We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation at Miller's Landing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miller's Landing Resort
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The minute our large family, ages 6 to 73, arrived at Miller’s Landing we felt the magic that Annie and Gary Miller have created. We were warmly greeted and gently assisted in settling into the cabanas and bungalows, then encouraged to dive into the pool and ocean because, though dinner was ready, it could wait while we un-wound from our long travel day. Thus began our family’s amazing two week vacation at Miller’s Landing.

Each morning, after great sleeps, we awoke to beautiful birds singing in the native trees, bushes and flowers which Annie and Gary have kept on the property. As we stepped out into the sunshine, the sand paths around the resort and the beach front were carefully being raked as if it were a Zen garden.

We purchased the partial meal plan of breakfasts and dinners. Our days began with fabulous Belizean coffee, fresh juice, fruit, home made granola and freshly baked goodies. Our dinners were equally wonderful. Annie and Gary quietly served us delicious full course dinners while our family, seated at two large tables, shared and reminisced. And yes, Annie’s pizza was amazing

Some days we stayed on site and enjoyed the bikes, kayaks, pool and beach. Other days we took advantage of Annie’s keen knowledge of southern Belize and went on her suggested day trips.

Annie and Gary were generous with their time, attentive to our needs and not at all intrusive. They are unique and special people who have truly created an authentic Belizean Beach Eco Lodge. We feel fortunate to have been a part of their treasured home and property for two wonderful weeks. It was a perfect place for our 50th anniversary family trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynnKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2015

It was amazing having your family! I think of you all often and glad we were able to help make your vacation memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Millers landing has a sort of eco feel to it with it's Belizian style and architecture. If you want a place that is off the beaten path slightly, yet close enough to the things Placencia has to offer, Millers Landing is a great choice.

Ann and Gary are 2 of the nicest people you will ever meet and both have very interesting stories on how they ended up at Millers Landing. They are also very well connected and can get you into any fishing or sightseeing excursion you'd like. We got picked up by a boat right on their Millers property.

We used their bikes to pedal into Placencia on a number of occasions, but taxi's are not far away if you prefer. Traveling at night with the bikes is problematic as there is very little ambient light on the way back to Millers and at times, very difficult to find the road... but it was fun!

The accommodations are rustic and this is not the Hilton by any stretch, but Millers Landing has a certain charm to it. It really was a find by Ann and Gary and I can see why they love it there so much.

As other reviews have stated, Anne makes a great pizza and Gary serves the coldest Belikin anywhere in Belize.

We stayed in their basic room but I'd highly recommend the upgraded accommodations so you have access to a fridge and other amenities since you are a distance from restaurants and grocery stores.

Overall, Gary and Ann make this place special and if you come for no other reason, visit Millers Landing to meet these super nice people.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms have a fridge which is a huge benefit in Belize.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwf180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just spent 6 days at Miller's Landing and it was the best choice and experience we could have imagined!! Staying with Ann and Gary felt like staying with friends; they were fun, gave great advice, and successfully walked the line of being helpful and invested in our trip without being intrusive or directing. It is a beautiful place; the right combination of comfort and natural beauty without the distraction of phony resort life. ALSO! Ann's cooking was absolutely the best we tasted. We went to some of the places that other's have reviewed highly but without a doubt, our best meals were at Miller's Landing. You need to try it! The pizza is great, but so was everything else!!!! 3 Cheers to Ann and Gary for their graciousness, their love and preservation of the area, their honest input and suggestions, and their committment to being authentic to themselves and Placencia!! Could not have been better!! (Plus we loved their dogs!!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2015

Thanks so much for your kind words! We are so fortunate to have such, totally amazing guests, now friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Miller's Landing was the first place we stayed during a 2 week tour of the country and we stayed for 5 nights. As others have said, it is a little off the beaten path but that is what we were looking for. The accommodations were quite nice and a great value. The grounds are really beautiful. Annie and Gary are great people with lots of stories and an extensive knowledge of Belize. They will help arrange anything you want to do which is a big plus if you haven't been to an area before. We dined here 3 of the five nights and each meal was excellent (and, again, a good value). The continental breakfast with fresh breads and fruit and Belizean coffee was just perfect for starting the day. Annie and Gary keep their beach cleaner than just about any other we saw in Belize. It makes for a nice entry to the ocean and just a great place to sit and sip a Belikan (which they keep super cold!!). Miller's Landing has free bikes and kayaks. We used the bikes to ride north through Seine Beight and have dinner at Mangos (go there!). All in all, a very nice place and we enjoyed our stay at Miller's Landing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AK49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed it. Anne and Gary engaged in after dinner coversations at their bar about Belize places to visit, the culture, etc. Very down-to-earth people. Would recommend this resort to those who don't need a schedule of entertainment. Great location right on the beach with plenty of plants in bloom. They have two well-behaved and friendly dogs that add extra protection, too (not that it's needed). Spending 2 weeks at the same place isn't my style, but here I grew so relaxed that I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

If you are looking for quiet, comfortable accomodations a bit off the beaten path, stay here. Your attentive hosts, both fun loving and well- informed, will help you fine tune your stay in the Placencia area, or just hang out at their lovely beachside spot with the doggies.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelVillaNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We were in Belize for 3 weeks in February and stayed out on the cayes (Tobacco, Southwater and Caulker) for 2 weeks and 5 nights in Placencia proper. We ended our vacation with 3 nights at Annie and Gary's Miller's Landing Resort. It was great, everything accessible but NO beach vendors, fast cars, or litter. Walk the beach or bicycle to your hearts content, or just sit by the pool and relax (RELAX is the key word here). We celebrated a birthday with Annie's excellent pizza and a few cold beers. We would definitely do it again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingtoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
679 reviews
2.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#15 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
641 reviews
4.2 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#11 of 20 in Placencia
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Landing Resort

Address: 3 Miles North of the Placencia Point, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £62 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside eco-resort set in lush tropical gardens, private luxury cabanas with refrigerators & coffee makers, also standard rooms. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, hotel specializes in groups, excellent fly fishing, sailing, snorkeling, diving, jungle trips, Mayan ruins, caving. Complimentary bicycles & kayaks.. Can book entire resort for groups, can sleep up to 17 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Miller's Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Landing Hotel
Millers Landing Placencia
Miller's Landing Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing