We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Awesome and a wonderful experience”
Review of A Belizean Nirvana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Belizean Nirvana
Ranked #1 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Nirvana was beyond my expectations. I am a huge critic of customer service and hospitality and the owners (Evan and Barbara) along with the staff were top notch. The atmosphere, service and the scenery was beautiful. There were no details untouched. I am planning my 20th year wedding anniversary there and I am truly looking forward to staying at the Nirvana again. Every morning there was continental breakfast on the roof top overseeing the ocean. What a lovely place

I do have a suggestion that it would be really nice to have an evening event on the roof top with a band for the guests.

Vanessa

Vanessa Mack

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 4 nights with Evan and Barbara the end of June. There were 5 of us (2 adults, 3 young adult / teens). We had the whole 2nd floor - rooms Namaste and Morning Glory. This is perfect for families since the rooms are adjoining. The view is amazing and it is right on the beach. You have everything you need here: A fantastic place to sleep and all the amenities you need as a traveler. They also have a laundry service. The cost was $15 BZ per load. We had an absolute gigantic mound of clothes and it was done in one load!! You are walking distance to anything you would need in the village. Be sure to talk to Evan and Barbara about things you want to do. They have an arsenal of great information!! We would go back in a heartbeat. My 20 year old son wants to come back next year for 3 weeks!!

If you have any teen / young adult soccer players, the locals are very welcoming if you want to join the play. My 20 year old had an absolute blast playing soccer with them. (If you like basketball there is usually a game going on in town as well.)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Evan & Barbara are great hosts and our room was AMAZING. Beautiful beach view, close to everything, clean, quiet, and relaxing. This was the last leg of our trip and we wanted a nice place to stay after our 3 day excursion on Ragamuffin tours that brought us to Placencia. Needless to say, this was exactly what we were hoping for. The best place to stay in Placencia, bar none.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I took my girlfriend to Placencia for her birthday and Mother's Day. I could not have stayed at a better place. It has breathtaking views and the rooms are so specious and very comfortable. We enjoyed ourself so much. Thank you so much to Evan & Barbara for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

How can I say enough good things about Belizean Nirvana? Evan and Barbara are the owners and Evan was there to meet us at Placencia airport when we landed. He and Barbara are so warm and friendly, it felt as if we have known them for years.

Nirvana is located centrally in town, so Evan gave us a quick tour/intro to Placencia on the way, pointing out restaurants and the like. When we arrived, Nas was there to meet us and take our bags to our suite. First off, the property is beautiful. We stayed in Namaste, and the attention to detail was amazing. I think they thought of everything - hammocks on the balcony, plush bathrobes, jacuzzi tub, multiple shower heads, quality linens, a pitcher of cold filtered water in the fridge. My poor Mister was only able to enjoy the master bathroom the first night. After that, he was relegated to using the second full bathroom in the suite, as I kept the master bath all to myself!

The property is located right on the beach and all rooms have a gorgeous ocean view. Nas is up early every morning raking the sand, and the beach is very well maintained. The suite itself, and all of the common areas are so clean! I travel extensively and you will never catch me without my slippers on in a hotel room. However, Nirvana is spotless. I didn't think twice about walking around barefoot. Also, all these complaints about seagrass? Maybe it's more so in San Pedro, but we waded right out into the water with no issue. Water is warm and clear in front of Nirvana.

The continental breakfast that is included in your rate is a very nice touch. It's served on their rooftop patio, and is just enough to get your day going. We found that after breakfast, we would only need a light snack in the afternoon and then walk (<5 minute walk) into town for a nice dinner.

Without going into detail, I will say that I had a couple of very specific plans for our trip. I'm quite "particular". I shared these plans with Barbara and she didn't bat an eyelash. She told me they would take care of everything, and not to worry. Barbara, Evan, and their staff, including Carolyn, took care of ALL the plans for our beach wedding, the tours that we wanted to go on, and basically everything that we wanted and more. Our stay there was PERFECT. We were scheduled to go to Hatchet Caye for the latter part of our trip, and we honestly did not want to leave. Our first night at Nirvana, we were already planning when we will return.

I highly recommend Nirvana to anyone visiting Belize. The location is perfect. The property is perfect. The owners and staff are amazing. We are selfish and don't want to share this jewel but, sadly, we cannot stay there full time. We will be back, so don't be upset if you get bumped from Namaste upon our return! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natashia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is my second time staying there and I must say I am going back. The owners Barbara and Evan are very nice and accommodating hosts. The rooms are lovely and and kept immaculately. At your disposal you can use the bikes and the kayaks that are on the premises. The beach is a few feet from your front door with lounge chairs to relax after a day of swimming. The roof top captures a breath taking view of Placencia, which to me surmises the name, Nirvana. Here one can sit and take in the sun and enjoy the cool breeze as you truly enjoy your vacation in a place of perfect peace and happiness.
Tony Clarke Staten Island, NY

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasta4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A Belizean Nirvana is truly synonymous with paradise! Our 2-night stay here was nothing short of spectacular! Proprietors Barbara and Evan are unique in their commitment to excellence! 100% satisfied!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgal734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
653 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
1.4 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Belizean Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Belizean Nirvana

Address: Westby Way, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: £129 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana offers five individually furnished suites/studios each with wide verandas that are separated by removable lattice partitions for privacy. Nirvana also boasts the first elevator in the village, provided for the accommodations of our guests that need assistance with getting to the second floor or the rooftop.At Nirvana you are on the beach, and after you have enjoyed your swimming in our pristine waters, you can rinse off with the outdoor showers available before you step onto your veranda to relax and enjoy your hammock.Nirvana has a rooftop deck that gives you a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea to the east, the beach in front where the surfs never stops breaking and the Maya Mountains to the west bathed in a wonderful blue-green background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Belizean Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Belizean Nirvana Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing