We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all the way around!”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic all the way around!”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed at Ranguana Lodge for 10 days in March '11. This beachfront accommodation came very highly recommended by two separate sources who had stayed there. Ranguana is easily the nicest accommodation WITHIN the village of Placencia. It has 3 beachfront cabins (w/AC) and two garden cabins (w/kitchenette but no AC). Our beachfront cabin was perfect for a romantic getaway and with the tropical breeze we didn't use the A/C much at all. Our cabin was literally 20 steps away from the most amazing beach we've ever seen. The sand is silky soft and is raked every morning to take away any debris (palm leaves/coconuts/etc.).

Joy and Shelly (the proprieters) could not have been more accommodating in arranging excursions (Mayan ruins, Cockscomb Basin Wildlife Sanctuary and Monkey River Jungle Tour--ask them to hook you up with Bassillio who is an awesome tour guide!), laundry service (very inexpensive), taxis and any housekeeping needs. Housekeeping was excellent so if you stay here, make sure to tip them daily).

Our beachfront cabin (only $5 US more than the garden cabins) was very clean & comfortable. Private bath with large shower, two comfortable double beds, full-size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, TV (with satellite feed), A/C (also a tall standing fan) and wireless internet. The beds and linens and towels nice and soft (make sure you bring your own beach towels). There is also a basin of water provided outside your cabin door to wash sand off your feet after beach time. Each cabin has a good-sized deck with two chairs, a table and a hammock.

Lots of beach chairs and lounges and three large palm-frond umbrellas on the beautiful beach just mere steps away from your cabin door. There is also a BBQ/picnic patio area on the premises where you can grill your own meal if you choose to.

Ranguana Lodge is located right on the famous Placencia Sidewalk at the north end of the village and you can easily walk wherever you need to go to in the village. We didn't have a car and didn't need one. We could have rented bicycles or golf carts at nearby locations if we had wanted to.

There are lots of travel books in the Ranguana Lodge office along with a small library of paperbacks and menus from almost all of the restaurants in the village.

Restaurants in Placencia are plentiful and all serve really good food at very, very reasonable prices. We highly recommend Dawn's Grill & Go, Radi's, Wendy's, the Barfoot Bar, Omar's, RumFish and the beautiful Secret Garden. For unbelieveable authentic Italian cousine go to La Doche Vita. Also check out but PLEASE check out Rita's Lunch Box (on main street) for excellent food and desserts to go. Don't miss your daily fix of ice cream and gellato at Tutti Frutti. If you prefer to eat in, there are at least half a dozen small markets dotting the village main street While D'tach restaurant is just a couple of doors down (beachside) from Ranguana Lodge, we didn't find the food or the service) to be as good as the other restuarants we've noted above. The Purple Space Monkey beach bar is also a couple of doors down (beach side)--take earplugs if you would be bothered by live music on the weekends until 1-2 am. Also check out David Perez's fruit & vegetable stand (behind Omar's) for fruit juice (of your choice) made fresh while you wait.

There are several gated, resort-type hotels north of Placencia village and they offer golf carts (for a fee) to their guests to ride into the village BUT if you stay at those hotels you will miss the incredible Placencia Village experience. Stay at Ranguana Lodge where you can walk wherever you need to go and mix and mingle with the wonderfully friendly local residents. Placencia village itself is a very safe place to vacation (unlike Belize City) and they love Canadians!

Room Tip: Beachfront cabins are perfect size for 2 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuitoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Parrot Fish, right on the beach for a week. The location was great, 30 feet to the sea, soft sand under your feet. Rooms were cleaned every day, service was great. The only complaint was nothing to do with the Lodge itself, Tipsy Tuna (Bar and Rest) is about 75 feet to the south and the live music was very heavy on the base. The music does end at midnight, and that is appreciated.
The second night of our stay, the Sea Spray Motel, next door to the north, had checked in about 20-25 college age kids, mostly girls who sat on the beach until after 3 in the morning and their voices and incessant giggling made it hard if not impossible to sleep. I realize everyone is entitled to have fun and enjoy their vacation, but use a little consideration of others please.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront cabana for $10 more/nite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowtohighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed at Ranguana Lodge for three nights at the beginning of March. The location was great and being right on the beach was wonderful. The rooms are clean but dated. The grounds were beautifully taken care of but it would have been nice if they took better care of the weeds and some garbage at the waters edge. Our biggest complaint was the Tipsy Tuna Bar that kept us awake until 2:30 every morning. The staff told us it wouldn't happen again after the first night but it was every night. We were there over a long weekend so hopefully this isn't something that happens all the time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I can't imagine finding a better location or value. We have stayed with Joy and her exceptional staff for seven different trips and always enjoyed it. We typically stay in the beachfront units for a couple weeks and then for a few days in the garden view rooms which have full kitchenette facilities. Quiet days on the beach are always a welcome relief Ohio winters.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZEBND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights in the Parrot Fish cabana. Basically, we walked down 3 steps off of our porch and were on the beach, about 20 steps more and we were in the sea. Our cabana was air conditioned, but with the sea breeze we didn't even need it most of the time. There was a full size fridge, a coffee maker, toaster and microwave oven in or room which meant we could have breakfast on our front porch(there are also 2 restaurants within steps if that is not for you). Plus, the Lodge is in Placencia village itself so everything from restaurants, to tour operators, grocery stores and souvenir shops are never more then, at most,a 10 minute walk away. Try Tutti Frutti, best gelato ever!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trekkergirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a fantastic experience at Ranguana Lodge! We stayed in the Trigger Fish cabana and loved the view, the sound of the waves, the easy access to the water, and the comfortable beach seating (shade or sun). The staff members were cordial and very helpful both before and during our stay. We were amazed at the cleanliness and beauty of the lush grounds. The concrete walkway access to the cabanas was lined with mature trees, shrubs, and flowers. Nearly every morning, the grounds were raked and vegetation pruned. Our cabana was comfortable and clean. Housekeeping did a great job tidying up the room each day. Convenient laundry service was also a plus. Joy, the Ranguana owner and Placencia native, obviously takes great pride in how the family property is maintained. Guest comfort was clearly a priority. We’d love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-and-FMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We loved it here! We stayed in a garden cabana and were still able to see the ocean from our porch. The room was very clean and the kitchen has everything you need. It didn’t have an AC, but it has 2 ceiling fans and 2 standing fans. During the day it was about 85 degrees and the room was still comfortable. The TV has tons of channels including the movie channels. I read other reviews about it being loud because of the Tipsy Tuna next door, but we didn’t experience this. Every morning there was someone cleaning the beach and garden area so it always looked nice. The staff was nice. Check out was at 11am but our flight didn't leave until 2pm so they let us leave our luggage in the office while we hung out at a bar next door. Ranguana is in the village so we walked to everything. De’Tatch Restaurant and Bar is very close and has good prices. Tutti Frutti is a must!! I strongly recommend Placencia & Ranguana Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scl0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
624 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing