We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our watering hole during our stay in Placencia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Pig

The Flying Pig
Ranked #28 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our watering hole during our stay in Placencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad we stumbled upon the Flying Pig. It was refreshing to get instant service as soon as we sat down. Most of the locals in other restaurants tend to take their time when serving guests. The owner Patrick was super fun and had us sampling rum in the first 2 mins of sitting down. The food was awesome and well priced. If you're driving by, it's an absolute must to stop in and try the wings and sign the wall!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michellehamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Football madness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Patrick made sure my buddy and I were well looked after during the American football semi finals. Had fun games to play while you are watching, and was a great guy to watch the games with. Although the bar was more so locals than anything, they were all very friendly.
A bit far out from the main drag, but a cab ride wont cost you much.
Patrick, Mike and I left our jackets there, as we couldn't really remember leaving! Make sure you give them to some pretty girls who are without jackets on a rainy walk home! Thanks again! Great night!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quadra Island BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Live music. Great wings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Sadly we found the flying pig at the end of our vacation. North of placencia village, well worth the trek. Best wings - pig sauce is a must do! $20 BZE for a pitcher of rum and coke. Can't beat it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCfamQuadraIslandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keokuk, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good entertainment and fun drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Fun pig-themed drink menu. Good nachos. Owner Patrick was very interesting and made the atmosphere fun. Good entertainment. The only down-side was the 3 miles between the Flying Pig and our hotel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty drinks just outside Placencia village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I had the best drink of our trip at the Flying Pig -- a Woo Woo. It had a little coconut, a little banana and a little bit of something else in it. Owner Patrick built the bar just outside of Placencia and near Robert's Grove in the past couple of years, and it's a really neat looking place. It is also the home of pitchers of rum and coke.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Pig also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Flying Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing