We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I had the most amazing time at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. But more importantly, IT WAS PEACEFUL. I had a wonderful, relaxing time and would recommend it to anyone who wants to veer off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelisdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Maya Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

My husband, teenage stepson, and I stayed at Maya Beach Hotel at the end of August. We stayed in the Seagrape Escape, a house right on the water with a screened-in porch. It was a beautiful large 2-bedroom house with great views of the sunrise from the porch--much nicer than we'd expected, really cozy, with a really great bed swing-hammock on the porch. Ellen and John were so helpful and accommodating--Ellen booked all of our tours (scuba/snorkeling, Monkey River, and cave tubing) and was always available to answer questions and make arrangements. John cooked really delicious meals, which we ate on the deck overlooking the water.

We had originally planned to stay in the Dreamsicle House, but the guests before us had decided to stay longer. Ellen upgraded us to the Seagrape House (which we were actually happy about) and even gave us free t-shirts at the end of our stay--very generous of her, and much appreciated. We all really enjoyed our visit and would definitely recommend staying here.

Placencia is a cute little town. John gave us a ride into town (he was running errands), so we were able to check out the "world's narrowest street"--more of a sidewalk, really--lined with shops with local crafts. We rented a golf cart and made our way into town on our own another day--would recommend trying the delicious seafood burritos at Wendy's.

Overall, a really wonderful, relaxing time. Many thanks to Ellen and John and their very friendly staff for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dream_genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Relaxing. Cool breeze and Belikin beer. Excellent kitchen. Rooms were clean and the staff was wonderful. I highly recommend the hotel and a trip to Placencia. The day trip guides were knowledgeable and friendly. My husband had to drag me to the plane. We are working on our return trip now.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJKJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

WHAT CAN I SAY! Bad food, shabby rooms,no service. I'm sorry, Where did you say YOU were staying? Obviously you were not staying at the Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro where none of the above apply.
This was our 4th trip to Belize and we decided to give Placencia a try. Maya Beach Hotel is the place to be. It is a little ways to town but it is an oasis in itself. The owners, John and Ellen will do their uttmost to make you feel at home. From moving non-working refridgerators to getting you a larger coffemaker for your room. Great and swift service.
FOOD! Did I mention the food. Don't talk about it, just eat anything John prepares and you will understand what I mean.
We have to mention the the very well-trained staff, from Becky in the morning to Odette and Cederic at night. Behind the bar Oscar, Avi and Gerry mix perfect drinks, never without a smile. (try a Flip-Flop)
We did venture into town both by bus and taxi and everything you may have read about the condition of the road is true so hang onto your hat and teeth.
There are a few places you must try for food and beverages. De Tatched on the beach serves good conch fritters and chicken. The Pickled Parrot, owned and run by a couple of Canadian gals, serve lobster fritters and real fries. We tried Wendy's for breakfast in her new location. Great location for people watching. Great building--clean, modern and comfortable tables and chairs inside and out. Food was good, BUT the quality of service was nowhere near what you would expect from such a beautiful restaurant.
The highlight of our trip to town was stopping at least 2 maybe 3 times each trip in to have ice-cream at the Tutti Frutti Ice Cream Parlour (Gelateria). Oh my! The only time I have ever taken a picture of ice cream. The presentation is awesome. Loved the chairs out front to sit and enjoy the ice cream cones. Don't miss checking out the baby crocodiles next door.
Would we go back? In a minute. Thanks to all of you at Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrekkieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I (ages 25) stayed 14 days at Maya Beach Hotel in June of 2008 for our honeymoon and I still daydream about the days spent there. We could not have picked a better place. John and Ellen were such wonderful hosts. They helped us with all of our excursions and any questions we had. (Zeff is THE BEST tour guide EVER)
John personally picked us up at the airport. The location is fantastic. It's secluded and private yet just a short bus ride away from the fun town of Placencia. Riding the old yellow bus with the locals was fun! Taxis are like $20 each way from hotel to Placencia so taking the bus is definitely worth it!
The food at the hotel restaurant is AMAZING! The staff is friendly and welcoming. The beach is beautiful and you could even take one of the complimentary kayaks to a little island that's visible from the shore and they also have complimentary snorkel gear.
We went scuba diving which was AMAZING, Ellen can set it up for you, we reccomend Devin at seahorse Diving.

You could also take a short walk down to visit Gary at Frisky Frog's to eat or go to Mango's Bar right on the beach where Steve and annemarie will certainly entertain you.
We made such great friends there!
Barefoot Bar in Placencia usually has live reggae music on the weekend and domino games going on, plus a pool table inside..you are guaranteed to always have a good time there. Overall, We LOVED Maya Beach Hotel and Placencia and we certainly fell in love with the people of Belize! We would not have changed a thing about our entire two week stay there!

Here are the links to view the albums of our entire stay, Jusy copy & paste!

Click here to view MeL’s Album: unBELIZEable honeymoon
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewPicture&friendID=44496103&albumId=1863414&authKey=vGuaeWzhNNp3SqE%2bf3TZ43XdQSc4yReZD%2bb66yr81V8UnV70YKCPPAP7zVJXxURTa2furbuLqCBz5d%2bShWHPtw3CMEvkEvUGfW%2bTPNVhv5w%3d

Click here to view MeL’s Album: UnBELIZEable Animals,
sceneries, etc.
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewPicture&friendID=44496103&albumId=1918757&authKey=SH6gF8Tig0oyOeHFdoof07HuSYdPiHd%2b%2fY53DJ87WMuiKXKfDuG3zw%2bHkdcPq8eb9inn41q69T7SkfJXi7xBeJonguUj7ELfWlewbb1440g%3d

Click here to view MeL’s Album: UnBELIZEable Friends!
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewPicture&friendID=44496103&albumId=1918863&authKey=7N0SZSZACFQyENWRhRRBP2pBNJ9cmLlfO%2b0%2f9SZbvNe0%2bXjy33AsUQBdo9Vl7U984xkELsOnpaaeXO6bgtjCEHQw9I4Llrw6N5SGlqcM4Vw%3d

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MeL_Q_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

One of Belize's Jewels! The food, service,atmosphere and value can not be beat. The staff gets my thumbs up!
Best place on Peninsula to eat. Just renovated and expanded to even better accomodate the many local patrons relying on this establishment for consistently excellent meals.
Cant wait to go back!!!!

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
Thank BMannsfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

My wife and I spent three nights at Maya Beach Hotel, which is located about 6 miles north of Placencia village. The beachfront property is isolated from other resorts and also has a great restaurant with a fun menu and cocktail list. Ellen and John are amazing hosts and their employees were great as well. The pool there is new and very clean. We stayed in the Coconut Room, which is a ocean view, top floor unit with it’s own deck area. Not all the rooms have these features so ask for it if available. They have their own pier which is great for catching sunrises and laying in a hammock for a quick nap. The sandy beach there also seems cleaner and better maintained than most other places in Placencia.. We took the kayaks out to False Caye and did some snorkeling out there. Getting to the Placencia village is not as easy as it seems, taxi or the bus is definitely recommended. Taking the bicycles out to check out local art galleries (e.g. Lola's) and heading north to Placencia Hotel was fun as well. In a couple of years, once the roads are paved, the whole area will look very different and perhaps more crowded. Go sooner than later if possible. Another place nearby to check out is Mangos, a fun couple runs the bar there, go for some rum tasting.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaftPunkCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
778 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing