We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Wow talk about saving the best for last, this was it. Ranguana is amazing - right on the beach with a beautiful view, the staff is excellent, helpful and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this as one of the best places to stay in Placencia.

  • Liked — Location to everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbleybrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We've stayed at the Ranguana for eight straight years. Why? Because it offers us everything we want. Its close to the caribbean, clean sandy beach, well kept cabanas, great staff and owner. If we describe it as the garden of eden it's because Joy has gone to so much trouble to plan a flower garden, tend to it and provide irrigation for it, that it is a beautiful work of art. We take a cabana with a kitchen. You choose what you want. But get on-line fast because this is the best deal in Placencia Village.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebeebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I spent 5 nights at the Ranguana Lodge in Placencia, Belize about a week ago and fell in love with the place, and Placencia itself. The grounds are incredibly lush with flowers, clean and well-kept. I came to Placencia specifically for the whale shark diving (definitely dive with Avadon Divers - they're the BEST shop in town, and will take good care of you! separate review forthcoming) and wanted a clean and comfortable little oasis to come home to. After walking up and down the famed Placencia sidewalk, this was by far the nicest place! So happy I made the right choice. There are 5 different-colored cabins named for tropical fish: 3 beachfront and 2 garden. I stayed in the yellow "Angel Fish" cabin, which was set back just a bit from the beach between the green Trigger Fish and orange Parrot Fish cabins. I preferred Angel Fish because there was less foot traffic, which made it a little quieter than the others. And I still got the best of the ocean breezes and views! There are 2 double beds in the rooms, which were THE most comfortable beds I found during my entire trip. The cleaning ladies do a great job so be sure to tip them each morning. There are beach chairs and palapas on the beach right in front of the cabins for exclusive use by Ranguana guests. The beach was beautiful, but not the best for swimming, except early in the morning before the winds kick in. If you want to snorkel, it's best to set up a trip through one of the many snorkel/dive shops in the area. You can walk way down the beach and not find a whole lot of people. Some of the locals selling CDs and necklaces can be a bit aggressive, but they're friendly. Rita and Joy, the managers, run a tight ship and really make an effort to see that your needs are met and that you're comfortable. At night, there's a security guard who keeps an eye on things, and also the hotel makes a point of asking you to leave your porch light on at night for extra security. As a solo female traveler, i felt really safe there! Be warned however that the local men will definitely hit on you if they know you're alone, which made it hard for me to enjoy a drink at the bars at times. Not a big deal really though. The De Tatch restaurant is right next door, with great food and free wi-fi. Just down the beach in the other direction you'll find the Barefoot Beach Bar at Tipsy Tuna and Cozy Corner Bar & Grill, which also has free wi-fi. The grilled shrimp nachos at the Barefoot Beach Bar are out-of-this-world good! My one complaint about the area: the music at the Barefoot Beach Bar can get really LOUD in the evenings. At first I didn't mind, but it did get annoying after a while. It was nice to have a tv with satellite when staying in during the evenings too. Definitely take the time to stroll the sidewalk and stop in at shops. At the very end of the sidewalk you'll find Nitewind Tours, who run a GREAT trip out to Laughingbird Caye (one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to!). Also out there is The Shak, which make yummy mango smoothies and serve healthy food, including vegetarian options. The water out there in the lagoon is incredibly peaceful as well, a great respite from the 100-plus Placencia heat.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HolboxBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed in a beach front cabin at Ranguana Lodge after a 7 day bareboat charter. It was a beautiful location, very comfortable and convenient to the Placencia sidewalk and nearby shops and restaurants. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot in the room. It is air conditioned and also receives a wonderful breeze. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retbioteachr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We must say that this little quaint place has a lot of charm. We stayed in the "Parrot Fish" cabin right on the beach..... I mean literally feet away from the water!! Rita and Joy who run Ranguana lodge were most helpful.. Right from the time we booked our trip on line with them and then while we were in Placencia!! They also booked our flights to leave Placencia to get back to Belize City.
Our rooms were small and clean. We had a fridge, microwave oven and coffee maker which made having breakfast and the odd lunch or supper really easy! The staff came in everyday to keep it tidy! The grounds and beach were kept clean everyday.
There are 3 grocery stores in Placencia so if you need anything it's right at your finger tips. There are plenty of really good restaurants within walking distance, We ate a few times at "De Thatch" it is only a couple of doors down. Good portions and great prices. "Wendy's" was also nice... and the Italian Restaurant. Except they didn't have any dessert. Be sure to get some icecream at "Tutti Fruttie" YUMMY! The one thing I must complain about and not in a bad way is the peddlers on the beach. The first day I was asked 8 times to buy.... eventually it slowed down. We did get a few things from them. We also shopped locally from some of the Artisian's. There is a fellow who carves beautiful pieces from wood. Be sure to take a look. And an older fellow who was making jewlery from Conk Shells just along the sidewalk. Kinda neat. There was also the "Music guy" who walked the beach everyday.....
Over all, Placencia is a small and quaint place , full of culture , good food, friendly people and warm breezes off the ocean making it a nice place to visit!

  • Liked — It's right on the beach and close to ammenities
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Ranguana Lodge was everything you could possibly want for the excellent price. The cabins are right on the beach -- you fall asleep to the soothing sound of crashing waves. The rooms are immaculately clean and functional -- comfortable (yet small) beds, hot showers, television, windows, etc. The location in the village is perfect -- right on the famous sidewalk, yet slightly removed from the hub-bub, giving you a little more peace and quiet. The grounds and the beach are well-maintained and clean, and the hotel provides comfortable beach chairs for its guests. The staff are kind and gracious. We will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I had the pleasure of visiting Placencia and Ranguana Lodge the first 2 weeks of Sept. 2008. What a wonderful village, people and accomodations.
The lodge staff was friendly, professional and saw to my every need. Rooms were clean, fresh and comfortable. The view from the front porch of palms and blue Carribean were priceless. The grounds were full of greenery and flowers. Iguanas, lizards, hummingbirds and butterflies made for a picturesque setting.
The village was small, friendly yet provided all the basics needed.
Summer is the "off" season, so some eateries and tours were not available. I was able to "tour" using local buses and taxi's and people were very helpful in providing assistance.
Placencia and Ranguana Lodge will definately be visited again.
thx to all.

  • Liked — View from the porch of the sea.
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigshane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing