We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven wonderful days at Maya Beach Resort”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We chose Maya Beach Resort because of the great reviews. We were not disappointed. Their customer service was beyond amazing.....from picking us up at the airport to arranging excursions and finally to the fantastic food. We loved the Jaguar room and the fact we were 50 feet from the sea. We were close to the restuarant and bar. Marlon aranged everything to absolute perfection. We especially enjoyed meeting and getting to know John and Ellen, the owners. The facilities are spotless and the people cleaning our room had to be ghost as we never saw them. Since we have been back, we have suggested Maya Beach to our friends. Thank you John and Ellen and Marlon and all the staff for a wonderful vacation. We will return. Larry and Melinda Woods

Room Tip: Choose the Jaguar Room. Fifty feet from the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Maya Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location right on the beach is fantastic, the beach is nice and the food served at the restaurant is very good. Mamy reviews have centered on these points already so rather than re-hash what others have said I will make other comments that may help travellers.

If you are not hiring a car and like to try other restaurants Maya Beach is a way from the town. There are two other places within walking distance, Green Parrot which I would say the food is pretty average. Mangos is a bit further, lively and serves less fanciful fare than the Maya Beach.

The Happy Hour snack menu at the Maya is very good. We tried everything on it, fish cakes and jerk empanadas being our favourites. But the dinner menu could serve some simpler meals. Its a beach bistro, not the Upper East Side.

Room cleanliness was less than desired, the housekeepers spent less time in the 2large roomed lower level Dreamsicle than I have seen in a box room city hotel. Fridge was a bit dirty from previous occupant and plates were dusty. The linens were old, had a few holes and simply not what you would expect for the price. The beach towels provided were very worn and looked 6 or 7 years old.

In conclusion a nice place to relax, but some of the reviews are over the top here which makes one think. The hotel can easily improve, which makes one wonder why they do not put the effort in.

One curious thing is the owners close up at Easter...... A holiday where people can take time to travel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel delivers exactly what website promises and the food at the resturant is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breazer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My parents and I spent 5 nights here recently and I can't even describe the amazing experience we had. The staff were incredible, John and Ellen were so welcoming and made you feel like you were staying at your home away from home. The food was beyond anything I have ever had, honestly, everyday and every meal was extraordinary! The only problem is there is something so magical about this hotel you will find yourself not wanting to leave and experience the rest of Placencia and area! Marlin will organize anything that you need and was great. The rooms were clean with great views, they offer free bikes and kayaks. Honestly, its everything you would want, but don't forget you will be on Belize time, but then again, where are you rushing off to, you're on vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coconut room, very quiet and peaceful with a prime view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel has it all - View, service, food, and location. The view from our Jaguar suite was amazing. Probably 50' from the ocean. Opened drapes in the morning and watched the sun rise over the ocean from our bed; another morning from the comfy beach chairs. Hands-on involved owners and quality staff can arrange many local tours or dives. We walked in the jungle and saw variety of rainforest life during an interesting Monkey River tour. I read in the swings at the end of the dock while husband enjoyed sea fishing. There is an Outstanding restaurant on property with a delicious varied menu that also has lovely beach views. We stayed 5 places in Belize and were fairly satisfied with all, but this one was hardest to leave. If you want a clean, quiet, environment, a friendly but not intrusive staff, and a killer view and restaurant - don't miss this one.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LandLOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If there is such a thing... Seriously, this place is incredible. Unbelizable as they say. Truly special. As a solo traveler this trip, I recently spent the most incredible 6 nights there. This hotel definitely has that intangible, yet palpable "it" factor. The property is a perfect combination of beachy, rustic, shabby chic and cleanliness, comfort and safety. All of the rooms have the necessities, including A/C. If you're looking for a TV, or any other sensory stimuli, you are missing the point. Trust me. The hotel surroundings are your stimuli. Enjoy it! I stayed in the Hibiscus room, perfect for just me. The staff is terrific. And John (chef extraordinaire) and Ellen (most gracious, fun hostess) are just wonderful. They were, along with all of the staff, genuinely welcoming and so attentive. Also Marlin, who was so efficient, yet warm, with all of the multitasking he does so well. .... oh and I can't forget Flip Flop, (quite the plump, yet still stealth like hotel cat)... The hotel has free kayaks and bicycles and a very handy shuttle bus which goes into Placencia Village at scheduled days + times. And I'm not going to elaborate too much on the food at the Bistro bc it deserves its own write up, which I'm going to do momentarily. The only thing I will say quickly about the food is... it's mind blowing! It was some of THE most authentic, inventive, delectable, finger- licking cuisine my palate had the pleasure of encountering! Maya Beach Hotel is beyond lovely. I will stay here again. And again, and again....

Room Tip: Just read the descriptions given about the rooms under the reservations header on the web site. They...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miami-Cinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights/five days here on our honeymoon (upper Dreamsicle room), and I have never had such a relaxing vacation. When I was searching TripAdvisor for the best hotel fit for us in Placencia I read many reviews of this property, and the only 'complaints' I saw were about rooms that need updating, the lack of blackout shades and TVs, etc. Save yourself some time: if you care about fancy rooms, blackout shades to block the sunrise and cable TV on vacation, don't stay here. If you're looking for relaxation, peace and quiet, and unbelivable food, STAY HERE! There are only about 10 rooms, and we felt like we had the grounds to ourselves most of the time. The rooms are simple, but you are right on the beach! And I personally loved the sunlight streaming in my room at 6am. Ellen and John are so friendly and attentive, and Marlin gave us awesome recommendations for activities and booked us on a great snorkel trip. We loved everyone on staff. The food was incredible, and we ended up eating at the Bistro for all meals but one. Be sure to order the fish specials! I can't rave about this place enough. It's close enough to town to take a quick cab or bus, but far enough away to avoid the crowds. There is no question that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhunter29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
777 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing