We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miller's Landing Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 3 October 2005

Miller's Landing was simply a wonderful place! It was my first visit to Central America, and a great way to start. Yes, it was a bit "out of the way" if you want to go into the town of Placencia often, especially at night. However, my friend and I found that a walk along the shore into town was great exercise in the morning and a super way to see the sights. Taxis are always available if you need a ride to get back. Gary and Ann were superb hosts. Ann is the BEST cook, and everything she makes is absolutely fresh. They were also a great help in planning excursions and made all the arrangements for such things as the tour of the jaguar preserve and tours of the Mayan ruins. I'd definitely stay there again if I make it back down to Placencia.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank love2dive65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    22
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 August 2005

Miller's Landing is an excellent off the beaten path get away its a 15 minute bike ride to town and the bicycles are free. The meals are home cooked and Anne buys the food for each meal that day. The atmosphere is pleasant and you get a feel at home kind of feeling. It is not your typical high buck resort, but its clean, comfortable, and convenient. If you want crowds, noise, and wild games this is not the place. If you have your vacation planned and need a nice quiet place to sleep and rest in your off time call Gary and Anne at Millers Landing.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2005

I would not recommend this resort to anyone unless you like to be the only ones staying there besides the owners. Unlike typical "all inclusives" the meal plan here is not flexible. Most nights we would be the only ones eating dinner while the owners sat and hovered over us. This was very awkward, especially if you didn't care for the menu that night. The way the meal plan worked was not clearly articulated upon our arrival and if we weren't sitting in the dining area right when the owners wanted to serve us, they made no bones about expressing their irritation, which we found highly unprofessional. I thought this was a vacation, not my mom's house. All the meals are huge, so expect to eat a lot. With them hovering while you eat you feel obligated to eat everything, even if you aren't hungry or don't care for it.

For the day trips we weren't briefed on what to bring, so for example on one trip we were to bring our swim suits and no one told us to and we had to skip the swimming activity.

We picked this resort because it has a pool, very few resorts in Placencia do. The pool was nice, but wasn't worth all the hassles. The resort boasts a "natural Belize environment" but that really means they do as little landscaping as necessary.

All in all we'd not recommend anyone stay here. The unprofessionalism of the management and the isolation from the rest of the penninsula really put a damper on our vacation. We like to be independent travellers and not told when we have to eat dinner and only have one choice. Not to mention the price, it was by no means a good value. I say pass this one by...

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank snoopy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
For one, I never recommend the meal package, I want people to eat elsewhere. With 5 rooms only we don't have options on our meal plan, other than to ask what the guests like to eat. I agree completely with the dinner not being great, as with pasta 2 hours late for dinner is a lot. We normally close the restaurant by 8:00., So the guests that were here at 7: had a great dinner. By 9, we had to reheat everything;. As to too much food, We have plenty of animals to eat left overs. I have eaten at some of the top dollar places here and left hungry, I haven't wanted people to leave hungry.
As to not being told of what to bring on a trip, I always advise of what to bring, they organized the trip on their own, we were not even aware of where they were going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2005

We stayed in 4 palces in Belize and this was the least appealling and was not the cheapest. Don't believe all you hear about good food....we only had one meal here and that was enough. Also, we were the only 2 eating, so it was a bit wierd. We were due to stay 3 nights but only stayed one. I have a sever allergy to insect bites and had to leave after getting in excess of 50 bites in one night. Had to pay for 2 nights as cancellation fee. This was in the middle of our hoilday and everywhere we stayed before and after was great!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2005

Miller's Landing Review

We had an enjoyable time there, but if we were to do it all over, we would have stayed at some place nicer, or a place closer to the end of the peninsula, right in Placencia Village (where the action is). I do not advise to get one of the packages because you will feel obligated to eat there every single meal (there is nothing else to walk to except Robert’s Grove next door, which is excellent by the way). Anne is a good cook, and Gary is a nice guy, but the resort is very isolated, and taking a taxi into Placencia Village (for nightlife and reasonable food and drink) is about $7.50 US each way! Often we were the only ones eating there, which just felt weird. If you want to “unplug” and not talk to anyone, this is more your type of place. If you are looking for nicer accommodations with a pool I'd say spring for the extra bucks and do Robert's Grove (first rate) or perhaps Kitty's Place. Do you have really big bucks and want to best of the best? Do Turtle Inn, but I wonder if it is worth all the extra as compared to Robert’s Grove. Robert’s Grove books up well in advance by the way, and for good reason. Be advised if you are a backpacker looking for the rustic, not caring about a pool, one of the places in Placencia Village right in town might be best for you.

We chose Placencia over Ambergris and Key Caulker because it is on land, and easier to do the day tours. Mayan ruins were really cool. The Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve was very interesting, but beware—the gnats are ferocious, and standard bug spray does not work. Bring skin so soft, or something equivalent. If you really don’t care about inland tours and want more nightlife, party, and snorkeling, and fishing, Ambergris, Key Caulker, or any of the other islands are probably better suited for you. Far south in Placencia, the reef is 22 miles away, v.s. Ambergris has the reef right off shore, roughly 2/3 mile away. So the snorkeling and beaches are nicer on the keys. We loved the keys in Placenica—you could not find a better place, but they are 45 minutes to an hour boat ride each way to get there.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank gusthebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.7 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Landing Resort

Property: Miller's Landing Resort
Address: 3 Miles North of the Placencia Point, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside eco-resort set in lush tropical gardens, private luxury cabanas with refrigerators & coffee makers, also standard rooms. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, hotel specializes in groups, excellent fly fishing, sailing, snorkeling, diving, jungle trips, Mayan ruins, caving. Complimentary bicycles & kayaks.. Can book entire resort for groups, can sleep up to 17 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Miller's Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Landing Hotel
Millers Landing Placencia
Miller's Landing Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing