We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location, and price”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location, and price”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in June and had a great time. We stayed in a beach front, air conditioned cabin, and were very happy with it. The room itself was great with a view that absolutely can't be beat, and the bathroom, while a little small, was always clean and was everything we needed. My favorite part of this hotel was the location. I MUCH prefer this to a large resort outside of the town. We were right in the middle of everything and could walk all the way down to the end of the peninsula and back. Bars, restaurants, shops, our tour company, ice cream, kayaking, and pretty much everything else was within a 5 minute walk. I loved that we felt like part of the town (as much as you can when you're a tourist, at least). I know people have had trouble with noise from Tipsy Tuna, but we didn't have any issues at all. We were running air conditioning most nights, but it really wasn't an issue for us. For a couple days of our trip, there was a pretty bad sea grass problem on the beach that was in no way the hotel's fault. We got to Belize right after a big storm, and the waves were still bringing in lots of debris. The hotel staff did clean the beach every morning, but they really couldn't control the actual grass in the water. Other days it was perfectly beautiful! There were some solicitors on the beach that came up to sell us items (which was expected), but if we firmly told them we weren't interested then it didn't become a problem. And again, that was no problem at all considering the benefits we got from staying in the town.

We would definitely stay here again, you really can't beat the price, location and nice rooms!

Room Tip: The beach front air conditioned rooms are worth the extra few dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiliesandBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Everything is exactly as stated on their web site. Small cottages with basic amenities, clean, bright and with fairly comfortable beds (hard foam mattresses were not very forgiving), right on the beach with lots of palm trees to provide shade if desired. We were there in mid-August after the busy season so it was very quiet. There are a couple of bars down the street on either side so not sure about the sound when it is busy but it was very quiet for us. It was also an extremely hot time of the year and we found the breeze off the ocean was adequate for keeping the temperature comfortable for sleeping. I would make sure to ask for a beach front cottage; the lack of breeze around the cottages in back might be unbearable if it gets hot. We had one rainy day which was spent reading on the hammock on the verandah and watching the sky. Had to catch a 1:30 flight from the airport so asked for late checkout. It cost us $10 US for each hour we stayed. Since it was going to be vacant, it would have been a nice gesture to have let us just stay there. Most places wouldn't have charged for an extra hour. Regardless, our stay was pleasant and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Fantastic piece of paradise-.barefoot comforts and simple pleasures.
Stayed for four nights (early July 2012) in Parrot Fish beachfront cabana while in Placencia with my 18 yr son. Extremely well located to local bars (Tipsy Tuna , Barefoot Bar) and restaurants,groceries. Don't forget to look in the fridge to find your coffee and sugar.
Booking , reception very kind and welcoming.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Trigger fish or Parrot fish cabanas have AC, worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

When we arrived in the beginning of June we were only going to stay a couple of days. But after staying in one of the beach front cabanas we ended up staying there the whole time. YEP 8 days! The location and staff are awesome. Shelly (front office) was a wonderfully kind and a helpful woman. I am definitely going back. Our cabana had A/C. Although we were there during the rainy/windy season, the wind from the water made it a bit loud towards the end of the trip. Bring earplugs. But if it isn't windy then there is no need. Maybe try another cabana shielded by more trees. We walked around a bit to check out the other places... this one seemed to be the best bang for the buck. Room was cleaned everyday. We even tried using the bbq one night. Can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonfly604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a cabana for three people for 2 nights. The cabana was clean and comfortable. There was no AC but there were fans so the heat/humidity werent a problem. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. We had a beautiful view from our "garden" cabin, which faced the ocean. Nice location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Myself and a female travel companion stayed at the Ranguana Lodge for 2 nights prior to boarding a catamaran sailing out of Placencia for a week. It was the perfect accommodation for us (thank you, TA!) The location was perfect; right on the sand but within walking distance to everything. We stayed in the beach-front cabana called Angel Fish and loved it. It consisted of a large room containing 2 double beds, a frig, microwave, coffee maker with an A/C and fans. We never needed A/C or fans as there were 7 windows in the room which allowed lots of breezes coming in day and night. The bathroom was very adequate. Angel Fish was clean and well-equipped and the grounds were well-kept, lush and beautiful. We loved the front porch with hammock, table and 2 chairs. One night it rained hard for about 12 hours and we left most of the windows open as the porch protected us from the direction of the wind. The location in relation to shops and restaurants was excellent. We were able to walk to restaurants and shopping. The staff was helpful and very friendly. If I return to Placencia again, I'd definitely stay there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Ranguana Lodge was a welcome place to spend a few days before traveling out to Hatchet Caye. The cabanas are set in a lush tropical setting filled with flowers. We actually saw several people walking by stop to photograph the flowers. We were coming from Guatemala and up country Belize and decided on Ranguana as a place to stop for a few days.

The setting is wonderful and the location is perfect for visiting Placencia Village and any needs you may have. 3 of the cabanas face out on the Caribbean and miles of beach. Run out of beer? Just get out of the hammock and walk a few blocks to the store. Hungry? There are numerous restaurants within walking distance.

I can say it best that we have this place on our list as a destination in the future, not just a few days. We loved it here and feel this is authentic coastal Belize

Room Tip: Pick one of the beach side cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.2 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing