We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Bodrum
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice and will definitely be back. The rooms are great, the location incredible and the food at the Bistro by far the best I have had in the Caribbean/Central america. John and Ellen make great hosts and have managed to create a real gem here on the beach. They can organize anything and the staff can make just about any drink you can think off. The only problem is figuring out how to try everything on the Bistro menu before leaving......

Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CapnIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    86
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
107
303
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Maya Beach Hotel during our week long trip to Belize (Aug 09) and we had an amazing time! The hotel is warm and welcomming with a beautiful indoor/outdoor restaurant and small pool - all perfectly situated on the beach. When we started our trip, the Maya Beach Hotel was our only pre-booked destination (mainly due to the ease of online booking throughtheir website and the friendly emails with the hotel's staff), and once we got there everything else seemed to fall perfectly into place. If you're planning a low-key trip and are looking for a bit more freedom than that provided by some huge and hoighty all-inclusive, I've written a summary of our experience below :)

Although we met guests there that flew from Belize Airport to the airport in Placencia, we took the bus from Belize City to Dangriga and then switched right on to the bus to Placencia. The trip was a total of less than $10 and had the bonus of local flavor, music and scenery. There are employees of the bus companies that guide you to your buses with no hassle involved. We told our bus driver that we were going to the Maya Beach Hotel (he accidentally missed it and then took the whole bus back some 100 yards to stop directly in front of the hotel!).

The hotel's website is rather modest with its descriptions of the hotel amenities, and we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful restaurant and and beach facilities. The restaurant is simple and elegant, looking right out towards the water (the warm night beeze is one of its best features). It has a full bar that also serves to the pool right next to it, and the waitstaff were so incredibly nice and thoughtful - and generous with there time whenever we were curious about local this or local that.

Needless to say, we were instantly taken in by the charm of the place. We stayed in the Hummingbird Suite, which is described as 'beach basic' on the website, but the 'basic' bed was decorated with pretty fresh flowers and the double room was more spacious and comfortable than we really needed.

On our first day we borrowed two of the hotel's sit-on-top kayaks and went out to a small mangrove island, a 45 minute paddle from the Maya Hotel beach). Per Ellen's suggestions we spent some time snorkeling a shallow reef just off the island and then paddled back to the Hotel. Later, we borrowed the hotel's bicycles and rode about 8 miles down the peninsula to Placencia Village - it was really cute with small stores, restaurants and a nice strip of beach at the end. Ellen provided us with information on the dives that run out of Placencia and arranged for one of the dive shops to pick us in the morning and we had an awesome second day doing a two tank dive at the Silk Cayes with lunch on this tiny beautiful beach of an island. The dives were beautiful and after which the dive tour took us snorkelling near the lobster catchers where we got to see a bunch of rays and turtles feasting on the throw-away lobster parts.

We spent the rest of our trip lounging around the Hotel - we ordered drinks in the pool, made use of the hammocks and chairs on beach, and relaxed under the shaded cabana at the the end of the Hotel's beautiful dock. Aside from the dive trips, we ended up eating most of our meals at the Hotel - this was not our initial plan - but the food and service was just too good! All of the dishes were lovely (although I especially loved the pizza).

Our entire time at Maya Beach Hotel, it just felt like things couldn't get any better :)

Also, Ellen helped provided us with great suggestions and helped us to figure out our next steps in Belize (which ended up being a couple of days in San Ignacio - if you go there, go on the ATM caving tour! - and our last days on Caye Caulker where we did another day of diving that included the Blue Hole).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhobocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Excellent food and accommodations. Would highly recommend the Agua Villa house for a family with children. Private pool and deck right on the beach is priceless. If you are looking for nightlife it's a long way to placencia (15-20 minutes by cab) and you may be happier there if that's what you're after. The atmosphere at maya beach is quiet and peaceful.

Ellen and John at the Maya Beach hotel are two of the nicest folks you'll ever meet. Trust Ellen to set up tours and get you good value. Ask and take any advice you need regarding where to go and what to see and do. Tours and excursions will pick you up right at the hotel so the distance isn't a concern for that.

The food at the bistro is just amazing.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

For the last three years, I have been going to the Maya Beach Hotel. Over that time, I have stayed a total of about two and a half months. I've been there for work with a colleague, I've been there for a family vacation, and I've been there just to relax with a friend. I've stayed in two of their hotel rooms (a friend stayed in a third) and rented two of their houses. They are all fabulous and comfortable!

You won't find a nicer, more friendly place to stay on the Placencia Peninsula. And, frankly, you won't find any restaurant that is better in *all* of Belize! (I also like Hanna's in Cayo and that fabulous Indian restaurant across from the Princess Hotel in Belize City, but for creativity and delightful food, the Bistro at Maya Beach is the best.)

A recent and pleasant addition is an enlarged outdoor restaurant/bar (it used to be hard some nights to get a table without a reservation!) and a beautiful new pool. Yvette, Becky, Jerry, and Oscar are all fabulous wait staff who have been there the three years I've been visiting. They are quite helpful and non-obtrusive. And the owners -- Ellen and John -- are a lot of fun. Make sure you talk to Ellen about food and wine pairings: it is a real specialty of the Bistro.

You can arrange any sort of tour you want out of the hotel. Ellen is *really* good at finding the best match for your interests. You might *think* you will get a better deal by doing all the leg work and research yourself, but you won't. She knows everyone's prices and who are the best guides, who has the best scuba equipment, the most reliable boat, etc. Favorites of mine are the Monkey River tour and diving (especially with Robert's Grove, but I hear that a new one, Avadon, is even better). Other tours could include the scarlet macaws at Red Bank, snorkeling with whale sharks, and -- of course -- archaeological ruins. My experience is that it doesn't cost more to have Ellen book the tours/activities for you. So it really is great deal, and you get her up-to-date experience with all the tour operators.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KuhulUnAjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed in the Toucan room and had a very lovely visit. The grounds are beautiful. The pool is small, but very nice and a well placed tree shades it a bit in the evening for those who burn easy. The bistro food is fantastic and has a very nice beach side setting. There is a lovely dock and quaint pier end cabana with swings, chairs and a hammock for a pleasant days end reflection. Everything seemed very clean and well maintained. Our hot water was not working, but John came promptly up and fixed the valve. No problems afterward. Ellen provided a key to the Hibiscus room for us to shower in the interim which I found to be astounding service. The Hibiscus room was very nice as well. The A/C was very quiet and worked very well. Ellen was kind enough to make many phone calls for us (our rental car A/C died) and also made snorkeling arrangements for us. The hotel has two modern computers with reliable internet connections and a well stocked library. Plenty of parking and right on the highway. About 10 minutes to Placencia makes it a perfect stay, not too close not too far. $80 in the off season which I found to be a great value and they had a reasonably priced menu as well. Just a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JABarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We went to Belize for the first time after months of research and communication with realtors to look at buying investment property. So this was a fact-finding mission, mostly "business" with some relaxation built in. We knew we were not doing any tours as it wasn't in our budget and we are coming back in march for a week anyway.
Maya Beach Hotel was recommended to us by our realtor, Bradley Rhinehart at Century 21 Belize.
The Coconut Room was 2nd floor next to the owners' place with a balcony overlooking the beach and dock. It had a queen bed, shower bathroom and closet as well as a couch and some other furniture. It had a water filter near the sink for drinking/brushing your teeth. Every night as we ascended the stairs we were shocked by the sky above us - so many stars that your feel like you are going to touch them! I wouldn't call it nice, but neither do they - it was as they describe it and a great choice for us - it was $75 USD/night which allowed us to splurge on the great food and drinks at the restaurant - "The Bistro". We actually ate ALL of our meals there - we couldn't even justify going anywhere else as we had little time and it was the best on the pennisula apparently. The happy hour scene is lively with many local professionals and expats coming for drinks and conversation. It was great for us to meet and talk to people who made the move to Belize from the US/Canada.
If you are looking for a luxurious room setting, this is not it. If you are going for water sports, etc. and won't be in your room much, it's a great choice. I also assume you know why you are going to Placencia - which is a quirky place with 1 main road just being paved. I won't review Placencia here. There are other rooms and guest houses and I assume they are all the same quality...they are weathered, beachy, basic. Most have AC which we definitely used to seal the room from bugs as the screens have many gaps.
The best aspect of this place is the staff - they are the most wonderful people who spend time chatting with you, they know your name immediately and it's a special thing to have some one use your name when they say hello, etc. We loved meeting Becky, Oscar and Cedrick to name a few. The owners are not really gregarious as some tend to be, but they are friendly and have interesting backgrounds. Mostly you have staff at your disposal when you need them, and are left in peace when you don't. I actually felt like it was my house with my own personal staff vs. being a guest at someone else's place.
We took the free kayaks and snorkel equipment to the Caye just across from the hotel...about 45 minutes each way and good snorkeling. There are many tours available that pick you up at the hotel and the owners know everybody. Free internet access for guests helped us stay in touch with home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k2escott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

the beach was fabulous, just watch out for sand fleas. The hotel bistro was amazing, sassy shrimp, mojo chicken and the nut encrusted fish were our faves. I would go back for sure

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with king or queen beds and nice beach views, and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing