomed us to his hotel. Very down to earth guy and was extremely helpful with suggestions for dinner, activities, etc.. When we entered the room we were very impressed. Upscale, very clean and new with all the bells and whistles. The second floor balcony was outstanding and was literally on their private beach. Hammock and all. They thought of everything and had remotes for the A/C, ceiling fan, etc… Beautiful wood floors and a very nice kitchenette. In the morning they served a great continental breakfast on the roof patio overlooking the water. I was a bit concerned at first with the word "continental" since many hotels offer a limited selection but this was outstanding. Awesome coffee, OJ, baked goods, hard boiled eggs, etc…
Evan's wife was also very nice and down to earth, helped us set up a snorkeling trip with their friend Steve which was awesome! Very nice guy and makes a tasty shrimp pasta dish for lunch on the snorkeling trip. I can go on but I've already typed too much. The Belizean Nirvana, the owners and there staff are top notch and I highly recommend them. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the great feedback you gave us on the comment cards. We will definitely add those items

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My fiancé and I decided to travel to Placencia for the very first time and opted to stay at the Nirvana because of their wonderful reviews.

I must say that our two day stay was the most pleasurable experience we have ever had. Everything about our stay at the Nirvana said 5 star from the very moment we arrived. The owners, Evan and Barbara Hall are the most pleasant individuals we have ever met. The room, amenities, complimentary breakfast, pleasant conversations with the owners/staff and the service was exceptional. We especially loved the location of the Nirvana as it was set directly in the heart of Placencia so everything from food to the night life was literally at our fingertips.

The Nirvana's rooftop also has one of the most breathtaking views of Placencia. Of special mention is our time spent swaying in the hammock whilst we listened to the crashing sounds of the waves. In fact, my fiancé would totally agree that we both could not resist the sea breeze which ultimately had us both falling into a sound sleep after just a few minutes.

This trip was indeed one of our best vacation ever and the memories of our time at the Nirvana will linger on in our hearts forever. We definitely plan on visiting again.

Allan and Phyllis

Room Tip: We got the hibiscus and it was perfect as its just a few steps away from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you Phyllis and Alan. It was our pleasure to host you both, and look forward to your visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Barb and Evan have gone to great efforts to provide a perfect facility to enjoy a perfect vacation spot. Our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and we got excellent advice on what to do and where to eat while in Placencia. The rooms all have ocean views and the sound of the waves at night was very soothing. The hammock on the deck was great for napping and the lounge chairs on the beach were a great place for getting some sun and catching up on reading. The location is great - very close to town all those excellent local restaurants. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your the kind review, hopefully one day we will find our way up your way to check you out. Also thanks for the suggestions on how we can continue to make things better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Everything about our stay at Belizean Nirvana was wonderful. We stayed in the Namaste suite for a week in January for our Baby Moon and enjoyed all the extras such as the large master bath with jetted tub, gourmet kitchen, and large patio with hammocks and amazing views. The entire property is kept immaculately clean and well maintained and we even got some use out of the on-site gym. Breakfasts in the morning were delicious and all of the staff were so friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Barbara and Evan are gracious hosts and go out of their way to make you feel at home and have thought of all the little touches that travelers appreciate. We cannot wait until we have the opportunity to come back to this paradise! We also highly recommend Joy Tours - we took their Monkey River and Mayan Ruin tours and saw tons of wildlife and beautiful scenery.

Thank you Barbara and Evan for an amazing stay!
Shannon and Alex Blue

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks Shannon - I hope all is going well with baby Blue and that you will be able to come back and visit us with her.

All the Best, Evan and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I really don't know how I can put into words our overall experience with Nirvana. From the moment we first met Evan at the Airport to Carolyn bringing us fresh coconuts and Barb dropping us back off to say goodbye, it was an unforgettable time. They are there for anything you need, yet you still have the feeling it is your place as well. The best part of it all is this place could be in the middle of nowhere and you would still feel you were at something special. You get to enjoy a beautiful uncrowded beach, spectacular peaceful ocean view, and wonderful culture literally all around you. Well done, we will never forget it and thanks again from the both of us for all your hospitality. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review - please come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Belizean Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Belizean Nirvana

Address: Westby Way, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: £127 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana offers five individually furnished suites/studios each with wide verandas that are separated by removable lattice partitions for privacy. Nirvana also boasts the first elevator in the village, provided for the accommodations of our guests that need assistance with getting to the second floor or the rooftop.At Nirvana you are on the beach, and after you have enjoyed your swimming in our pristine waters, you can rinse off with the outdoor showers available before you step onto your veranda to relax and enjoy your hammock.Nirvana has a rooftop deck that gives you a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea to the east, the beach in front where the surfs never stops breaking and the Maya Mountains to the west bathed in a wonderful blue-green background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Belizean Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Belizean Nirvana Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing