We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food and Company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mojo Lounge & Bartique

Mojo Lounge & Bartique
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Everyone who works here is awesome - friendly, fun, energetic. I really enjoyed coming in for drinks or dinner and chatting to the bartenders and waitresses/waitors. I was welcomed like a local even though I only had a few days in town, but it was great getting to know the people at Mojo's. Also - the food was amazing. I highly recommend the cobb salad and grilled eggplant bruschetta!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    60
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The whole package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

If you want a place that has great food, relaxed Belizean ambience and a more than welcoming staff and owner, go to Mojo. They care about your experience. They pride themselves on their food and customer service and Erin (owner) and Alicia (server) are so beautiful and friendly you'll return just to hang out there and people watch from the patio. I did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The food was spectacular along with the atmosphere and the friendliness of the owner and staff. It was our last night out in Placencia before going home. We saved the best for last!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had to eat there twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a hidden gem in Placencia Belize. The food is excellent, as well as the drinks. Service attentive, but not overly so. There is a large selection on the menu and menus are handwritten. The owner is always present and checking on her guests. I highly recommend Mojo!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraF003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice little find but CASH ONLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

It's not disaster if you don't have cash. There is an ATM within a 2 minute walk, it's just the principle of it.

Almost every other restaurant in Placencia takes credit cards.

It would have been teetering on 5 stars if they had taken cards.

The best thing about Mojo's is the value. To me, you get a lot of food (and drink) for your shekels.

While they are trying hard with the drinks, and drink menu, some still just miss the mark. Mojitos were not very good. They do have some interesting infusions, however.

The food, I will say, is quite good and reasonably priced. Erin, the owner, stresses "local" and claims that everything on the menu is from the peninsula.

This place has a good, fun vibe, and there is even a balcony that you can have a drink and watch the foot traffic go by.

Overall I would recommend the place especially for a fun evening with friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mojo Lounge & Bartique also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Mojo Lounge & Bartique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing