We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied customer”

Barefoot Services - Rentals, Tour and More
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer: auto, golf cart, dirt bike and moped rentals. We also offer both self guided and guided tour options: jungle, river/cave tubing, hiking, Maya Ruins, cultural and culinary tours and extreme adventure. Let us help you "Create Your Adventure."
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort St. John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfied customer”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Rented a cart for a week from them in placencia and was what they advertised. It was a mechanicaly sound cart with the advertised price with no surprise fees. Staff was pleasant and answered all my questions. Later we used them for a transfer to Hopkins and was equally satisfied. The owner drove us and was safe and didn't mind chatting and answering questions.they also rent carts in Hopkins at our destination at jaguar reef....convenient for us. The carts there are a little more beat up due to the rough roads and we had to get a shuttle one night when the lights wouldn't work but overall a good experience with them

Helpful?
1 Thank bkohlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“TOPS”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited in January, 2014. First we decided we needed a cart for two days...they had but one available and it was nice, clean and the staff was very cordial. After two days we decided to keep it for another week and again we were accommodated very professionally. The cart was in top condition, information about fuel refilling was complete and we liked the convenience. When the cart rental period was over the staff said we could drive it to the Placencia airport when we departed and leave the key with the airline staff. So great and accommodating. We are going back to Placencia in January 2015 and have made reservations for our three week stay to use one of their carts. Oh yes, we drove it as far north as The Placencia. Enjoyed so much.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Croix USVI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“this trip up the monkey river couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked our tour of the Monkey River in Belize through Barefoot services for us and our visiting relatives. We've lived in Placencia now for almost 3 years and have been saving this trip for when someone special comes to visit.
Our guide was named Clive and he couldn't have been better! Very personable and knowledgeable. He grew up and lives in Monkey River Village and knows the river like we do the way to our kitchen in our own homes! We went up the river for a while then got out and hiked in the jungle. He was taking us to find some Monkeys! And we not only found some, we found a lot of them including little babies. They were just doing their thing way up in the trees and every once in a while they would make incredibly loud noises to each other. Clive told us all about them and everything else in the jungle including what not to touch. Incredible! Then we went with Clive back down the river and found a 10 foot crocodile over on the side of the river in a very shallow spot. We were able to get right up to it before he decided to head for deeper waters. We were going to leave when he surfaced about 10 feet away and swam along the surface showing up his full glory! Once he lost interest in us and dove again, we headed back down the river seeing birds and bird nests and all the amazing sights of the jungle.
Included in the tour was lunch where we had fish they caught as we were walking in the jungle. We had stopped on the way and each of the 8 people on the boat asked for fish for lunch. It was fish or chicken, but as the woman there said... "you can always get chicken".
To put it mildly, it turned out to be one of the very best lunches I've had in Belize and I've lived in Placencia for almost 3 years! Fantastic!!
On the way back to Placencia, we saw other boats stopped in the water obviously looking at something. We thought it may be a Manatee and we weren't disappointed. It was a mother and a calf and they surfaced 3 times right next to the boat! We just had to sit there and wait!
Now, I can't imagine that every trip up the river is as successful as ours was in terms of seeing wildlife. But if it's there, Clive will find it!
All 8 of us on the boat were thrilled with the whole experience and I'm sure the rest of the group is telling their friends the same thing I'm saying here.
If you do no other excursion while in Placencia, make sure you don't miss Monkey River with Clive!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bordazall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We used Barefoot services over a month or so, hiring cars and a motor bike and they were so helpful, accommodating at all times. Nothing was too much trouble, customer service excellent, very responsive. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chesterfield, New Hampshire
1 review
“Placencia,Belize Tours & Recreational Vehicles”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Meg & Ian Yearwood and their staff understand customer service. Recently, I rented a dirt bike from Barefoot in Placencia. The vehicle was ready when they said it would be, well maintained, fully gassed and ready to go. I had rented bikes and golfcart at the resort we stayed in before discovering Barefoot. The cost at the resort was almost double the cost of Barefoot Rentals. Everyone at Barefoot was professional, easy going and made my experience in Placencia much better. They take the time to make sure your needs are met and are just plain nice folks to talk to. In fact, they even made arrangements for me to drop the motorcycle off after hours on Sunday as a pure convenience for me. They have my highest recommendation for anyone in Belize that needs advice on tours or any recreational vehicle rentals.

Visited February 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank jimwesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Services - Rentals, Tour and More also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Services - Rentals, Tour and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing