We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belize is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I dont understand how anyone can give a bad review of this hotel or the grounds!

The rooms are actually one bedroom suites with all brand new stainless steel appliances, granit counter tops and marble floors. The bathroom was all marble with double sinks and jacuzzi bath. Our patio had a lounger on it and a beautifull view of pool and gardens.

The staff were wonderful and very friendly.

I am a very picky eater and loved every meal on the pier restaurant, The a la carte was very good as well. They grow all their own veggies, fruits and herbs on the grounds. The garden is pretty impressive.

We only went on one excusion which was a diving trip. The ride out was a bit hairy but that was due to the wind. The dive was very nice but we picked a day that the visibility was not all that great but we met a couple (Hi Jacqueline & Michel) that went on a few more dives than us and visibility had improved.

On our way back from the dive, we had the honor of being visited by dolphins!!!

We are not big on the nightly activities but each night there was a different person playing music at the pier bar. The Christmas even party was Kareoke but we had a blast. The cook is an amazing signer. If you go request a Gun n Roses song by the cook, you will be blown away!

Negative feedback: is that there are alot of no see-ems. Suggestion, go in to the town pharmacie and ask for their natural mixture. It smells like citronella but it worked or my husband. As for me, my purfum seemed to keep them away "Musk by Jovan".
Also this really has nothing to do with the hotel but when booking they should mention the traveling will be longer than they say and also that you will have to pay both leaving taxes, in Roatan and Belize which in all honesty I think is a total poke!

We have traveled to alot of All Inclusives and this one is by far the best we have ever been to.

We will definatly go back & hopefully in a few years we will be living in Belize.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brattanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

nothing included,cofee machine did nt work, shower handle stay in my hand, the buffet had 5 choice( terrible): beans, rice, cold food. included wine not good. we spend 2000$ more for eating outside the resort. not allowed to smoke. cost 25$ us to go to the village each time.!!! tours and excursions very expensive. the staff was great but there are not organized at all from welcoming a lot of people. we were there for christmas and they did nt do anything special for the occasion( we had karaoke!!!!) the beach is plenty of rocks and sand's fleas..the room was nt at all like in the web site, we had to pay for the water in the mini-bar...very bad experience...there was construction the first two day we arrive...and there plenty of rocks on the beach!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliejuly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We were very fortunate to get a great package deal with Sunwing Vacations for this resort. We flew from Toronto to Roatan, Honduras, where we were to get our connecting flight, which is a 12-seater Cessna. We were greeted at the airport with snacks and refreshments while we waited for our flight. The view from the air from Roatan to Placencia, Belize was breathtaking.

When we arrived at the hotel, we got a welcome punch on the patio and met some great new friends (shout out to Marc and Helen!!). From there, we were taken to our room, which was top-notch. Marble tile throughout, new furnishings...beautiful. Our "garden view" room actually overlooked the pool and the ocean!! What a deal.

Each buffet meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner, was served on the pier restaurant. A la carte (which was good, but not fantastic) was served in the main lodge. The buffet meals were delicious. We walked to the side of the pier in the mornings to feed the fish bread each day and and at night, the ocean was lighted so you could see the marine life swimming around.

Our Sunwing vacationers (around 50 people) seemed to be the only guests at the resort, so it was like our own private place. The pool deck had lots of space and the loungers were top of the line!! Very comfortable. Tony at the pool bar looked after us almost every day and was super-funny. Poolside drink service all day, too.

The country of Belize is beautiful and the people are so friendly and proud.

The only negative we can say was the BUGS!! The no-see-ums were brutal. We were covered with bug bites and the itching kept us up more than one night. We heard some remedies including lime juice to relieve the itching, which we heard on our flight out, so never got a chance to try. Also, the Muskol for ticks and gnats is apparently a good repellent. The regular and deep woods OFF did not really work.

All in all, we really enjoyed our vacation. We relaxed each day, got plenty of sun and our accommodations were great. There is huge development going on, including the building of a large marina for yachts and sailboats and a large hotel/casino to the north of the resort and a new airport about 10 minutes away which will accommodate larger planes as well as private jets. The construction activity was not distruptive during our stay. We do feel, however, that once the development is done, it will be a completely different resort where the common-folk who want to get away for some R&R will not feel welcome.
For now, though, if you get a chance to go, do it. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachesbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I went to Placencia on vacation in August and had some bad luck with the hotel we had originally booked. In the morning, we told that hotel that we would not be staying there and that we'd find another hotel. After driving around, we came upon the Placencia hotel, which has large, lovely grounds. They were happy to help us and gave us a beachfront private suite for the price of their cheapest room. They provided us with a welcome drink and walked us to the room. We were very pleased! The room was spacious and probably 20 feet from the ocean! Each day, they had employees rake the beach, keeping it clean and tidy. They had great food, available in the restaurant, or out on a pier over the water. The pool was large and uncrowded. We had a great time at the Placencia and would recommend it to anyone headed to that area. In terms of quality, it was much better than Laru Beya - and for a similar price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dante46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

In a tourist-driven city, you'd think customer service would be a priority; however, that is not the case at The Placencia. The rooms are MUCH smaller than what is shown and described and the front desk staff doesn't really care...about anything.
The pool and beach were really nice and the property has a lot of potential - they are doing a ton of construction (residences, gym, casino) and have some exciting , but they shouldn't ignore the customers that are there now!
Also, the restaurant food was overpriced and underwhelming, but the waitstaff was pretty nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigpimpinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We didn't quite know what to expect when we chose Belize as our vacation destination. All we knew is that we didn't want the ordinary beach and sand vacation. We wanted to start our next chapter in life with an adventure with a mix of RnR, something unique and new. That is exactly what we found in Placencia, Stoney Creek, Belize!

The adventure began when we landed in Roatan, Honduras after a looong detoured flight from Toronto -> Costa Rica -> Honduras. From Roatan we jetted on a 12 seater Cessna, and were flying in perfect view of the second largest barrier reef in the world. It was stunning! The flight was smooth and the pilot was even smoother. Although the small plane did frighten my husband a little bit, our unexpected and new journey began.
We arrived at the two room Mayan airport in Belize that had a runway the width of a large garage.

When we were transported to the hotel, we were introduced to the locale with warmth and excitement. We traveled about 10 minutes on the only major road in the peninsula to reach our destination. The hotel was gorgeous! The grounds are emmaculately manicured but the road outside a bi bumpy due to construction. I immediately noticed the organic garden from which the chef picks his ingredients to make us some delicious meals daily. The hotel accommodates approx 200 guests but during our stay, there were about 20 of us so we were spoiled with so much attention from the staff. I think there were more staff on grounds than patrons.

We had arrived in the afternoon hungry and tired and had missed the lunch buffet so the chef made whatever we wanted off the a la cart menu. My husband reminded the check in staff that we were here on our honeymoon and they had immediately upgraded our room to a beachfront villa.

The pool was our choice of relaxation on the days we didn't head out on an excursion. It was a hot bath for the most part. One of the nicest swim up bars i have been to. We met some amazing people there and made friends for life.
The hotel is located about 10 kms from the tip of the peninsula where the village is located. We spent a couple days soaking up the village and i was so happy not to find any commercial venues. I have a weak stomach but surprising didn't have a problem with the local food. I recommend Omar's creole grub when in the village. The family that runs it was charming and the place out of a novel. One amazing thing that the Placencia hotel provided is with is shuttle to and from the village even outside of regular route hours. The driver just asked us when we will finished dinner and we had our own personal cab waiting for.

The food was great and plentiful as there were not that many of us at the resort. We loved the mexican food the most! There wasn't much outside of the regular meals but we were full from the buffet. The a la cart option was wonderful too as we didn't need to book in advance. I'll never forget the tuna sashimi that the chef whipped up from the catch the one of our fellow honeymooners who caught it that morning and shared with the group. It melted in my mouth.

I read reviews on TripAdvisor and found some not so great reviews. From reading my review, it sounds like a completely different hotel than the one we visited. The only problems we encountered were that the AC was too high in the rooms but otherwise we had a lovely romantic getaway filled adventure and comfort. I highly recommend this hotel to divers and non-divers alike!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MzTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Although a few minutes from the airstrip, the shuttle was on time for pickup and the driver very sweet. The short ride to the hotel was smooth. The compound is rich with green vegetation giving a natural feel as you enter through the gates. The sound of water immediately open your senses! A relax a calming feeling takes over. The room with all amenities and a welcome bar....The Caribbean Sea is breath-taking and can enjoy the waves while eating or drinking on the pier restaurant and bar. Watch the sun rise as you walk the white sandy beaches. Take a dip in the pool and sip on a cold drink from the bar overlooking it. The sunsets are gorgeous and slowly sets behind the buildings as it rests for the day. An evening dinner inside or a live entertainment out on the pier sets the stage for a romantic experience. I'll just stop here....you have to come experience it for yourself! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie091867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
8.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
652 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
626 reviews
14.4 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £114 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia
The Placencia Hotel And Residences Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing