We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Paradise”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After spending a few days up in the mountains near San Ignacio Belize, my partner and I decided to spend some of our stay traveling the country of Belize with the serendipitous strategy of "No Reservations." Traveling this way can really open your travel adventures to amazing experiences, and one of the highlights of this "live the mystery, come what may" spirit was Maya Beach Hotel.

After a long drive to the coast from a disappointing jungle lodge stay, it was early afternoon and lunch was on the agenda. Anything would have been good, but heading along the southern highway en route to Placencia on the souther coast, we saw a small chalkboard-like sign that simply said 'Maya Beach Bistro'.

Unannounced and with no reservations we strolled our way to the beach-side of the small resort and were stunned to find an amazing beachfront restaurant, a welcoming and gracious staff, and AMAZING food. (You should know by me capping AMAZING, I am a food snob, not a high-end food snob, but just good, solid, creative cuisine) The Bistro at Maya Beach was fantastic. Service is superior and genuine, with a warm and informed staff who really seem to like working there and have a great rapport with the owners, Ellen & John, who have managed to run a top-notch hotel and restaurant in a Third World Country while making it look easy and enjoying the moment. After an sumptuous lunch on the open-air Bistro on the beach, we inquired if they might have any rooms available for the night, while crossing our fingers under the table. Turns out they had one apartment open - the top floor of 'The Dreamsicle' building was available, and after a quick walk thru - I snagged this outstanding 2 bedroom apartment, on the beach with a full kitchen, bath, living room, private deck and pool!

We were celebrating Brian's big 50 the next day, so I booked the suite for 2 nights and then immediately made reservations again at the Bistro the following night for Brian's Intimate Birthday Party Dinner. I asked if we might get a special dessert for the occasion, and was introduced to a lovely woman from Denver - the pastry chef - who was extremely accommodating and made a remarkable delicious Chocolate Ganache tower cake that was outstanding. But too much for two guys and way to indulgent not to share, so we offered the staff a piece to enjoy and celebrate with us - much to their pleasure!

Just when things couldn't get better at this remarkable destination just north of Placencia, Brian had a back injury that really could have messed up the rest of the trip. But going above and Beyond - as the hosts did at every turn - while checking out the next morning and mentioning this situation to Ellen - she asked me to hang on for a minute - as one of her friends was an American doctor living in Belize and just happened to be having breakfast at the Bistro that morning. She was very gracious about the situation and provided a thorough check-up, consultation and some pain meds to get us on our way. And they say Americans aren't friendly! (Special thanks to the wonderful doctor who will remain anonymous)

Maya Beach Resort and Bistro is at the top of my list - OUTSTANDING - and you should put it on your list today. Everything about the place and the people there made for a fantastic and special stay. We are grateful to everyone there - including the impromptu doctor's office.

Run - don't walk to Maya Beach, and tell them Christopher sent you.

Christopher Kulovitz - wordpunch@gmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Chris and Brian, you were delightful guests, and people like you make this business worthwhile. Thank you very much for posting your review. And stay longer next time!

Ellen & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my second visit to Maya Beach Hotel, this time as there where 4 adults we decided to rent Agua Villa a few hundred yards from the actual hotel. The Villa had its own private swimming pool along with hot pool which made the evenings even more relaxing and its right on the beach. The villa is fully equipped with all the kitchen appliances and utensils required, kayak, bikes and beach towels for around the pool. This location would be ideal for a family as the pool cupboard has plenty of floating devices for the kids. Each bedroom has its own private bathroom and daily cleaning as if staying in the actual hotel. The staff at the hotel are always very friendly and helpful plus the food is excellent. I will continue to return here as living in Belize and love the location especially if you have your own vehicle its easy to get to Cockscomb Basin for a day trip. One of the best gems I've found in Belize so far.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetotravelcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Glad you enjoyed your second visit too! Thanks for the nice review and we'll see you the next time you visit Placencia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I are "bumming around" Belize for a month. No reservations anywhere, anytime. We found Maya Beach while driving down the Placencia peninsula, stopped and inquired. Front desk guy, Cleev showed us three rooms and we picked one. Ended up staying 5 nights! GREAT location on the peninsula, EXCEPTIONAL food at the restaurant, anything we asked for, big or small, they provided. Met the owners, Ellen and John - GREAT people! Great, relaxing experience from start to finish! Many thanks to all who made it great!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank wyocarey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks Mr. WyoCarey, we enjoyed meeting and talking with you. Hopefully your plans will bring you back to Maya Beach Hotel for a much longer visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

3 of us had booked our "girlfriends" get away last year but had to cancel due to family reasons. Maya hotel gladly and easily cancelled our reservation. Thankfully, we were able to stay with them a year later. We are in our 30's and 40's and this place was perfect for us. We were looking for a unpretentious and relaxing place just like this. We stayed 4 nights and quickly felt like we were family. We stayed in the Coconut room which was very roomy, had very comfy beds, beautiful view of ocean and awesome balcony. We never heard any noise from our rooms. Marlon at the front desk was beyond helpful and accommodating with helping arrange excursions for us and reminding us to wear our sunblock. We are early risers and he was happy to help us even at 6am! Thanks Marlon, you were amazing! We rode the bikes into the village and also took the kayaks out around the mangrove island. He also helped find a last minute excursion when our snorkeling was cancelled. Thankfully, he found someone to take us to the beautiful Silk Cayes!!!
The dock and palapa are very relaxing and the ocean bottom has nice soft sand and fairly shallow. We enjoyed evening swims off the dock after our excursions.
The bartenders and waiters were also very friendly and helpful. Thank you Oscar for putting up with us and taking all our photos!
Lastly and mostly, thank you Ellen and John for your accommodations. We really enjoyed getting to know you and appreciated your down to earth personality and hospitality which was like a 5 star hotel.
The food was out of this world!!!! John is so talented! We ate in town one day and quickly regretted it. We have never had such amazing food in any of our travels. The food was very fresh, creative and had beautiful presentation. We are still dreaming of the food - the nut crusted fish, cocoa pork, fish empanadas, stuffed mushrooms, cinnamon rolls and the duck sausage hash were just a few of our many favorites. The generous and fresh bread every night was baked perfectly. Happy hour was also awesome!
We cannot say enough about this gem!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LAcameron29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for the review! It was our pleasure seeing the three of you having so much fun. It was like saying goodbye to old friends when you left. Oscar misses you too -- he is practicing his photography skills for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Girlfriends and I recently spent five days here. It was wonderful. If you are looking for upscale and high end this is not the place for you. We had the two bedroom room and it was big enough for the three of us and then some. It was nice, clean with a nice deck area with outdoor furniture. What made this place awesome was the owners, staff and food. The owners were beyond helpful. When we were disappointed about not being able to go snorkeling because of the weather and the tour canceling, Ellen was right on it and helped arrange for a private boat to take us out. Marlon at the front desk was always there for us and all our needs. We wanted to go bike riding, he was on it, kayaking, was up early to accommodate us early birds. The food was outstanding!! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were great. If you go to Placencia and don't stay here, go and have dinner (the cocoa crusted pork chop was my favorite), or try the best cinnamon roll you will ever have. The wait staff was also excellent. Thanks Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro for the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: Pick one on second floor facing the beach and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hey Mari! You guys are the kind of guests who make it fun for us to be in the hotel business. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked a week at this hotel and paid nearly a year in advance to ensure all our travel arrangements were set, but failing health has caused us to cancel. I indicated to the Hotel that we had to close our old account (due to a move for health issues) and that we would need to figure something else out. Instead of offering to apply it in the future or issuing some other recourse they returned the funds to a closed card and are now they, their Bank and the US bank have no idea where the money is.. I canceled at another hotel and had no issues at all. They issued us a check and sent it in the mail... I think when our loss settles and we take our trip we'll fork over the few extra bucks for a Hotel that can better accommodate in case of issues. God forbid you get there and have an issue or emergency.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlipFlopTheBeachCat, Owner at Maya Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Tiffany,

I am sorry that you were not able to travel to Belize as planned. We have not refused to send your refund. In fact, we sent it to you as requested.

For security reasons (scammers who try to book with one card and have it refunded to another card or bank account), we were advised to only issue a refund to the original card. This is common practice.

As you mentioned in your review, the banks are not solving this problem.
We are continuing to help you by calling our bank, calling US Bank in Oregon, and checking our account daily to confirm that your credit card refund was "rejected" and returned to our account as you say. Whether that is an issue with your bank, our bank, or is simply a process that can take weeks, I do not know, but as we promised we will settle this issue once we are sure the refund is not given to you twice. Our bank has asked for some simple details from your bank that will trace the funds in the event they were misdirected. We are still waiting for that information from you.

We will continue to pursue this regardless of your assumption that we are not accommodating of your request.

May I point out that our normal charges are made 30 days prior to a visit, just to give guests plenty of time to confirm their travel plans. And we notify guests in advance with a reminder that payment will be processed. You made the reservation in September for a visit in June. On the 13th of September you asked us to charge your card, and we responded that our hotel policy Is to process cards 30 days prior to arrival, not as early as you wanted. You replied asking us to go ahead and charge even though it was so far in advance.

So helping you is the only reason your card was ever charged to begin with! Nevertheless, we agreed to give you a refund which we did on the 11th of March and you knew we were sending it to your closed account.

Again, we have promised to refund your money and we will follow through until it is refunded. Sorry for the inconvenience to you but I do not know another way to make this happen faster than to continue asking you to provide documentation from your bank to help our bank trace the refund.

Thank you for your understanding.

Ellen
Owner
Maya Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in 4 places during our trip to Belize, the Maya Beach Hotel was easily the best accommodations. Room was perfect for a family, with a separate bedroom for Mom and Dad. Good quality bedding. Two air conditioners let us keep the room exactly how we wanted it. Beach was nice, Placencia is a unique place with the most relaxed vibe of any place we stayed in Belize. Lots of good food options but none better than the Bistro onsite. Fabulous food.

The owner, Ellen, is onsite often and you can tell she quietly controls a fairly large staff, all of whom were helpful and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club, a Muy'Ono Resort
2.2 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Placencia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £74 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing