We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Millers Landing a real jewel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miller's Landing Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Millers Landing a real jewel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

I spent 2 wks at Miller Landing Nov 2007. I have been going there for the past 8 yrs once a year. I prefer Millers Landing because, it is so peaceful and low key. The management is very friendly and go all out to make their guests feel special. Annies pizzas are terrific-but she has many other delicious island recipes which she prepares from fresh ingredients. Theres lots of privacy & beautiful landscaping, which makes it nice to hang out around the pool or enjoy the spectacular beach a short stroll from your room. Rooms are simply decorated in Belizean style & quite comfortable. I especially felt privileged to be there for a musical concert when Gary & friends held an impomptu jam session. Gary is a great entertainer.
Annie is a real sweet person with interesting stories of her travels & ocean adventures, which she is more than willing to share with her guests.
Annie & Gary were very helpful in making reservations for both inland advemture & offshore diving trips. I spent some time bicycling into the nearby villages & kayaking on my last trip, (bikes & kayaks provided free of charge).
I recommend this place to my friends regularly. It is an extra ordinary experience. If you like a unique Carribean experince this place might be for you.

  • Liked — the general relaxed atmosphere- great place to unwind in natural setting
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank destina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We were looking for modest accommodation in Placencia. Miller's landing is in the right price range and location, but sadly a little neglected and run down. We had our meals at the surrounding high end resorts and in town, which was a great experience.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — poorly maintained
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weltenbummler_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

We booked a room at this eccentric little compound since rooms at Robert's were totally booked. To begin with, Placencia is an extremely rustic destination and other than Turtle Inn and Robert's the hotels are all very modest.

When we checked into our rustic cabin the first thing that set off bells in my head was that we were instructed on the use of the "radio shack" type burglar alarm at the front door to our cabin. The owners told us that they have had people "snooping" around and it was just a precaution. Great.

The owners cook meals in the bar/dining cabin. There were only 1 or 2 other parties eating there and the mood was quiet and a bit awkward. Gary frequently perched behind the bar, smoking and watching TV while his wife brought the food out. The food itself was not great but plentiful.

The biggest problem for us and the one that ultimately led to our early departure were the neighbor's dogs that barked, nonstop all night long for the 3 nights that we stayed there. The neighbor was a US citizen that bought the house, put up a chain link fence with 2 guard dogs and was never there. A caretaker looked after the dogs but despite the Miller's requests, did nothing about the barking. Ultimately Gary took matters into his own hands but by then, we had enough.

We ended up moving one hotel over to a place called LaruBeya which was excellent, clean, modern with a great pool and wonderful staff. It was more expensive but at that point we didn't care. The owners did not offer to refund the remainder of our stay there and we didn't argue the point.

If you're looking for a cabin on the beach, you might like this place but make sure the dogs are no longer an issue.

  • Liked — natural setting
  • Disliked — barking dogs.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broasterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

This is a quiet place outside of Placencia. The rooms are clean and Annie does an amazing job cooking and making you feel at home. Don't expect something lavish or deluxe, but do expect to get personal service at a great price. Annie hooked us up with a guide and trip to the Jaguar preserve...it was amazing. The guide was great and it was becuase of Annie and all her connections. Others guests on the tour who were staying a big resorts complained about their lack of service and personal attention. No air cond. in the rooms. Be ready to pay for taxi's each time you want to get to town.

  • Liked — Excellent personal service
  • Disliked — no air conditioning and a bit too far out of town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shellsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

Coming from a week in the jungle at a high-end eco-resort, laid back Miller's Landing was a welcome contrast and the perfect end to a great vacation. Gary and Annie (and Shephard puppy Brandi) immediately made us feel at home, like visiting family... the ones you like. Nothing fancy here, just excellent home-cooked food, relaxed and warm hospitality, cold Belikin, beautiful flowered grounds, a gorgeous beach and the private enjoyment of your own personal paradise.

Always attentive but never intrusive, Gary and Annie went out of their way to make our four day stay one we won't forget. Running out to surprise us with our favorite Vodka, eating Gary's home made bread, Annie whipping up some excellent dinner off-menu to accomodate my vegetarian diet and pleasant conversation all around are just a few examples of their graciousness and generosity.

We look forward to going back as soon as we can, next time with the kids.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertratsNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

when we climbed into bed here there was sand in the sheets. i think the millers need to hire a maid, because our room was not clean. for the prices they charge, there are better options in the area. also they charge a lot for food,$30US for a 12" pizza, $10US for granola w/ yogurt. my opinion is don't land at the landing

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank sunburned-gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAnne, owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2008
I am looking at my menu, my pizza's start at $16.50US, the most expensive has lobster and shrimp, and all vegetables is $25.00. There is none that are $30.00. Also the yogurt and granola is $8.00US and comes with unlimited fresh ground coffee, fresh squeezed juice, homemade breads, and a plateful of fresh fruits.
If there is sand is your room, I am sorry, but the sheets are clean to start with. We have buckets of water to clean your feet outside of every room. Let me know if you have some miraculous cure to keeping all sand out. I would like to know..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

Subject says it all -- a nonstop procession of fleas invaded our bed all night long. After massacring the first 50, I gave up and raised the white flag.

This was pretty gross - we didn't have this problem anywhere else in Belize or Guatemala.

Still itchy a week later.

  • Liked — The owners were nice.
  • Disliked — Pests.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McTravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAnne, owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2008
We don't have fleas. There are sand flies in the Tropic's. They are nearly microscopic, so I can't see how possibly, you could have killed 50 of them. If ever I have a guest bothered by sand flies, I give them Avon SKin so Soft complimentary. I suggest on the website they bring it with them. These guests came in at night, only booked one night, put their stuff in the room, due to the fact that they had reservations for dinner at Turtle Inn, where they were booked for the next night. Turtle Inn is also, about 4x the price. They have the same sand fleas that this whole peninsula has. Not one other guest complained. They were lucky to find a hotel here willing to take them for Dec 31st for one night. And to Jennifer & Nathan, why didn't you say anything to us?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.7 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Landing Resort

Property: Miller's Landing Resort
Address: 3 Miles North of the Placencia Point, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside eco-resort set in lush tropical gardens, private luxury cabanas with refrigerators & coffee makers, also standard rooms. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, hotel specializes in groups, excellent fly fishing, sailing, snorkeling, diving, jungle trips, Mayan ruins, caving. Complimentary bicycles & kayaks.. Can book entire resort for groups, can sleep up to 17 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Miller's Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Landing Hotel
Millers Landing Placencia
Miller's Landing Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing