We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lydia's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lydia's Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petersburg, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Belize”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed at Lydia's for years and years. Would still be staying their if I hadn't built my own house in Placencia. Which I wouldn't have been able to do without the extremely helpful Lydia.
It's not about the price it's all about the location and what you really need to relax. If you need more than this then stay someplace else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
26
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

simple guesthouse on the footpath up from the dock. relatively cheap, very friendly and helpful owner. clean shared bathrooms, hot water and free wi-fi (a bit slow). would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Lydia's for 2 weeks and enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in the newest unit, a one bedroom place. It's set back a way from the beach, but still just a 3-4 minute walk. Lydia is very nice and helpful. Laundry facilities are right there and are free, so you can pack fewer clothes and just wash what you have here. The unit was clean and plenty spacious for the two of us. It has a full kitchen and a nice big refrigerator/freezer! Two fans and a small portable air conditioner help keep the heat down. We recommend this place for travelers who aren't looking for Hilton style upper end resort accomodations. It's nice and it's comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This guesthouse has all that a backpacker needs, great prices ($ 10 shared room), wifi, hot showers, laundry, and cleanliness. It doesn’t have a special backpacker vibe, but Placencia itself doesn’t looked to have it either. Apart from that, Placencia is truly beautiful with its awesome beaches, is surely worth staying a day or 2.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan Ignacio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Lydia's guest house has several cabanas right on the beach. They also seem to use the name Las Amigas. Very reasonable price around 50 us for nice big cabana with full kitchen. On beach in quiet area North of main town but only 5 minutes to restaurnats etc. Lydia is really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed in a room with a double bed with a very nicely powerful fan. The shared bathrooms have hot water and are kept clean. We stayed in the house (not apartments), in the front room on the ground floor. There are some chairs and hammocks outside and the beach for swimming is opposite the house. It's a wee trek to the main dock and most restaurents, but pretty close to the Water Taxi.
We walked past quite a few hotels and asked to see some rooms - lydia's was the furthest we walked, but was the best room-price. The house also has a kitchen with a fridge and Lydia can do your washing, or you can get a basin to do washing in yourself.
Lydia is pretty helpful as well. Overall a we stayed longer than planned, as it was pretty nice and not too expensive for Belize - 20 US.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankypankyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Lydia's Guesthouse has 8 two-person rooms, and a few bungalows (I did not stay in bungalows so this review does not pertain to them). The rooms are pretty spartan (beds, fan, nightstand). A big plus for Lydia's is that there is a refrigerator in the guesthouse, plus there is an attached kitchen. There is also a front patio area with chairs and hammock, then the same thing on the second floor as well. There are 2 shared bathrooms downstairs, and 2 upstairs. The kitchen is limited but functional. Unfortunately it seems guests have a habit of leaving food in the fridge after they've left. It wasn't "gross", but it was inconvenient. There is also wireless internet service, or you can use a guest computer for a small fee. Lydia herself is very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable.

I saw a few roaches, but none in the rooms or in the bathroom. I would blame their presence on Lydia's though; it is Central America, there are roaches.

Lydia's is at the north end of the sidewalk, so it isn't right in the heart of everything, but you can walk all the way to the south end of the sidewalk in less than 10 minutes, so I was very happy with the location.

I felt very safe there, and would absolutely stay there again if I went back to Placencia. If you are on a budget, I don't think you are going to do better than Lydia's.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#4 of 27 in Placencia
103 reviews
6.3 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia's Guesthouse

Property: Lydia's Guesthouse
Address: North end of Placencia village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lydia's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia's Guesthouse Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing