We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Thank you John and Ellen for accomodating and assisting our assorted wedding guests and family over the wedding week. Alison loved her 'Flip Flop Palace' with it's stunning view and relaxing location. We particularily appreciate the extra attention you provided to the Bride and her Bridesmaids the night before the wedding day. Then again to the Bride and Groom following the wedding. You have such a special place, so much more that just a hotel and we always enjoy visiting you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mashworth04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

I enjoyed our recent stay at The Maya Beach Hotel. We stayed in the Hibiscus room. The room was a good size, clean and in a great location. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The location of the Maya Beach Hotel can be a good thing, or a bad thing depending on what you want. If you are good with being away from all the activity of Placencia then you will be happy with the Maya Beach Hotel. If not, you may want to consider staying in town, or much closer to town. We rode the complimentary bikes into town one day. These were ice to have access to. It was a 45 minute bike ride each way. In extreme heat. Needless to say we only did it once. We enjoyed our days at Maya Beach lounging by the pool, walking the beach, or eating at the bistro.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Room was in a great location and more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewandererone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

This time stayed in aqua villa. Great house. Unbelievable views, super pool & jacuzzi. Maya Bistro Hotel is the best - great staff, ambiance & food. Tried a few new dishes - squid/calamari stuffed with shrimp - big thumbs up. Thanks for a relaxing, mellow, safe & comfortable vacation once again MBH staff! Warmly, Judy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were so happy with our stay here. We really needed a relaxing uneventful vacation and that's what we found. We were usually the only ones on the beach and felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The staff was so friendly and the food was some of the best we have EVER HAD. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karralay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I recently visited Plancecia on our vacation. We were lucky enough to stay with relatives but we did enjoy the food, beach and swimming pool at the Maya Beach hotel vertually every day. The people at the Bistro restaurant are awsome (especially Lisa and Avi!!). Being a sun lover, my wife found out that if you visit the restaurant or bar you are allowed to enjoy the facilities there. We went there so often that when we went to say goodbye before returning to the USA, I was told that it felt as if we stayed there!
The food at the Bistro is great and like I sais, the staff and management are really friendly. We will definitely visit them again and also recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoFolschers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You cant go wrong by staying here. a good variety of accommodations to be had here between the hotel and suites next door. They were very accommodating to my last minute needs. The gracious owners, Ellen and John are always helpful. The restaurant is second to none, and if you don't want a restaurant setting, head over to Mangoes bar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Maya Beach was incredible. Spotless rooms, professional staff, soothing tropical breezes, the smell of fabulous cuisine wafting across the beach as you sip an ice cold beverage under a palm tree. This weekend was an answer to prayer for this workaholic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £64 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing