We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group tour from Belize Airport to Placencia”

Roam Belize - Day Tours
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great group tour from Belize Airport to Placencia”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family and I used Roam Belize in May of 2014. The van was comfortable and could have easily handled a group of seven and luggage. The van had a secure wifi hotspot too. We always felt safe and comfortable. Our driver was Angel Lopez, he was a great ambassador for his country and a good conversation maker with all age groups. He knew the Mayan culture, local eateries, trees, plants, good places to stop and things to experience along the way. We stopped at the Mayflower ruins (4 miles off highway), Maria's roadside, open-air, food stand and the Chocolate store on one trip. Using them again, we stopped at the in-land Blue Hole, Berta's roadside tamale stand and the Belize Zoo. All great experiences thanks to Angel and his joyful disposition.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaybird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    9
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Plains, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome day trip”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whenever we go on a diving vacation we like to take a land trip the day before we fly. Roam's trips were reasonably priced and came with lunch. Julie was terrific at setting things up and our guide Angel was amazing. We learned a lot about southern Belize from him. We ended up being the only 4 that day. The zipline tour operator was charming and lunch was great. We didn't see any wildlife floating down the river but it was fun anyway. He took us around Num li Punit to end the day and really knew his stuff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best rate for airport transfer”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I used Roam Belize to get from the airport to Amber Sunset Resort (between Belmopan and San Ignacio). Julie was conscientious and quick in responding to our emails as we were getting organized for our trip. The rate she quoted us was comparatively cheaper than many of the other transfer agencies we contacted. The even better news is that the quality of service was high, despite the lower price. She was very patient with our constantly changing plans, and arranged for Efrain to meet us at the airport when we arrived in April. Efrain was a courteous and safe driver (we saw many reckless drivers on the road, and even had one as a tour guide -- though NOT through Roam Belize) and very fun and friendly. His van was older, but well maintained and had functioning air conditioning (you might be surprised at how unusual this is!). He was relaxed, and asked us if we needed to make any stops. In addition, he asked us about our interests, and suggested things for us to do. Because we were in no hurry to get to the resort, Efrain took us to a grocery store to stock up on beer, water and snacks, then to the Belize Zoo (he kept reassuring us that he did not mind waiting and that we could take as long as we wanted) and then to a local restaurant to have the famous Belizean Stew Chicken. I have to say, after that meal, we ordered Stew Chicken at every other restaurant we went to, but none were as good as the restaurant that Efrain took us to. We thoroughly enjoyed his company and knowledge of Belize. We also arranged, through Julie, for Efrain to pick us up at Amber Sunset Resort to return to Belize City, and he was extremely punctual. We highly recommend Julie and Efrain at Roam Belize!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterWNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sailed w/ Quo Vadis, stayed at Belizean Nirvana”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Julie has been remarkably helpful, and the sailing outfit and hotel she organized for us have been beyond our expectations! We sailed for three days w/ Skipper Rafael and Magda aboard Quo Vadis catamaran. This is my second time in Belize, and already I want to repeat this trip. Rafael and Magda are phenomenal! Not to forget our faithful cab driver Julie arranged for us, Fernando. Fernando and our Skipper organized a work-around due to our luggage being put on the wrong flight. What they did to help us get our luggage alone warrants 5+ stars! I really can't say enough good things about sailing aboard Quo Vadis w/ the team of Rafael and Magda. They are excellent sailors, divers, and hosts and I look forward to our next trip w/ them. Our sailing trip was blessed on two different days by a pod of Dolphins! Rafael took us to Middle Long Caye, Tobacco Caye, and South Water Caye, along w/ taking a really pretty route to Placencia through some other small cayes. The diving/snorkelling was some of the best I've done in the Caribbean. Placencia is a fun town, and the we are staying at Belizean Nirvana there. We have already met the owners several times, and they are wonderful hosts! They have been super-helpful and I should probably write another review for them when done this one for Roam Belize. Julie: thank you from the bottom of our hearts for finding such amazing people to drive us, sail us, and host us on this trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to get around Belize”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We needed to get from Placencia to Belize International Airport and had all day to do so. We could have flown, but decided to hire Roam Belize and travel by land making it an all day venture. Angel picked us up in his air conditioned minivan on time in Placencia and we traveled north, stopping wherever we chose to explore. We stopped at Mayflower Bocawina National Park for a walk along the trails and the Blue Hole National Park for a swim in the cenote. Angel stopped at his long time favourite road side tamale booth along the Hummingbird Highway and bought us some fresh homemade original tamales to try. Once we arrived in Belmopan we stopped for lunch at a local eatery /market for authentic Belizean food. Angel ordered us salbutes and a flavourful rice drink and he bought us a local guava to try. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with Angel. He is very knowledgeable about the area and has an easy going, personable manner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SBCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roam Belize - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Roam Belize - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing