We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach side location and rooms.”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach side location and rooms.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for two nights. It is right on the beach and close to town. The room is nicely decorated with a small kitchen and ensuite. The lady at reception was very helpful. 4 of us stayed in the lodge the first night so it was great value that night. There is a hammock on the balcony where you can chill out. Very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Ranguana Lodge is perfectly located on the beach in Placencia. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and if you get on of the cabins on the beach, the surf lulls you to sleep. If it is too warm, you have the option of air conditioning. It also helps if the neighbors are a little noisy. The rates are reasonable, and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. I will definitely return to Placencia and will stay at Ranguana Lodge!

Room Tip: The swimming pool is the Caribbean, just a few steps from our room. Perfect swimming water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a beachfront cabin and it was absolutely adorable! The cabins have a fridge & microwave and AC that works great. The beds aren't terribly comfortable but not bad. When we arrived during the day, we had big thoughts of sleeping with the ocean sounds coming in the windows. Unfortunately, Placencia is definitely working on the tourist trade and some of the local bars cater to the vacationing crowds and are playing loud music until 12 or 1. Tipsy Tuna, right next door, is really loud. To be honest, even if the bars aren't loud, the barking dogs will likely keep you awake.

The location on the beach is great. The staff was super nice. They did laundry for a reasonable price. We rented beach towels for 2 BZ dollars per day. We walked to the end of the road a few times and there are tons of good restaurants around. We especially loved De Barcelona! Da Tatch had good breakfasts and Above Grounds offers awesome iced coffee - the only place we found it in Belize. Don't miss Tutti Frutti - excellent gelato.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed in the Shellfish cabin. It's a great location and the rooms are pleasent and the staff was very friendly. It has nice hot water shower with great water pressure and is just off the beach. It has a well stocked kitchen, but no a/c The downside is you can hear everything anyone says and does in the small hotel next door which is just a few feet away, the other close cabins, and the music from the Tipsy Tuna next door. If that doesn't bother you, it's a fine place. If it does, there are quieter places in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobellhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for one night in one of the oceanfront cabanas in November of 2012. The room was perfect for our little family; we currently live near Punta Gorda and were needing a night away.
The location:
It's right on the beach (literally steps from the door) and within easy walking distance to everything you could want in the village of Placencia. The only downside to the location is that the Tipsy Tuna is nearby and the music is very loud at night. However, we were all so tired from spending the day at the beach it wasn't difficult to fall asleep. Plus, we got dinner to-go from the Tipsy Tuna and it was very good and quite convenient! The next morning, we walked 2 minutes to the Thatch and had a great breakfast. Like I said - very close to everything!!

The room:
2 beds - not super comfortable, but that's almost impossible to find in Belize unless you are paying $200+ per night. The room was very clean, the hot water always worked, and the water pressure was great (another thing sometimes hard to find). The little refrigerator & microwave were great for snacks, and the air conditioner worked very well. The television was nice to have and it kept the kids entertained after dark when it's more of an adult atmosphere in town.

Misc: The beach was GREAT! The water was literally right outside the door of the beachfront cabana (not much further from the garden rooms). I've read where people complain here (or on other pages) about the rain or the seaweed or the sandflies.... PEOPLE you can't control everything. If it's very windy, seaweed will wash up on the beach. You are in the sand, so there might be sandflies (however, we've never had a problem with them in Placencia). There might be rain, but it will likely pass quickly. The grounds were very well maintained here and we felt very safe here.

In the low season we were able to book a night a few days in advance, but in the high season it books up fast. There really isn't anything bad to say about this wonderful place. If they have room - stay here!

Room Tip: It's worth it to stay in the beachfront rooms if there is availability, but if not the garden ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed in the Triggerfish Cabana for 3 nights. It was perfect. We were able to have breakfast & coffee in the room. It is walking distance from all the stores and restaurants of Placencia. We will definitely be returning. There is even an outdoor BBQ to cook your fresh catch if you so desire!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed in the Angel Fish Cabana at Ranguana Lodge in January. A perfect spot to stay in Placencia that's right on the beach and near the Tipsy Tuna beach bar and D'Thatch Restaurant. Lovely and clean, right on the beach, close to all the restaurants and bars with a very helpful receptionist, you can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manfromcrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing