We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

My family and I simply loved this place and did not want to leave! our Maya apartment had all the comforts of home and terrific no TV! we were traveling with 3 young one ages 9-13 so we really had simple honest fun. Bicycling, walking, swimming, oh kayaking. The bicycles and kayaks were complimentary. The food was really delicious and not too overpriced for a resort. We had a car rental so we were able to see the area well. I will for sure return to this place with it's clean, white beach, don't have any pictures at this time but you will love it!

Room Tip: Maya apartment,we were 4 adults, 3 children. It has a full kitchen with all you need ,,3 bedrooms, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamita646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    89
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
109
308
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival I was upgraded from a single room to a 3 bedroom apartment. The room was lovely, above the restaurant and could have easily accommodated a family of 6. I had a huge private balcony with sectional seating. I peeked into the room I booked in which I would also have been perfectly content but it was great to have so much space! The beds were all comfortable and the room was very clean and looked to be recently updated. I borrowed a bike which was in decent condition but wished I had a car or golf cart during my stay here. Everyone here was professional and friendly and helpful. Maya beach is quite far from town but there is a small grocery and a bowling alley, how funny, very close by. For shopping though a taxi is required to go into Placencia. The restaurant here is top notch. The quality and presentation is superb and the service fantastic. The prices are reasonable for the quality. Sedrick took wonderful care of me at breakfast, Marlin at the front desk was extremely helpful and Lisa took great care of me at dinner. Overall this is a very nice beach hotel. It is not an all inclusive resort or a chain business class hotel but any laid back person would be happy here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingstupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you're wanting to relax, eat great food, be pampered by the staff then this is the place for you. The owner came around to every table and spoke to each guest during dinner which is such a great touch.

The Staff arranged all of the outings we wanted and made it so easy to just relax and enjoy ourselves.

Highly recommend Maya Beach Resort.

Room Tip: We had the Flip Flop Palace, which had it's own kitchen in the room, which was great for cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJackobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our short but sweet stay at the Joya Main offered more room than we needed. We originally booked the king conch online but the system apparently double booked the room and so they honored the same rate for the Joya Main. They did tell us it was one of their older units. It was functional but could use a refresh. We did not need the kitchen as we ate at the bistro (see separate review).

Staff was very helpful, especially Marlon, who helped us with just about all of our requests like arranging for a masseuse at the last minute.

We would return again and try the newer units.

Room Tip: If you don't need much space, try the newer units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a great place to kick off your shoes and totally relax. We stayed not long enough with the host Ellen and her great staff. Lying in bed in the Jaguar room one could watch the sunrise over the beach while enjoying AC, Bed and Breakfast type accommodations,and Wi-Fi. The restaurant on property was incredible. Fish was fresh, juices were fresh, and the bakery is to die for. The beach is groomed every morning, hammocks are swinging under lazy coconut palms and the star gazing is to write home about. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Jaguar room is awesome. Nice front porch on the beach with a great hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Whenever I need a break and I find the time I go to Placencia.
Since I don't like the hustle and bustle I prefer to stay at Maya Beach.
It is a perfect spot to relax and enjoy the beautiful Carribean Sea.

The rooms are big, very clean and well equipped.
The beach in front of the hotel is small but wonderful. You can see that the hotel is taking care of. No trash or garbage like in some spots in Placencia.

The staff is awesome - always friendly with a smile on their face.

Now to my favorite part... the restaurant.
It is THE best restaurant in Belize (and I tried a lot). They have very good quality for a reasonable price. The combination of the different dishes is just right and they are so creative. Everytime I go there they have a new special or "a little something" I have to try.
They have a wonderful wine selection.

Having dinner there in the evening is a treat for body and soul.

Room Tip: Coconut Room is my favorite. It has a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaVie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have been here twice. The first time we stayed around placencia the second we became more adventerous. The food is amazing! We had to force ourselves to leave the bistro (hotel reataurant) and try the local food, it is THAT good. We were happy to see the sane friendly staff on our 2nd visit as our first. This is a vacation where you actually get a feel for the country and its beauty! No line ups for buffets, no getting your towel to a pool chair so you have a place to sit...grab a free kayak and paddle to the island and snorkle! Definetly do the snorkling trip though. Both times we saw and swam with turtles/dolphins and rays AWESOME. We went hiking in the rainforest, cave tubing, zip lining, tubing down a river, visited a 'chocolate factory' and made choc from roasted beans, talked with the owner about her life, raising children in belize and its challenges. After a vacation like this, you will never think lying beside a pool 'relaxing' is a good vacay again. We brought our friends the second time because we loved the first trip so much, our friends loves it this much as well. Thanks marlon, ellen, cedric:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwwmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing