We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel has it all - View, service, food, and location. The view from our Jaguar suite was amazing. Probably 50' from the ocean. Opened drapes in the morning and watched the sun rise over the ocean from our bed; another morning from the comfy beach chairs. Hands-on involved owners and quality staff can arrange many local tours or dives. We walked in the jungle and saw variety of rainforest life during an interesting Monkey River tour. I read in the swings at the end of the dock while husband enjoyed sea fishing. There is an Outstanding restaurant on property with a delicious varied menu that also has lovely beach views. We stayed 5 places in Belize and were fairly satisfied with all, but this one was hardest to leave. If you want a clean, quiet, environment, a friendly but not intrusive staff, and a killer view and restaurant - don't miss this one.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LandLOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    87
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
107
304
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

If there is such a thing... Seriously, this place is incredible. Unbelizable as they say. Truly special. As a solo traveler this trip, I recently spent the most incredible 6 nights there. This hotel definitely has that intangible, yet palpable "it" factor. The property is a perfect combination of beachy, rustic, shabby chic and cleanliness, comfort and safety. All of the rooms have the necessities, including A/C. If you're looking for a TV, or any other sensory stimuli, you are missing the point. Trust me. The hotel surroundings are your stimuli. Enjoy it! I stayed in the Hibiscus room, perfect for just me. The staff is terrific. And John (chef extraordinaire) and Ellen (most gracious, fun hostess) are just wonderful. They were, along with all of the staff, genuinely welcoming and so attentive. Also Marlin, who was so efficient, yet warm, with all of the multitasking he does so well. .... oh and I can't forget Flip Flop, (quite the plump, yet still stealth like hotel cat)... The hotel has free kayaks and bicycles and a very handy shuttle bus which goes into Placencia Village at scheduled days + times. And I'm not going to elaborate too much on the food at the Bistro bc it deserves its own write up, which I'm going to do momentarily. The only thing I will say quickly about the food is... it's mind blowing! It was some of THE most authentic, inventive, delectable, finger- licking cuisine my palate had the pleasure of encountering! Maya Beach Hotel is beyond lovely. I will stay here again. And again, and again....

Room Tip: Just read the descriptions given about the rooms under the reservations header on the web site. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miami-Cinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights/five days here on our honeymoon (upper Dreamsicle room), and I have never had such a relaxing vacation. When I was searching TripAdvisor for the best hotel fit for us in Placencia I read many reviews of this property, and the only 'complaints' I saw were about rooms that need updating, the lack of blackout shades and TVs, etc. Save yourself some time: if you care about fancy rooms, blackout shades to block the sunrise and cable TV on vacation, don't stay here. If you're looking for relaxation, peace and quiet, and unbelivable food, STAY HERE! There are only about 10 rooms, and we felt like we had the grounds to ourselves most of the time. The rooms are simple, but you are right on the beach! And I personally loved the sunlight streaming in my room at 6am. Ellen and John are so friendly and attentive, and Marlin gave us awesome recommendations for activities and booked us on a great snorkel trip. We loved everyone on staff. The food was incredible, and we ended up eating at the Bistro for all meals but one. Be sure to order the fish specials! I can't rave about this place enough. It's close enough to town to take a quick cab or bus, but far enough away to avoid the crowds. There is no question that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier. The owners, Ellen and John, were absolutely wonderful! We ate at their Bistro for almost every meal and enjoyed every one. The staff were also very kind and knowledgeable. We stayed in the Toucan room, with beautiful beach views and woke up to the sunrise each morning. The room was very clean and they were kind enough to do our laundry for us in a matter of hours. They offer free bike and kayak rentals, happily arranged tours and outings and even arranged our flights and transport to the local airport.

We would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone staying in the area, you won't regret it. Thank you Ellen, John and staff for an amazing end to our vacation in Belize!

Brit and Sarah

Room Tip: Toucan room was spacious, with hardwood floors, fans/AC and a beautiful beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beingess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent an incredible few days at the Maya Beach Hotel. Marlin at the front desk was so thoughtful and helpful that he made our stay an experience of a life time! The Hotel is in a great location -- quiet, safe. The food was unbelievable and the kids had a great time on the beach and in the pool!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We can only agree with all the other positive reviews of Maya Beach Hotel on tripadvisor. Spacious, comfortable accommodations, pleasant surroundings - and of course, some of the best restaurant meals in Belize. In our four days at the hotel the four of us tried nearly everything on the menu and were never disappointed - the peanut encrusted fish was a real favourite. John, Ellen and Marlin were very helpful and "flexible" in assisting us with sightseeing advice and booking a wonderful snorkelling trip with Avalon Divers. The small swimming pool at the hotel was particularly welcome on those days when windy conditions made swimming in the ocean less inviting. You will want to bike (complimentary at the hotel) or drive to the village of Placentia, as Maya Beach is a ways out of town. Rates seem competitive and represent good value for the money spent.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room if you can for best views and ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

What we were looking for

A quiet beachfront place with good food onsite, in or near Placencia.

General location
The location of the Maya Beach resort is in the area of Maya Beach on the Placencia Peninsula. On the ocean, facing east. A nice location. More of a collection of resorts, hotels and vacation houses than a village, it is a bit out of the way, which is good for those who wish not to be in town. A $20 US taxi ride gets you to the friendly quaint town of Placencia. Across the road from the resort is a lumber yard. The resort is on the highway, more of a lonesome highway, than a busy one. Noise is rarely if ever an issue. Exception was one night at 4am a forklift loaded two trucks with lumber at the lumber yard. I am confident that if this were a re occurring issue, the owners would take it up with the lumberyard. An isolated case, but still my accurate experience.



Cleanliness

Very clean. Maid service daily. You are on the beach here, so expect sand in you room. No critters.



The Rooms 

We stayed in “Flip Flop Palace” managed but not owned by Maya Beach Hotel. Marlon suggested the palace would be best if we wanted quiet (aside from the sweet sound of the ocean). He was correct. The palace is rustic, but we are totally OK with that. It’s like being at an old family cabin (only a bit pricier) Some of the palace, like much of what we saw in Belize is in need of paint and repair. The layout includes a regular sized open kitchen with bar stools, all of the lights worked, there was an air conditioner which we never chose use. A little cramped but still nice. The palace is a 2 minute walk down the freshly raked sand from the main resort/hotel. We were happily isolated. Hot water good for 2 showers, water pressure 2 out of 5. My only gripe would be window coverings. The are none, so come 6 am, like it or not, that beautiful sun will come a risin’ over the Caribbean heralding you into the day. Lights ON! Black out curtains, wind thru curtains or california shutter shades would be the main improvement needed here.



Sleep and bed comfort

so-so. The fold out bed was pretty bad, our bed, the main bed, was foam. We didn’t get sore backs, but I wouldn't use the word comfortable either. Pillows.....2.5 out of 5.



Amenities
The hotel has a small nice pool, chairs everywhere, a pier with a palapa. I wouldn’t say the grounds are manicured, but they are very well kept. The sand on the beach is raked daily and the staff clean up any debris that may have washed up. Most wooden beach chairs could use some form of repair. The elements are destructive out there so their condition comes with the geography, I suppose. The chairs in the best condition are at the pool and in the bistro.



Food and Drink
The resort’s bistro is known to have some of the best food in Belize. We had all of our breakfasts there, a few lunches and two dinners there. We enjoyed some meals more than others, some truly outstanding dishes were Pizza (a deep rich sauce), pancakes, Amber Jack (a fish) and eggs benny. A very nice selection of wine and other drinks.





The Staff

All of the staff other than the owners appear to be locals. The staff are very kind, warm, personable and friendly. Other locals we spoke with said the staff are very happy because the employers are good, kind people. 5 / 5.



The Crowd

The Hotel isn’t huge, so it’s tough to pin down the crowd. For the most a mellow bunch some 60’s, some 20’s, there didn’t seem to be the “young parents with pre-teen children. It is common to see local expats dropping in to the bistro for 11am bloody mary’s etc.



The Vibe

Mellow, laid back, slightly isolated.



Pros

Oceanfront location, good food, wonderful staff, complimentary kayaks and bicycles. Very good concierge service.



Cons

Lack of window coverings was a huge deal to us. 



Suggestions
Perhaps a few more “shade” options for the poolside. Window coverings.



Summary

We would return. We did stop by Singing Sands, which is nearby. It did appear more deluxe, but I’n not sure we would’ve been able to enjoy the quiet isolation which we were granted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DKTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with king or queen beds and nice beach views, and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing